We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff were fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The staff were fantastic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What we liked most about this hotel was the staff and especially the staff in the breakfast room, they were so nice, so efficient and so helpful. Nothing seemed to be any trouble for them and we looked forward every morning to sit down and have breakfast. (Also the other members of the staff were very nice but we did not have so much contact with them!) The food of the breakfast was delicious and especially the hot buffe.
The room in the lodge was rather average and the beds were a bit firm for our tast. The room was perfectly clean. When we asked for an extra pillow and a better fan in the room (there was something wrong with the first fan) it was immediately seen to.
The location of the hotel is very good with walking distance to the beach and to the centre of the town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for the "Fantastic Staff" review Karin and delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you manage to get over to see us again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular a bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    105
    31
    11
    1
See reviews for
49
164
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

i absolotely love this place as......
The food is splendid ,dinner, lunch and breakfast. Breakfast offers you the simple home breakfasts aswell as fruit, yogurt , great drinks, the full english and loads more.The town is great as you can sleep in the room, have breakfast, maybe have a dip in the pool and then pop into town. You could go to the beach/pier, the cinema, the shops and loads more.The pool is lovely as theres a great jucusi, steam room and sauna. Theres also spa treatments which are lovely.The fitness suite is terrific.The rooms are clean and well looked after which is really great. the only thing I would improve is the no diving rue in the pool as its good fun

Room Tip: I had a famly room with aq bunk bed and a double bed. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffyflamingos12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
And I JUST LOVE YOUR REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you very much Fluffy, you obviously had a great time with us - I hope you do it again and soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here as a family, two double rooms and a twin room, celebrating Anniversary's and Birthday. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was fabulous, providing everything we needed included a gluten free alternative with no bother at all. The gym had quite old equipment compared to what we are used to at home but not a problem, the pool was enjoyable but a bit cold! The location is perfect for walking to the beach and to the town centre. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had three rooms in three different locations of the lodge, none of which were noisy or caused pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnevale0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much Carnivale for your "Excellent" review and delighted all the celebrations were such a success - hopefully we'll see you all again next year. Apologies about the pool which is normally kept at 29.5C - I don't know what the problem was but it's all ok now!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

It was my daughters hen weekend and she had organised and booked this well in advance.
Days before we arrived we had a problem with numbers but when she rang the hotel they were very accomodating and solved the problem for us.
On arrival and throughout the whole stay all the staff were very good, very professional and very quick to sort any problems....
Breakfast was lovely and again staff fab, moving tables and chairs to accommodate us all.
Huge thank you for making a wonderful weekend even better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Really delighted your weekend arrangements went according to plan Hark and everyone had such a wonderful time. Many thanks for your review and hopefully we''ll see more of you in the future.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The following applies to room 225 at the Connaught Lodge. Comments from other residents imply that it also applies to some other rooms; I don't know how many.
- For some reason, the bedroom and storage area are split, with curtains only across the space between them, so anyone can look in on the storage (dressing) area from outside. Not very convenient if you have to walk around in a state of undress because of the problem mentioned below.
- My two days were both sunny and the windows became an outsize, very hot radiator, converting the whole room into a sauna. They could at least install blinds on the outside to prevent this happening, which would also cure the first problem I mentioned by covering the windows. Even curtains on the outside windows with a white surface facing out would help.
- The shower room is a joke. To pee, you have to edge in sideways and lean on the wall, because the wash-basin stops you standing up straight. Sitting down on the toilet is a little easier, but you still have the problem of edging in.
- The shower head is fixed and right above the centre of the shower area, so it is virtually impossible to use soap because it gets washed off immediately. The shower head is also at the perfect height to bash your head on it whenever you move, and I am not particularly tall.

I wouldn't stay there again.

I did receive apologies from David Miller (owner and managing director) and Paul Plumley (general manager), but for the sake of two days I am not going to make a bit thing out of it, so I didn't bother to reply to them. Since I am also not going to stay here again, there is not much they can offer me as compensation. I only get to the UK once a year, and I would not risk it again.

Room Tip: Not room 225 or anywhere near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuperJohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Our fault entirely John and once again our sincere apologies for your poor experience. You booked a single room at £53 per night and reception upgraded you to a double bedroom albeit with a small shower room thinking you would be more comfortable. This is generally well received but clearly not for you – sorry!! You may be pleased to know that the curtains have now been hung on the outer wall thus resolving one issue.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Connaught Lodge and Hotel was a great place to stay - a lucky choice, as there are so many hotels in Bournemouth to choose from. Well located, easy access to the beach and walks along the promenade, as well as easy walking distance into town centre.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from start to finish. The restaurant/bistro had lovely food which was attractively presented and we enjoyed eating breakfast in the garden when the weather improved. Good accommodation and a very nice swimming-pool which we made good use of.
I would certainly stay there again if I were to visit Bournemouth in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review Frances and also for taking the trouble to write about the Brasserie. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased that you managed to take full advantege of all the facilities that we have to offer.

Best wishes and I hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a wedding in Bournemouth and only stayed at The Connaught Lodge. The reason it was picked was because the wedding we were attending on the beach,was a very short walk away. The Lodge is adjacent to the main hotel, and had been refurbished to a good clean standard. The Breakfast was adequate and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I wouldn't have any problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank howieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice review Howie - hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Property: The Connaught Lodge
Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing