We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at the Lodge from 26th Feb - 1st March 2014 check in was easy and staff were friendly and polite (even the workmen on site who are finishing of the refurb of the hotel were polite). The car park is quite a tight squeeze but we always managed to find a space. The room (207) was large and newly decorated with a large dressing area, and a massive bed. Was on the verge of complaining that there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room but after a good search we found them in the dressing table cupboard. Breakfast is in the main hotel next door again service was excellent plenty of everything. On exploring the hotel we went down to the leisure centre, the young man on duty showed us all around which was nice and made our visit to the centre the next day for a swim and sauna hassle free, £1 coin is needed for the lockers and towels are provided. Pool was a good temperature and poolside was clean and tidy. We did not have any other meals in the hotel but what we saw being served looked nice. Overall a good stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Smallerpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us Smallerpeas and thank you for your 5 star review. Just for general infomation the £1 coin for the lockers is fully refunded when removing your personal belongings - it just guarantees the key is returned!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We've just returned to Yorkshire, having spent the weekend in the hotel as part of a large group celebrating a family birthday. We stayed in the lodge, where the rooms can't be described as luxurious, but are spacious, immaculately clean and contained everything we needed (including a bath in the bathrooms).
From the point of checking in, through the various meals, to the check out, all the members of staff we encountered were competent, courteous and friendly. The communal areas in the main hotel are well decorated and furnished. We really enjoyed our visit and the effortless efficiency of the hotel helped to make our special weekend one we'll always remember with great fondness.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank topsy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review Topsy. We all hope to see you again very soon for a repeat performance!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed overnight for visit to BIC International we were in the Lodge part of hotel which is small walk from main building if it rains you will need a brolly room was ok but floorboards in whole lodge made terrible noise we also had trouble getting into lodge with key card, check in ok but no information given regards wi-fi breakfast or spa centre. Breakfast was very good and waiters very helpful and attentive. We could not eat in Blakes restaurant due to be fully booked so cannot comment

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitehorsePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Many thanks for your review Whitehorse. Please let me know where the problems were with the floorboards - we had them properly scewed down when laying the new carpets with the possible exception of the stairs which do creak but don't really affect the accommodation area. Apologies for not be informed correctly on your arrival - we have since spoken with the young lady who checked you in. In addition each room is now fully equipped with a guest directory which had to be changed when the hotel was awarded 4 Star status by the AA.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in the lodge, which is separate to the hotel and had a lovely room, it really was a good standard. The breakfast was delicious, and served by really friendly people. In fact during our short stay in 207 this week, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. In fact I asked for a cup of ice and one point and was given an entire bucket to save me going back to the bar!

The gents changing room in the spa was being decorated so the men all had to change in a treatment room, which wasn't locked so it's a good job we all trusted each other, but this isn't likely to be a problem for anyone else. The check in wasn't great, and as there is no information in the room about breakfast, booking meals or opening times for the spa etc so we had to phone reception with any questions - on our mobile as the room phone didn't work. The biggest gripe I have though is that you have to walk round the building through the car park to get into the main hotel to eat or use the spa. We were aware that the building was separate, and therefore slightly cheaper, but didn't think, too much about it when we booked. The reality though is that after a swim or jacuzzi, we had to walk back in the rain and get wet and cold again. Same as after breakfast, and after dinner etc. I guess it's worth the extra money to have a room in the hotel. Probably not such an issue in the summer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Strafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your very considerate review Strafin - our fault entirely for the lack of information which as now been corrected with the new guest directories, apologies about that. Men's changing rooms now complete and looking wonderful!! Delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed at the Connaught the first weekend in February.we chose the Connaught after reading some great reviews on trip advisor and booked direct with the hotel .we stayed for two nights on a bed and breakfast deal which was very reasonable.when we booked we were told that our room was in the Connaught lodge and not the main hotel but the standards were the same .
On arrival we had no trouble getting a parking space .on reception we were met by Petra who always had a smile on her face and always happy to help .
Whilst we waited for the official check in time we decided to use the spa facilities steam room,sauna ,jacuzzi and swimming pool all do exactly what you expect .There is not much pool side area and not many beds but saying this we managed to get beds on all three days .
The fitness room was well equipped but I was there for a rest so had no hesitation in staying out .
When we got to our room we were very pleased with the decor and facilities which were to a high standard (if you want a large room you may need to upgrade ).It was nice to have a shower that was easy to use and hot .
Saturday night we dined in blakes the in house restaurant ,the food and service were both very good and value for money .
The breakfast menu was varied but the full English was very good and served by a very nice gentleman who was kept very busy .
Overall the hotel is great place to stay ,has very high standards and staff who enjoy making there guests welcome .
The only slight niggle I have is in the dining room ,the table situated just as you walk into the breakfast serving area makes it feel like a rat run and probably not very comfortable for the people on it ,as it is only a table for two it may not be needed.
We had a great weekend in Bournemouth and a great stay at the Connaught .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Delighted to read that you had a such "Great stay" Neill and our thanks for the great review and the lovely compliments which were very much appreciated by us all, especially by Petra on reception.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just come back from a weekend away with my boyfriend to celebrate his 30th Birthday. We had a suite in the lodge and it was a lovely room. Very clean and the bed was very comfy. We had a separate little lounge bit which was nice and gave us more space. Breakfast was very good, friendly staff, they couldn't do enough for us. A good choice of continental and cooked breakfast. The swimming pool was great, very clean, lovely pool, sauna and steam room. Only thing i would say is there is no costume dryer or bags. My first day i had a wet bikini and had no where to put it, so the next day i took my own plastic bag. Overall very happy with our stay, good location, nice staff and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vb140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

A brilliant review Vb thank you very much. I love to read that these birthdays are such a success as clearly your boyfriend's was. The spinner is coming - we are refurbishing the ladies' changing rooms in March and one will be installed.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was with my 85 year old mother and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were excellent, the facilities very good and it made for a relaxing visit. I used the leisure facilities every day and enjoyed these. It was clear when we made our booking that we were going to be in the Lodge a short walk from the main hotel so this caused no problem for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnSholem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Delighted you both had such a lovely time Ann and thank you so much for your review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £63 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing