We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the lodge as it was a bit cheaper than the hotel for three nights. The room was large ,very clean , quiet , the beds were very comfortable. We had a small problem with the lights in the bathroom when we arrived .Within 5 minutes of reporting it a gentleman came to our room and fixed it .The staff were very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and varied with delicious fresh fruit available. My wife used the pool in the main hotel building and enjoyed herself with that.We used the free internet and wi fi it was great. The only difficulty was with parking because there is just about enough room .Well worth the money .I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for your 5 star review Jaywex and delighted to read that you took full advantage of all the facilities that we have to offer. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Second visit and just as good as the first. Lovely room, very clean and the staff are lovely. The food is excellent. Ate in the restaurant last night and it was superb. Had a sandwich lunch the first day and that was great. The location of the hotel is great for both the beach and shopping, shame the weather was a bit hit and miss. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_GlenRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hope you'll make it a third visit Ron - thank you so much for your 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Brief stop over had top room by lift, you could see over to the main Hotel and over roof tops. Neat room and very tidy. Tea and coffee making facilities,. a bit more milk would have been good. Had a problem with getting TV channels but response excellent, and request for an iron an ironing board was swift. Decided to have dinner and that was fine with a bottle of wine two courses about £58.00. The hotel is part of the gest western group and is across a courtyard which enters the Dining/Breakfast room. Bar prices were reasonable for a pint of lager and a glass of wine. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice and tea and coffee served at the table and as much toast white or brown as you wanted. Choices included various ceraeals, fruit and fruit salad, muesli, yoghurt jams, marmalade plus make your own breakfast served at the far end of the room by a cheerful gent. Staff were attentive and very helpful, though on arrival one receptionist appeared to have a bit of an attitude. The swimming pool sauna and steam room off the swimming pool are for guest use and also a gym and I very much enjoyed having those facilities. This hotel and staff deserve a good rating, the parking is an issue though as it is in Bournemouth generally.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumble13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

A super 5 star and very comprehensive review Grumble, thank you very much.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just come back from a long weekend at The Connaught Lodge, Bournemouth and was pleasantly suprised by the good service from staff at this hotel. Although the lodge is adjacent to the main hotel, it has been refurbished to a good standard and kept very clean and the staff were checking to ensure our comfort almost immediately that we settled into our room. Would recommend the breakfast. We didnt use the restaurant but did used the swimming pool which was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a litte extra you can stay in the main hotel, but our room was excellent in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks Jackie for your "Great Hotel" review - hopefully on your next visit you'll have time to sample the delights on offer in our double rosette restaurant, Blakes.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel the room was great couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast was so filling and great staff such a credit to the hotel we wasn't treated no different to the hotel guests.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Really please to read that you enjoyed your couple of days with us Anita and thank you for your lovely review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband booked hotel as part of my Christmas present along with tickets to see James Blunt in the BIC. He didn't realise it was the Lodge he had booked not the hotel. We arrived at 12:30 and parked the car easily and went to check in reception. The people before us were staying in the hotel and the receptionist checked them in and told them about dinner available, breakfast and the pool and spa. When we checked in she just said we were in the Lodge next door, didn't offer any information about the hotel, a little rude and we felt a bit like second rate guests! It was pouring with rain and she did say kindly that our room would probably be ready by 2 and would give us a call on the mobile. We walked into town, which is only a 10min walk and went for lunch and waited for a call. They didn't bother to call us and by half 3 we were soaking wet so went to get the key to our room. The receptionist said that we were on the first floor but didn't explain we were next door, and if I hadn't read the previous reviews we wouldn't have known. The room was comfortable, but couldn't use the pool as we would have had to cross the car park and go into the hotel and it was pouring with rain. The bed was very comfortable. Went for breakfast in the morning and have to say that the staff serving breakfast were warm and friendly and the food was lovely and a good choice. If we ever booked again we would book direct with hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Apologies for the poor communications Georgina and we have now instigated a new system so that when guests arrive early we don't forget to call them when their room is ready. The receptionist assumed, quite incorrectly, that you had been a party to the information given to the previous couple and sends you her apology. Just for your information the rooms in the Lodge are identical in decor and furnishings to the main hotel but are less expensive due to being a separate building. I hope you enjoyed the concert.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Recently returned from 3 night holiday with 2 children, and my friend with 3 children ranging in age from 6 to 14. Wonderful hotel, beautifully decorated and very close to town and beach (10 minutes maximum to both walking). Amenities second to none. The spa which we used daily was fantastic. Gorgeous pool with excellent steam and sauna rooms. 2 separate gyms-1 for cardiovascular and 1 for weights. Running machines could have had their own TV rather than 1 for the room but can't grumble!! the staff on reception very considerate, although waiting a few minutes normal, so possibly 2 front of house staff in peak times would improve experience. The cleanliness of the rooms was literally outstanding. Really could not fault. Also the rooms themselves had normal tea and coffee and chocolate making facilities but also a teapot which I thought was brilliant! There were some delays-for iced water to the room (20 minutes), for help with luggage (gave up and did ourselves), answering phone for room service at midnight (gave up and came to reception), waiting for a table for breakfast 7 of us (up to 15mins)-again think with just one member of staff on duty could've prevented some of these delays. Key card failure opening spa door every day and then our bedrooms on last day irritating (plus 15 minute delay in reception getting someone to help with wet children-not ideal). However once given attention, problem very quickly resolved and front of house staff seemed genuinely apologetic and indicated would take forward concerns with management. Apparently new key card system with some issues-I'm sure they will be resolved. Despite slight delays as mentioned above-we were on holiday and really didn't mind too much. The overall ambience of hotel, quality of the food at breakfast, facilities and customer service really was very good and in some cases outstanding. I will be coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge which was great for our needs as has separate front door and with 5 kids felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Many thanks Helen for your lovely and very comprehensive review which is most appreciated. Apologies for the few niggling issues but delighted that your overall experience was a good one!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £64 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing