We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall with some buts....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Good overall with some buts....”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights near end of Sept for our anniversary, arrived in time to enjoy some of the Arts festival. Room 215 good overall, very clean and overlooked the garden outside restaurant where one could take breakfast if weather nice; but room was very stuffy even with window open and curtain drawn back. Perhaps we should have used the fan which was in wardrobe - warm & stuffy rooms (even without heating on) seem to be mentioned in other reviews.
There was a rear door from the Lodge to get to the garden and restaurant which is in main hotel. Breakfasts were mostly self service & very good with plenty of choice - cooked items were dished up by waitress. Coffee was served by waiters and one day wasnt very hot.

Had one evening meal which was very good, usual smaller size portions for good quality food.
Only downside to service was that we got charged for 2 glasses of wine (instead of one) and a coke which we didnt realise till we got home and looked at bill of £14 for drinks!
Partly my fault for not checking & querying when signing and paying on checkout. However after email to hotel they did refund the £6.50 for one glass of wine.

Only other downside was small car park and awkward spaces at an angle to low wall. Not a lot of space for manouvering even with a small car and only one entrance/exit. But at least it has a car park and you dont have to pay to park elsewhere. Could be awkward if you have a big car though! Not sure if Lodge clients can park in main hotel car park!

Swimming pool and small spa pool very relaxing, another reason for our choice of hotel. Didnt use bar or lounge so can't comment.
Overall it was a pleasant stay in comfortable surroundings; staff very courteous, polite & helpful & smart.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary Cavair and for your generous review - delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Re the parking guests may use either carpark which provide 66 spaces in all and they are free of charge.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    107
    32
    12
    1
See reviews for
49
171
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stayed here just for a short 2 night break at the end of September.
Rooms were quite spacious and very nicely fitted out with quality furnishings, bathroom was very adequate and bed was nice and comfy with extra pillows if needed.
Restaurant was very nice and the breakfast was also very nice with top lots of different options available.
One other thing we really enjoyed was the indoor pool and spa area which was free to use.
All staff were very pleasant and helpful
On gripe I would say I had and that was the car park is a little cramped, and that was at the end of September so would imagine it was even worse at the height of the summer season.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again in the future

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
And a pretty good review too Andy, thank you. With regard to parking very few hotels in Bournemouth have the facilities that we have and they are free - 66 spaces!! Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and facilities that you want and expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 22nd sept with my partner and 4 month old son. Hotel is ok nothing special, odd old type smell in the lodge communal areas and very hot even though there was no heating on!! Rooms are decent enough nice and clean but ours 208 was very narrow for example only one person at a time can walk around the bed which makes it feel claustrophobic, room also very warm despite no heating on. Opened the windows to let air in and lovely views of some overfilled wheelie bins and looking straight at some ropey residential flats. Plus points breakfast very nice and plentiful but again like a previous review very hot seating area. Pool is nice our little boy enjoyed it as did me and my partner. Location is great right near town and beach. But overall I think overpriced we paid 180 for our stay, stayed at a brand new four star marriott in Lingfield over valentines this year for 2 nights for 144 quid and a much nicer hotel in every respect. I guess your paying for location with this hotel and sacrificing quality which is commonplace in coastal resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwich1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Norwich,

Many thanks for your review and I'm truly sorry that we didn't tick all the boxes for you - Room 208 is a newly refurbished room with over 180 sq ft of living space. The Marriott in Lingfield is indeed a lovely country house hotel whereas we are a town house hotel and the rates for that Marriott are currently £240.00 for 2 nights B&B - a tad unfair to compare February with September and totally different locations!!

Best wishes and thank you again.

David F Miller
Managing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a concert at BIC. The hotel is conveniently located and does have parking, however this is very tight for most modern cars and so I would not rely on getting an adequate space. The main hotel is very nice but as previous reviewers have noted the Lodge, whilst only next door, has a definitely second class feel about it. The carpet in the corridors is quite unpleasant and there is a funny smell about the place. Our room was spacious and the bedding and bathroom clean, but the bathroom badly in need of updating and the room in general needed sprucing up. The breakfast was very good (served in the main building). Bedrooms and breakfast room was far too hot (this was not during a heat wave!). Staff everywhere were pleasant. I've only given this average even though there was nothing seriously wrong simply because it didn't offer good value in Bournemouth compared to previous stays. The Lodge seems to be positioning itself in a category above its actual standard. The friends we were with didn't want to say anything to us as I had booked it, but when we expressed our views they were entirely in agreement that booking months ahead at a rate of £100 per couple should have given us a higher standard of decor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi Rosemary

We have been in touch since your review and hopefully have clarified a few points to your satisfaction - we look forward to seeing you again quite soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked in to attend a wedding on the beach on Friday 13th September, Bournemouth being unique in offering this in the UK. This hotel is just a few minutes walk away.

We were made very welcome by the reception staff, and found our room in the Lodge very easily as just distance from the main building.

However, we were somewhat surprised that the room wasn't really to the standard we'd expected. The furniture was really rickety and cheap with a tiny desk/dresser which was easily cluttered. The bathroom was lovely - very clean and looked quite new.

However, our biggest gripe was the poorly fitting doors which meant we heard every noise outside in the corridor. This was fine on the Thursday evening, but there was a rather roudy group of men (Stag party?) who arrived on Friday and were slamming doors and shouting at the top of their voices. They disturbed us quite badly at 02.30 am on Sat 14th, resulting in us needing to call reception to ask them to intervene.

While I appreciate the Hotel cannot be responsible for the behaviour of it's guests, the poorly fitting bedroom door did us no favours in reducing the noise.

Also noticed the carpets in the Lodge were very old and stained, which let the impression of the place down.

The pool/ spa area was great, and the breakfast was outstanding, but why oh why serve instant coffee?? We ordered cappuccino on our 2nd day as I simply couldn't stomach the cheap instant stuff!

Over-all would recommend, but possibly better to stay in the main building especially if there are roudy groups booked in!

Room Tip: Choose main building if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Martin

I was sorry to read of the problems you experienced - would you please let me know whcih room you stayed in so that I can investigate. The entire hotel has been undergoing a refurbishment programme and there is now very little left to do.

Many thanks

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Connaught Lodge. The staff were friendly, the spa services are great and it is great that you get to use them even if you are staying in the lodge, and it was no trouble at all to walk to the facilties from the lodge, we were even able to use the facilties even after checking out. The jacuzzi was really just amazing, it was the hottest jacuzzi ive ever experienced, so that was amazing! And it wasnt all that busy when we were using the facilties during the day. The cost of the room was a little high, but we were staying in the middle of summer so I can understand why the room rates were a little high and also it was a good location. It was about a 5minute walk to the beach, and was close by to resturants and pubs. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, the man serving it was very friendly and they had the most amazing pasteries, especially the cinnamon rolls! YUM! It was raining outside so it got a little crowded inside but they had a solution and we ate our breakfast in a room closeby, which we didnt mind at all to do as it was a little quieter in the other room. The room was spacious, the bed comfy we had some teeny tiny tears in our sheets but thats no bigge really, barely noticable. there was a strange tapping noise i could hear throughout the night, i couldnt figure out what it was, but im sure this isnt the hotels fault. because it was my birthday they offered two free glasses of wine complimentary which we thought was a really nice touch. they also offered us late check out free of charge, absolutely brilliant!! we really appreciated that. bathroom and room was all clean and spotless, no complaints at all about the room or the hotel at all really. would recommend and return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us Richard and particularly delighted to read just how much you enjoyed the facilities in the Spa. Many thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel for one night only as we were attending the Air Festival. It was a busy everywhere in Bournemouth but there was a sense of professional calm immediately we entered the hotel. The Connaught Lodge was real find, how have we missed this hotel in the past?
The staff were friendly, smart and extremely accommodating. From arrival to departure we were treated to excellent service which was delivered with warm genuine smiles.
Our room, although in need of a few cosmetic repairs, was a good size and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable and joy of joy had duvets not sheets and blankets. Air conditioning would be a bonus as although there was a fan provided we had trouble getting the room to an acceptable temperature. To be fair air conditioning is a rarity in most UK hotels because our weather doesn't warrant it!
The ability to use the facilities in the adjoining Connaught Hotel was an added bonus. We loved the courtyard dining area which allowed us to enjoy the excellent breakfast in the warm autumn sun. We arrived back late from the Air Festival and although the hotel communal area was deserted we were able to get a late night drink in the bar with no difficulty. Once again the bar service was excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Connaught Lodge and will definitely consider this hotel for our next Bournemouth trip.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Really delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your experience at The Connaught Lodge Cejade and thank you very much for taking the trouble to write such a comprehensive 5 star review.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Property: The Connaught Lodge
Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing