We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good location !”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lodge on Saturday 11th April, good location for Bournemouth's amenities. Room (suite) was ok, have stayed in better rooms for around the same money. Bathroom spotless although like walking into a cupboard thought with a suite would have been more luxurious. Missed things like complimentary bottles of water, miniature shampoos and conditioners and shower gels/soaps ! Main hotel looked lovely and service was good even though they had a big event going on. Parking a little tight and didn't try spa facilities. Overall a good stay and wouldn't rule out staying again although probably would stay in main hotel. Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much Pamelasusan for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay - the "extras" are all available in the main hotel but there is perhaps a £15 difference in prices. The advantage of the Lodge is that you have the beautiful spa facilities, a double rosette restaurant, free parking and free WiFi which is just not generally available at those prices.

With best wishes and hope to see you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    106
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
49
167
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Would have loved to give this hotel an excellent review but a few below standard problems let it down. Our rooms bedding and bathroom were spotlessly clean but the room itself was on the small side .We had constant problems with the overhead bed lights and also the main door key cards.We reported both several times and they came quickly to sort it out but the problems kept reoccurring. The 3 day break was booked to stress out a bit so annoying things like faulty keys and having to go outside in the rain to get to breakfast were a little annoying! There was only one bedside locker in a twin room so had to put items on the floor overnight!
On the positive side 98%of the staff were excellent! In particular we would like to mention Petra in the restaurant.who went out of her way to please us. The breakfast was very good .It was good to have back bacon on offer.
The pool facilities were very pleasant and we enjoyed the facilities.
Best Western perhaps should consider closing the Lodge building for a season to totally renovate walls ,windows,creaky floors and doors etc plus build a covered walkway to to the main hotel .The Lodge is bringing down the standard of the complex as a whole.
There would be a good chance that a four star rating could then be achieved by both buildings.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the main hotel and forget the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEEamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear VEEamy,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Lodge. One point I should make is that it is not part of the Best Western Group, although when the current round of refurbishments are completed I hope we will be able to unite the two units. If you let me know which room you were in I will check to see what the card problem is.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great location.

Had to go next door to enjoy swimming and spa facilities - but only a minute's walk!

Room very nice, clean, etc.

Spa and pool facilities great, though annoyed that there was no proper shampoo or conditioner to use and I had to ask another guest if I could borrow hers!

Bar staff in main hotel excellent, hospitable and helpful.

Only less than top standard was the breakfast, which seemed average somehow. Have eaten higher quality food at the Hilton chain and other hotels, etc.

But overall, very good value and a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Many thanks for the "very good" review FatMinx. Apologies about the shampoo - the one we use in the spa area is a body and hair shampoo combined. We don't supply conditioners because most ladies have their own preferences and we couldn't hope to compete. Apologies also for the breakfast which is normally well received - I'm not quite sure what the problem was as you didn't mention anything specifically.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Another return to the Connaught and a pleasant one it was!
Although since last time the place has had a revamp, it is still warm & welcoming & friendly.
The interior is glass chandeliers & more contemporary with improved lounge areas so making it more comfortable.
The terrace area is nice for warmer weather ! We were here for a relaxing weekend & to take in a show.

We arrived on the saturday evening to be checked in swiftly & fuss free. Our room was in the lodge and having stayed in the main hotel itself previously, I was a little hesitant about the standard, however no need for concern! After 15mins or so we were called by reception to check if the room was ok, all was! This I thought a nice touch. The room 215 was spacious & nicely decorated & had everything we wanted for a couple of days, kettle,T & C,telly if wanted & opening windows! The bathroom was a tad tight one person at a time which meant hubby was waiting for me to finish getting ready each time so that was the only minor thing. The bed was comfortable & although woken up twice by inconsiderate guests returning in the early hours on the saturday, we had a better sleep on the sunday night! Plenty of plug points & mirrors for us ladies!!
Breakfast was very good hot & plenty of it! Only niggle being that skimmed milk is not on the menu & as I can only have skimmed due to digestive condition this did pose a slight problem but was remedied by a trip to the local shop! During breakfast however they did give me soya milk so wasn't a major biggy however may be this could be considered for the future?

Nick is still overseeing the restaurant in his usual jolly & efficient way!
We were dissappointed to find the restaurant fully booked on the Saturday evening, so ate in the lounge area only to find with other couples that there were empty tables in the restaurant??

This was due to a Charity function that was being held, however I do think that if they have a restaurant they should be able to staff this as well as any functions.
It's unfair to other paying guests, to be denied this due to inadequate staff coverage or kitchen problems.

There was a little wait for the food due to this but when it came it was hot & nicely presented & tasted good! The bar prices are a little steep compared to normal pubs but then this is hotel and its the norm! The lounge menu I felt could have provided a little more choice but on the whole wasn't too bad if you like spicy things & salads!
The bar staff are friendly & polite on the whole however could do with being abit more customer focussed! Reception staff were all brilliant, smiley, friendly & very helpful.

The things I like most about this hotel is its location 5 mins to the sea 15mins to the BIC & approx 20 mins or so the Town centre! So close for everything & yet just out enough to walk off the food & get a good nights sleep!
About twenty mins walk towards Durley Chine along the beach there is a Harvester, good value, quick service & friendly staff.

Would definately reccommend this hotel as it also provides good parking, The rooms in the lodge are of a very good standard so don't be put off by the fact its a 2min walk across to the main hotel for breakfast!

This hotel is still as good as ever good value, good location, good food good service! I won't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth because I know that no matter how many times you stay here the service is always great!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flogoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
A great review Flogo, thank you and really pleased you enjoyed staying in the Lodge - 205 overlooks the garden and has just been completely refurbished. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights for a short break away. We thought by choosing Best Western(an established hotel brand in the UK) we would be getting good quality accommodation. A big disappointment! When we arrived, we had to battle for a parking space and feared being blocked in as there was so much double parking. As we checked in we were told our room was in an annexe at the back of the main hotel, which was not made clear at time of booking. Whilst the public areas of the main hotel are contemporary and have recently been refurbished, the annexe, called "The Lodge", is incredibly worn, tired, dated and basic. We felt like we were in 'bedsit' land with lots of narrow corridors and creaky stairs; this certainly did not feel like a quality hotel, more like a hostel. Our room had not been decorated for several decades (80's decor throughout) and was rather grubby. However, on the plus side, the bathroom had been refurbished and was nice, modern and clean. The heating was on full blast night and day which made the room stuffy, even with the windows open all the time. The twin beds were appallingingly poor quality; flimsy bases and unsupportive mattresses. On our first morning for breakfast, the hotel clearly could not cater for the number of guests and we had to wait for a table and there was a rather chaotic atmosphere in the dining area. That said, the staff were doing their best and the food was good. All in all, we would not recommend this hotel and the price we paid did not represent good value for money.

Room Tip: Check that you are NOT staying in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear HowesD.

My apologies once again for your disappointment and, as you know, we have written to you to offer you a discounted return visit. For the record, you were not placed in the annexe - your booking was made by a third party booking agent and was made for the Lodge, not the Best Western Connaught Hotel.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Ok so I accidentally booked the lodge when I really wanted the main Connaught hotel, my bad, however we decided to give it a chance. The rooms are small the ensuite feels like a cupboard, the walls are paper thin too. The location was ok but parking is only just adequate.

Very disappointing, we won't be staying again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Sincere apologies Martin for your poor experience. The room you stayed in, 220, is small but was reflected in the price that you paid - just £64. Most of the rooms are larger and so are the rates. I have written to you separately with an special offer to make up for your disappointment.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have just got back from a one night stay with my partner. If i am honest, when booking a hotel i was looking for the cheapest one, so did not have a great deal of exception. To my suprise this hotel was lovley and amazing value! The room we stayed in was clean and really warm and cosy! The swimming pool was lovely also. Staff really friendly and helpfull. Let us check in early when we got there at 1pm. Also the breakfast i thought was amazing. I thought with the price we paid for the room that it would just be continental, however it inclued a hot buffet, with lots to choose from. Will defiantly be back in the summer!

Nicola

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Delighted we exceeded your expectations Nicola - thank you for your superb review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Property: The Connaught Lodge
Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing