We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at The Connaught Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Romford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at The Connaught Lodge”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Connaught Lodge in Bournemouth . The Hotel is near the Beach and a short work from the Towns shops and some nice pubs near by . But as for the Hotel itself the Staff cannot do enough for you the Breakfast in the Morning is second to none with a great choice the rooms are so lovely and clean will be going back there soon THANK YOU THE CONNAUGHT

Room Tip: Stayed in both the Hotel and the Hotel Lodge both great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
And thank you Patrick for such a lovely review. We hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    107
    32
    12
    1
See reviews for
49
171
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel turned out to be fantastic! Had a room in the lodge, it was a lovely size and the room and bathroom were very clean. We used the pool etc, which was quiet and relaxing and the staff in the hotel and the spa were friendly and helpful. Close enough to wander into the centre of Bournemouth, would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were given a room in the lodge rather than the main hotel which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
A brilliant all round 5 star review MichMMM, thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We visited this hotel for the fourth time over Easter and it's just as good as ever, and has been given a make-over since we were last there four years ago. Our room, a suite, is fabulous - everything from a roll top bath to a huge comfy bed. The staff were amazing and went the extra mile, everyone from the management to the restaurant staff, especially Nikki. My husband had booked virtually the whole hotel for the Union conference being held just down the road and the staff coped so well with everyone eating at the same time. The pool is lovely, big for a hotel with a sauna and steam room. I had a massage which was excellent and reasonably priced. The town centre is walkable, and its a short distance to the sea. I love this hotel and want to say a big "thank you" to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review Mrs S which was really most generous from beginning to end. I was also delighted to read that we looked after your Union members and that the entire weekend was a great success.

Many thanks and best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lodge on Saturday 11th April, good location for Bournemouth's amenities. Room (suite) was ok, have stayed in better rooms for around the same money. Bathroom spotless although like walking into a cupboard thought with a suite would have been more luxurious. Missed things like complimentary bottles of water, miniature shampoos and conditioners and shower gels/soaps ! Main hotel looked lovely and service was good even though they had a big event going on. Parking a little tight and didn't try spa facilities. Overall a good stay and wouldn't rule out staying again although probably would stay in main hotel. Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much Pamelasusan for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay - the "extras" are all available in the main hotel but there is perhaps a £15 difference in prices. The advantage of the Lodge is that you have the beautiful spa facilities, a double rosette restaurant, free parking and free WiFi which is just not generally available at those prices.

With best wishes and hope to see you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Would have loved to give this hotel an excellent review but a few below standard problems let it down. Our rooms bedding and bathroom were spotlessly clean but the room itself was on the small side .We had constant problems with the overhead bed lights and also the main door key cards.We reported both several times and they came quickly to sort it out but the problems kept reoccurring. The 3 day break was booked to stress out a bit so annoying things like faulty keys and having to go outside in the rain to get to breakfast were a little annoying! There was only one bedside locker in a twin room so had to put items on the floor overnight!
On the positive side 98%of the staff were excellent! In particular we would like to mention Petra in the restaurant.who went out of her way to please us. The breakfast was very good .It was good to have back bacon on offer.
The pool facilities were very pleasant and we enjoyed the facilities.
Best Western perhaps should consider closing the Lodge building for a season to totally renovate walls ,windows,creaky floors and doors etc plus build a covered walkway to to the main hotel .The Lodge is bringing down the standard of the complex as a whole.
There would be a good chance that a four star rating could then be achieved by both buildings.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the main hotel and forget the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEEamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear VEEamy,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Lodge. One point I should make is that it is not part of the Best Western Group, although when the current round of refurbishments are completed I hope we will be able to unite the two units. If you let me know which room you were in I will check to see what the card problem is.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great location.

Had to go next door to enjoy swimming and spa facilities - but only a minute's walk!

Room very nice, clean, etc.

Spa and pool facilities great, though annoyed that there was no proper shampoo or conditioner to use and I had to ask another guest if I could borrow hers!

Bar staff in main hotel excellent, hospitable and helpful.

Only less than top standard was the breakfast, which seemed average somehow. Have eaten higher quality food at the Hilton chain and other hotels, etc.

But overall, very good value and a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Many thanks for the "very good" review FatMinx. Apologies about the shampoo - the one we use in the spa area is a body and hair shampoo combined. We don't supply conditioners because most ladies have their own preferences and we couldn't hope to compete. Apologies also for the breakfast which is normally well received - I'm not quite sure what the problem was as you didn't mention anything specifically.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Another return to the Connaught and a pleasant one it was!
Although since last time the place has had a revamp, it is still warm & welcoming & friendly.
The interior is glass chandeliers & more contemporary with improved lounge areas so making it more comfortable.
The terrace area is nice for warmer weather ! We were here for a relaxing weekend & to take in a show.

We arrived on the saturday evening to be checked in swiftly & fuss free. Our room was in the lodge and having stayed in the main hotel itself previously, I was a little hesitant about the standard, however no need for concern! After 15mins or so we were called by reception to check if the room was ok, all was! This I thought a nice touch. The room 215 was spacious & nicely decorated & had everything we wanted for a couple of days, kettle,T & C,telly if wanted & opening windows! The bathroom was a tad tight one person at a time which meant hubby was waiting for me to finish getting ready each time so that was the only minor thing. The bed was comfortable & although woken up twice by inconsiderate guests returning in the early hours on the saturday, we had a better sleep on the sunday night! Plenty of plug points & mirrors for us ladies!!
Breakfast was very good hot & plenty of it! Only niggle being that skimmed milk is not on the menu & as I can only have skimmed due to digestive condition this did pose a slight problem but was remedied by a trip to the local shop! During breakfast however they did give me soya milk so wasn't a major biggy however may be this could be considered for the future?

Nick is still overseeing the restaurant in his usual jolly & efficient way!
We were dissappointed to find the restaurant fully booked on the Saturday evening, so ate in the lounge area only to find with other couples that there were empty tables in the restaurant??

This was due to a Charity function that was being held, however I do think that if they have a restaurant they should be able to staff this as well as any functions.
It's unfair to other paying guests, to be denied this due to inadequate staff coverage or kitchen problems.

There was a little wait for the food due to this but when it came it was hot & nicely presented & tasted good! The bar prices are a little steep compared to normal pubs but then this is hotel and its the norm! The lounge menu I felt could have provided a little more choice but on the whole wasn't too bad if you like spicy things & salads!
The bar staff are friendly & polite on the whole however could do with being abit more customer focussed! Reception staff were all brilliant, smiley, friendly & very helpful.

The things I like most about this hotel is its location 5 mins to the sea 15mins to the BIC & approx 20 mins or so the Town centre! So close for everything & yet just out enough to walk off the food & get a good nights sleep!
About twenty mins walk towards Durley Chine along the beach there is a Harvester, good value, quick service & friendly staff.

Would definately reccommend this hotel as it also provides good parking, The rooms in the lodge are of a very good standard so don't be put off by the fact its a 2min walk across to the main hotel for breakfast!

This hotel is still as good as ever good value, good location, good food good service! I won't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth because I know that no matter how many times you stay here the service is always great!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flogoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
A great review Flogo, thank you and really pleased you enjoyed staying in the Lodge - 205 overlooks the garden and has just been completely refurbished. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Property: The Connaught Lodge
Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing