We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but nice place to stay”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent a night at the Suncliff hotel using a livingsocial voucher. Our £99 voucher gave us a cream tea, a bottle of wine, a three course meal and bed and breakfast for one night. At this price it's a bargain. Initially when I phoned to book the stay I felt a little worried as the person taking the booking was a little short with me when I questioned having to give my credit card details for a booking that was paid for in full by the voucher.

During our stay we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The food served in the restaurant was very good. The hotel room was clean.
Everything was a bit shabby, there was a stain on our ceiling, the shower wasn't very powerful but we did have a shower and a bath in our ensuite and the bed was comfortable bar the big buttons in the mattress! (We didn't feel these once in bed and sleeping)

We used the hotel "Leisure suite" on two occasions and found this to be disappointing. Half of the machines in the gym didn't work properly and the pool again was shabby as not as warm as hotel pools often are. The shower in the men's changing rooms didn't work properly and the shower in the womens changing rooms was not very powerful and you couldn't rinse off too well in it.

The cream teas we had were out of this world! The best cream tea I've had in a very long while! Really nicely presented too.

If there was another offer, we would go back. At full price, probably not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Bristolclogs,

Thank you for leaving your comments on your TA page, the living social deal was an absolute bargain and really good value for money; I’m pleased to see you also agree.

A card number is only taken for security reasons and nothing would ever be changed without your notification. As the years pass credit card fraud is becoming more frequent and the easiest way is to take card details on booking that we can check on arrival. Plus we can only process the booking once a credit card is provided. This also allows you to open up a room account should you wish to charge any extra's to your room while in the hotel.

We are always up-grading the bedrooms and public area's so thank you for your comments, I have passed this on to our Housekeeping to rectify and the leisure is an area that again is having investment in.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you will return in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,315 - 1,321 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour 21-25 October 2013. The quality of hotels on coach tours is often disappointing but this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in as part of a coaching holiday.

The hotel looks good from the outside and that first impression continues throughout the hotel.

ROOM

I stayed in a single room on the first floor. The room was of a decent size - adequate wardrobe space and plenty of cupboard space. Flat screen TV with free view and a comfy chair to sit in! Bathroom - a spacious bathroom with lots of storage space. Plenty of mirrors and largish windows that open!
The only negative about my room (131) was that it was next to an external fire door and during the night gale force winds rattled the external door very noisily. There was also a problem with a creaky floor so could hear people in neighbouring rooms moving about.

FOOD

The restaurant was spacious with large tables so plenty of elbow room. The waiting staff were efficient and service was speedy. The food was the best I have had as part of a coach tour. Plenty of variety and the presentation of the food was second to none. Portion sizes were very generous.

Breakfast was self service so one could have as much or as little as one wanted. Again lots of choice re breakfast menu.

BAR

Many customers complained about the bar prices £3.60 a pint but I guess these are southern prices - bar service was generally good.

ENTERTAINMENT

Monday night was a male singer - not a very good singer but he sang what people wanted to hear and engaged with the audience so he got a good reaction .Tuesday night was bingo night - the bingo was called by a very surly barman who clearly didn't want to be doing bingo. He called the bingo as fast as he possibly could and got more and more annoyed when people had trouble keeping up with him - even his fellow bar staff heckled him by shouting false calls. The bingo was concluded within about 25 minutes. The hotel could improve the entertainment offered on Tuesdays by getting someone with a bit of patience and personality to call the bingo and laying on a quiz or two.
Wednesday was a husband and wife "Carpenter Tribute act" - the female singer had a cold - so not many Carpenter songs were actually performed. They never really engaged with their audience and didn't get a much of a reaction. Thursday night was a male singer/guitarist - he couldn't sing but he did play a mean guitar! He engaged with the audience throughout the night - he was the kind of act that likes to take the Mickey out of the audience and he went down a treat.

All in all good accommodation, excellent food, acceptable entertainment - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ei058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

ei058

Hello member of the coaching community, it always pleases me when a coach/tour guest leaves a review on TA, even though it is a rare occurrence the reviews are always fair and detailed.

I apologise about the winds during your stay, the weather was pretty dreadful that week and being on the cliff top over looking the sea we do bare the brunt of it.

Our chefs and waiting team work extremely hard to offer fantastic food and outstanding service and I am pleased this was apparent during your stay.

Our bar prices are very competitive compared to the local area but yes the prices south do differ to the prices up north unfortunately

Our entertainers have been with us for the past four years and I must say we rarely get negative feedback about them. We are having a change around next year and intruding a couple of new faces so watch this space. As for the 'surly' bar man that called bingo he was a last minute change due to our usual bingo caller not being available and is in fact our bar manager Rob. Rob offered to step in though he was meant to finish his shift at that time plus is probably the most soft natured, obliging and caring person I know. I wont go into detail but he worked in the care industry for many years and after getting married at the hotel 4 years ago soon joined the team and has been an asset to the Suncliff ever since. I’m sure he didn’t mean to come across in that way.

Overall sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and I hope you will return again to us in the near future where I am sure you will be looked after once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Penthouse rooms in October 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the room and the fantastic views. The location was great, just being off the beaten track, and the walk into town was lovely along the water front. The only disappointment for us was that they allowed people in the dining room for breakfast clearly in their pyjamas with nothing on their feet! It is sad to see that that is now considered acceptable. The breakfast was also a little disappointing, would of been nice to of seen some yoghurts and vegetarian sausages. A lovely break and the Suncliff Hotel helped to make it so.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms with a sea view are well worth the money and trip up in the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAC1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

LAC1309
Thank you for your review,

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Suncliff.

It is defiantly not acceptable to have no foot ware on to enter in for breakfast and I will address this with the restaurant manager as normal practice we do point this out to any guests that we see, it is the same policy for guests using the lounges and bar for obvious health and safety reasons. Thank you fro bringing this to my attention.

As for our breakfast we normally receive very positive comments, I apologise it did not meet your expectations. We do hold vegetarian sausages for guests but i will ask to make this a little clearer on the buffet.

I do hope you will return to us in the future and if you do please do not hesitate to ask any staff member should you have a dietary requirement and we would be happy to help or advise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

First time for staying at the Suncliff Hotel, my partner and I booked a long weekend break at beginning of October 2013. We had such a pleasurable stay that even with so many other hotels to choose from in Bournemouth, we have re-booked again to stay at the Suncliff in November and December.
Staff are extremely friendly, that's all staff from receptionists, room maids, bar staff - everyone! I want to mention in particular the helpfulness of the hotel with my dietary needs. I am Coeliac so therefore require Gluten Free options at mealtimes. This was NEVER an issue, both Gluten Free Bread was available for sandwiches for bar or room service menu and also at breakfast in the main restaurant. They were fully aware of cross contamination procedures and a separate toaster in the kitchen away from all other gluten containing products was used to toast the gluten free bread. Soya milk was available again both in the bar and also at breakfast.
This made our stay so enjoyable having the freedom to enjoy the breakfast and even Sunday Dinner knowing that I was not eating anything with gluten present. Even the gravy was gluten free for the Sunday roast! Other facilities at the Hotel were very nice and the indoor pool was very inviting. Value for money you would be hard pushed to find a better value hotel where the staff are as attentive as at the Suncliff. Added bonus was evening entertainment on Fri and Sat eves too. All in all, we would recommend - especially if you have any special dietary needs as you will be looked after well. As a final note, their sister Hotel, The Cumberland which is situated next to the Suncliff also looks beautiful and you have full use of facilities.

Room Tip: If want the added bonus of sea view then request sea view rooms facing front of hotel as the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Serena B

Thank you for taking the time to review the Suncliff based on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to see that you didn’t just enjoy your stay but the staff went out of their way to make sure you needs were catered for and that you rebooked already.

In my eyes this really does reflect what the Suncliff is all about with our main focus being customer service. My team will always do their very best to ensure our guests are looked after and are not just a number or 'just another guest' we treat our everyone that walks though the front door like a member of our extended family and would show the same friendliness and helpfulness to everyone.

It is also great to see that you have used many of the facilities with in the hotel giving the readers a much broader review of what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 7th October for 3 days and found it a super hotel especially the food.The restaurant staff were exceptional and couldn't do enough for the guests. I had a single room which wasn't very big but had a comfy bed and a flat screen television and enough room for one person. The selection at breakfast was as good as I have ever experienced. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy1940-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dorothy1940-25

What a lovely review...thank you!

I am glad to see that the restaurant impressed you and your room was suitable for your needs. I am positive you will be just as impressed on your next visit.

Best wishes for the festive season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently held my parents 50th anniversary party at the Suncliff Hotel and I have to say it couldn't have been better. The staff were absolutely first rate; very friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough to make the day special. The food was excellent, as was the wine (which was very reasonably priced). Top marks all round!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank willowstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

willowsitck

What a lovely review,

Thank you for holding such an important event at the Suncliff, I am really pleased it went so well and that the food and service made such an impression.

I really hope you will return to us again and my best wishes for the festive period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed recently for 4 nights at the Suncliffe. Got a very good rate for the stay.On checking in we were told we had been upgraded to a sea view room. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was buffet style and the quality of the food excellent and always hot. The dining room staff were always smiling and hardworking. Tables were always available and cleared immediately on being vacated. Entertainment was provided most nights in the hotel or the sister hotel next door. Being on public transport it was 10 minutes walk to the Lansdowne where you could get a bus to the Railway Station which is also the bus inter-change.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

b w

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts reguarding your recent stay at the Suncliff.

We always recieve really positive feed back on the meals we serve so thank you for comments, I will pass them on to the kitchen team.

I hope you will return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £38 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing