We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - just not all of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Last minute booking of a hotel for work which got me the last room in the hotel as very little availability in Bournemouth left with 1 days notice.
Arrived late at night to be charged up front - bit strange - then given my keycard to a kind of student apartment type block next door. Apparently the hotel own that too. So up i go - get a 1 man 1960's lift up to my floor and find my room.
It was alright though, clean enough, big enough bed (single person room but still had a double bed). a wee desk and good sized wardrobe, sockets, kettle n T&Coffee.
However I had the unfortunate circumstance of having the smallest bathroom in the world which when using the facilituies was a problem as I could only get in top toilet by shimmying in sideways. Also the shower temperature control was not great, very difficult to go to anything except from arctic cold to Scalding 4th degree burns.
Next morning connected onto the Wifi - and it didn't work - oh dear.
The next evening after work, went out for dinner, came back and went to the bar to read. Pleasant enough however consistently each night they closed early so you had to keep and eye out and order a last drink if you wanted one.
Nevertheless, During my whole stay i will say this - Every member of staff i came in contact with was courteous, hard working, extremely nice and went out of their way to help me or provide a great service. so I applaud everyone of them.
When i go back to Bournemouth I'll probably stay somewhere else but only because I normally stay in one of my chains where i collect points. However it shouldn't reflect as the main hotel itself and its staff were very pleasant and made my stay very good. (Plus when i said about the broadband it was fixed on my return to the hotel and never happened again!)
Finally it worked out better than my other colleague who had booked another Best western 5 minutes away that was actually a recreation of Fawlty towers.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel - Its much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_hooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

You clearly picked the right hotel Captain and I was delighted to read that we managed to sort out the niggling issues to your satisfaction. The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment programme and the lift has also just been modernised - nothing we can do about the size I'm afraid but they do say small is beautiful!! Do try us again next year you will see even more changes which I feel sure will meet with your approval.

Best wishes and thank you for you review.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stay at Connaught for two nights, everyone are nice and helpfull, the room are ok, not to big, but not to small even with the cot. The only bad point is the literie : a bit too soft for us...

The hotel is at 5 minutes from the beach, the breakfast is excellent, and the swimming pool perfect !!!! We ate not so far from the hotel at the best thai called Koh, you should go there !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed your holiday with us Gabparismtl. Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were welcomed at reception on our arrival, which was our first stay, and from that moment on we felt we were the most important guests. The rooms were sizable and clean, and nothing was too much trouble. With friendly staff, including the owner/manage who spent considerable time chatting to us, together with excellent food and service at both breakfast and dinner, we were left with no doubts no doubts that we would return there in the future. Our rating - 5 Stars in all departments.

Room Tip: Either the main hotel of the annex building next are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you so very much Peter for your huge vote of confidence - very much appreciated by one and all. Hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lovely Hotel prime location, literally 4 mins walk to the seafront and 5 mins walk through lovely gardens to the shops.

Great rooms. Amazing breakfast, so much choice, we had our's out in the sunny courtyard - beautiful. Very friendly and helpful reception staff nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

A "Fantastic" review Tracey, thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have just got back from a weekend at this lovely hotel. The rooms are lovely and the location of the hotel for the shops, peir and beach is brilliant. It was all a 5 minute walk away. The staff are the most helpful and friendliest I have come across. We ate in the restaurant on the second night and the food was superb. Would I recommend this hotel? No because everyone else will want to go and we might not be able to get in, but I have to really as it was superb!!! Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron_GlenRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Ron and Glen, thank you so much for your huge 5 star recommendation which is very much appreciated by all of us here - hope to see you both again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Have just spend two nights at The Connaught. We stayed in a Lodge Room which was freshly decorated and had new furniture and curtains. Access to the main hotel can be through a lovely patio area or by The Lodge's front door. This door would benefit from having a coat of paint as it does not give a good first impression. That is my only negative comment. The entrance to the main hotel is first class and there are plenty of comfortable areas in which to relax. The staff are all friendly and efficient and this was proved yesterday morning (Wednesday 31 July 2013) when the hotel had a power cut at 8am. The kitchen and waiting staff were still able to provide a full breakfast for all the guests in what must have been very difficult circumstances and they kept smiling! Dinner in Blake's Restaurant was delicious and it certainly deserves the 'Two Rosettes' award. The Maitre d' Nick Rutigliano keeps a watchful eye over the restaurant and it is clear that he 'leads from the front' and trains his staff accordingly as everyone knew exactly what they were doing. Some five star establishments should take note!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslehopperSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

A lovely, descriptive review Islehopper, thank you very much. The front door is on my list and will be done!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from a 3-night mid-week stay. Excellent value, facilities and service. Most impressed by the receptionist who made us feel welcome, gave us access to our room earlier than expected and then phoned our room to check everything was ok. We have 2 year old twin boys. Restaurant staff made them very welcome at breakfast and dinner. Our room was a good size, quiet and clean. Really appreciated the free wifi. Parking spaces were available throughout our stay. And best of all, 10 min walk to the amazing beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Excellent news Simonamber, thank you so much for your "Fantastic 3 nights" review. Hope to see you all again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £62 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing