We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Connaught Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Cliff Inn(Bournemouth)
US$101
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montague Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Westcliff Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$119
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Durley Grange Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
177
117
33
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
117
33
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hoteltown centrespa facilitiessteam roomcar parkblakes restaurantwalk in wardrobeshort walkswimming poolgood sizelovely spajunior suiteexcellent facilitiesvisiting bournemouthnice staylarge bathroomcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Connaught Lodge in Bournemouth . The Hotel is near the Beach and a short work from the Towns shops and some nice pubs near by . But as for the Hotel itself the Staff cannot do enough for you the Breakfast in the Morning is second to none with a great choice the rooms are so lovely and clean will be going back there soon THANK YOU THE CONNAUGHT

Room Tip: Stayed in both the Hotel and the Hotel Lodge both great rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

And thank you Patrick for such a lovely review. We hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel turned out to be fantastic! Had a room in the lodge, it was a lovely size and the room and bathroom were very clean. We used the pool etc, which was quiet and relaxing and the staff in the hotel and the spa were friendly and helpful. Close enough to wander into the centre of Bournemouth, would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were given a room in the lodge rather than the main hotel which was lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

A brilliant all round 5 star review MichMMM, thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We visited this hotel for the fourth time over Easter and it's just as good as ever, and has been given a make-over since we were last there four years ago. Our room, a suite, is fabulous - everything from a roll top bath to a huge comfy bed. The staff were amazing and went the extra mile, everyone from the management to the restaurant staff, especially Nikki. My husband had booked virtually the whole hotel for the Union conference being held just down the road and the staff coped so well with everyone eating at the same time. The pool is lovely, big for a hotel with a sauna and steam room. I had a massage which was excellent and reasonably priced. The town centre is walkable, and its a short distance to the sea. I love this hotel and want to say a big "thank you" to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review Mrs S which was really most generous from beginning to end. I was also delighted to read that we looked after your Union members and that the entire weekend was a great success.

Many thanks and best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lodge on Saturday 11th April, good location for Bournemouth's amenities. Room (suite) was ok, have stayed in better rooms for around the same money. Bathroom spotless although like walking into a cupboard thought with a suite would have been more luxurious. Missed things like complimentary bottles of water, miniature shampoos and conditioners and shower gels/soaps ! Main hotel looked lovely and service was good even though they had a big event going on. Parking a little tight and didn't try spa facilities. Overall a good stay and wouldn't rule out staying again although probably would stay in main hotel. Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you very much Pamelasusan for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay - the "extras" are all available in the main hotel but there is perhaps a £15 difference in prices. The advantage of the Lodge is that you have the beautiful spa facilities, a double rosette restaurant, free parking and free WiFi which is just not generally available at those prices.

With best wishes and hope to see you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Would have loved to give this hotel an excellent review but a few below standard problems let it down. Our rooms bedding and bathroom were spotlessly clean but the room itself was on the small side .We had constant problems with the overhead bed lights and also the main door key cards.We reported both several times and they came quickly to sort it out but the problems kept reoccurring. The 3 day break was booked to stress out a bit so annoying things like faulty keys and having to go outside in the rain to get to breakfast were a little annoying! There was only one bedside locker in a twin room so had to put items on the floor overnight!
On the positive side 98%of the staff were excellent! In particular we would like to mention Petra in the restaurant.who went out of her way to please us. The breakfast was very good .It was good to have back bacon on offer.
The pool facilities were very pleasant and we enjoyed the facilities.
Best Western perhaps should consider closing the Lodge building for a season to totally renovate walls ,windows,creaky floors and doors etc plus build a covered walkway to to the main hotel .The Lodge is bringing down the standard of the complex as a whole.
There would be a good chance that a four star rating could then be achieved by both buildings.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the main hotel and forget the lodge!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEEamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear VEEamy,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Lodge. One point I should make is that it is not part of the Best Western Group, although when the current round of refurbishments are completed I hope we will be able to unite the two units. If you let me know which room you were in I will check to see what the card problem is.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews