We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

In the past we've booked hotels in Bournemouth on the East Overcliffe with sea views but as Bookings.com stated the hotel was 'Centrally located on the West Cliff, 300 metres from the cliffs overlooking Bournemouth pier and those golden beaches' thought it might be near the coast. It is - but sadly no sea views. The sea front is a short walk.

We booked a room for one night with breakfast in the Lodge which is adjacent to the main hotel. The building is not stunning but there is plenty of parking (athough space is tight). Both the lodge and hotel centre around a courtyard garden which is pleasant enough.The rooms are clean and tidy with everything you need. Our bathroom was quite small but had a good over bath shower and was clearn. The main reception in the hotel is very nice. All public rooms are clean and airy. Decor not to my taste elsewhere - but that's just me! There is an excellent health spa and indoor pool. Treatments are well priced.

What makes this hotel stand out are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted with a smile. Good choice at breakfast. We didn't eat in Blakes restaurant but the menu looked interesting. Disappointed with the menu in the conservatory/bar and overall ambience - so ate out. Have booked a night during the summer though and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BowlersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Many thanks BowlersDevon for your great review. The menus have been changed and the Connaught Brasserie, for those wanting less formal dining, will be up and running by the time you get back - including a new, more extensive menu.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

Well just how good was this hotel picked at random,a few days before setting of an email from the MD to welcome us to the Connaught and promising us a warm welcome.
We arrived mid after noon and were located in the Lodge a few yards from the main hotel,the room on the second floor was well furnished and very clean.
The hotel is just a 5 minute walk to the beach or the BIC and perhaps 10 minutes from the town centre.

Breakfast was served with the attention of a 5 star hotel and the choice of food and QUALITY was equal to the 5 stars and served with a smile.

A most enjoyable few days,sun from dawn to dusk and made all the memorable with such helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willywombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

And here's a note from the same MD to thank you for your super review Williwombat.

Best wishes and I hope we see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The room was a decent size although the en-suite shower room was a bit on the small side. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities very good. The leisure facilities (in the main hotel) include a decent sized pool, spa pool, sauna, an excellent steam room and gym. Breakfast is served in the main hotel next door and there was an excellent selection of cereals, juices, toast, pastries and, of course, a wide selection of hot breakfast items. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk away from the West Cliff and is an ideal base for a seaside vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

A superb 5 star review Christopher, thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Connaught Lodge in Bournemouth . The Hotel is near the Beach and a short work from the Towns shops and some nice pubs near by . But as for the Hotel itself the Staff cannot do enough for you the Breakfast in the Morning is second to none with a great choice the rooms are so lovely and clean will be going back there soon THANK YOU THE CONNAUGHT

Room Tip: Stayed in both the Hotel and the Hotel Lodge both great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

And thank you Patrick for such a lovely review. We hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel turned out to be fantastic! Had a room in the lodge, it was a lovely size and the room and bathroom were very clean. We used the pool etc, which was quiet and relaxing and the staff in the hotel and the spa were friendly and helpful. Close enough to wander into the centre of Bournemouth, would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were given a room in the lodge rather than the main hotel which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

A brilliant all round 5 star review MichMMM, thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We visited this hotel for the fourth time over Easter and it's just as good as ever, and has been given a make-over since we were last there four years ago. Our room, a suite, is fabulous - everything from a roll top bath to a huge comfy bed. The staff were amazing and went the extra mile, everyone from the management to the restaurant staff, especially Nikki. My husband had booked virtually the whole hotel for the Union conference being held just down the road and the staff coped so well with everyone eating at the same time. The pool is lovely, big for a hotel with a sauna and steam room. I had a massage which was excellent and reasonably priced. The town centre is walkable, and its a short distance to the sea. I love this hotel and want to say a big "thank you" to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review Mrs S which was really most generous from beginning to end. I was also delighted to read that we looked after your Union members and that the entire weekend was a great success.

Many thanks and best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lodge on Saturday 11th April, good location for Bournemouth's amenities. Room (suite) was ok, have stayed in better rooms for around the same money. Bathroom spotless although like walking into a cupboard thought with a suite would have been more luxurious. Missed things like complimentary bottles of water, miniature shampoos and conditioners and shower gels/soaps ! Main hotel looked lovely and service was good even though they had a big event going on. Parking a little tight and didn't try spa facilities. Overall a good stay and wouldn't rule out staying again although probably would stay in main hotel. Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you very much Pamelasusan for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay - the "extras" are all available in the main hotel but there is perhaps a £15 difference in prices. The advantage of the Lodge is that you have the beautiful spa facilities, a double rosette restaurant, free parking and free WiFi which is just not generally available at those prices.

With best wishes and hope to see you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 67 in Bournemouth
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £58 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing