We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break away with the Family”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Newlands

The Newlands
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Newlands
Ranked #79 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short break away with the Family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from The Newlands and there was a couple of things that we felt quite disappointing, The Family room was of a good size but there had been a past leak in the roof so the wallpaper was stained and when you felt the wall it still felt damp, the wallpaper was in need of re doing.Another bad point is the Shower, it just does not work properly, the worst shower I have ever had, they obviously have some pressure problem.
On the good side Breakfast was lovely and the B&B Is situated in a lovely Area and a good Bus service..y
Feel very disappointed at the price we paid for this B&B we have stayed in some lovely places for a lot less money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lets do the positives.
The breakfast is quite good and there is good parking. The hotel is in a great position near the beach and the television in the room is outstanding - it is the only one that on which I have seen Andy Murray win Wimbledon.
It started badly. We rang the door bell 4 times and in the end had to telephone them in order to get in. The room was small and the cleaners had missed corners. The bathroom was poor. Not only could you not swing a cat, you couldn't fit one in it was so tiny. The toilet seat kept falling down on you when you used it. The basin was too small to use to shave.
Biggest grudge was that the toilet paper was not replaced when used. There is not bell to contact the owners and after the paper ran out, I had to go out to the supermarket at 23:00 in order to buy some.
Another grudge was that the owners had a party in the garden one night with music that went on past 2:30 am and that stopped us sleeping.

We would not go again even though my daughter has a flat only 200 yards away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newlands_alumchine, Owner at The Newlands, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not enjoyable for you as we do endeavour to provide a relaxing and comfortable stay for our guests.

We do ask that if any of our guests have a problem that they bring it to our attention during their stay so that it may be resolved to their satisfaction.

We'd like to address some of the points you have made. As a family run guest house we don't staff a front desk, and occasionally don't hear the doorbell immediately if we are in the laundry room or are vacuuming. Whilst some of our rooms and ensuite facilties are smaller than others they do meet the AA 4 star standard, we apologise if your loo roll was not replaced as this would have been an inexcusable oversight which would have been rectified immediately if brought to our attention - we can always be contacted by phone or by knocking on the door of our private quarters.

Regarding the nightly disturbance - We did not have a party and have never had a party with guests on the premises! The party in question was at a property in the road behind us and kept us and our 5 year old daughter awake into the early hours. Fortunately, this is not a regular occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was our first stay at The Newlands and we had a weeks stay. We had a lovely room, very comfortable and lovely and warm whci was very welcoming when we got back after a day out in the rain. The breakfast was very good and Sharon & Martin were very nice hosts. A place to recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

In June I stayed for 4 nights in Bournemouth as a base to vist the surrounding area. Unfortunately the weather was not good for 2 of the days which restricted my touring.The Newlands is located just out of Bournemouth at Alum Chime however it is only a short walk to the beach and about 20 min walk along the beach promenade to the City Centre. Room allocated was very large at the front of the house...lots of rooms in Newlands. Hosts Sharon amd Martin were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast and service was very good. Bed was super comfortable (I wanted to take it with me) and ensured a great nights sleep and room was clean. Parking available at front of house.Complimentary bottle of spring water provided everyday in the room. TV cable reception and free Wifi were excellent.Close by plenty of choices at Westbourne of eateries however I found a new Thai/Indian restaurant called Blue Mango at 37 Exeter St Bournemouth which was excellent, a family restaurant that is only about 10 mins drive away on the way into the city centre...great food,service and very reasonable prices. The son, Kim is usually there to welcome you.Tell him Tony from Australia sent me, you will enjoy.It was so good I ate there 4 nights in a row.

Room Tip: There were only 2 minor issues with Newlands..the shower recess in room 4 is very small and not easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PicklesNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.1 mi away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#17 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernhay B & B
Southernhay B & B
#94 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newlands

Property: The Newlands
Address: 14 Rosemount Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is guaranteed by Myra and Trevor at this elegant Edwardian guest house which is beautifully situated within the quiet area of Alum Chine. Non-smoking & no large groups. All guest rooms are fully en-suite and tastefully decorated and equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv's with built-in free view and USB port. On-site parking is available in front of the property. Free wireless Internet access. Own key access at all times. Comfortable guest lounge. Full English breakfast with gluten free and vegetarian options available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing