We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The sun cliff is a really lovely hotel staffed by people who make your holiday special. The manager was excellent by going above and beyond even booking us into the restaurant of another hotel when we wanted something different. The bar staff were fantastic serving with a smile polite respectful. The room was good lovely hot eater with lots of it. Great pool sauna etc

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,339 - 1,345 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just back from 4 day valentine break & as always food &staff wonderful even though a lot of familiar faces were missing but replacements had clearly bought into the ethos of this hotel &nothing was too much trouble.Had a penthouse room which was to say the least interesting in the big storms we had.Full marks to the Burnley fans who came down to watch the Bournemouth Burnley game how well behaved they were unlike some of the "free bar coach trippers" although by Saturday they had calmed down enough & allowed us to enjoy the new entertainer HEIDI who I would describe as nothing short of brilliant & a superb range of voice & songs& would hope to see her on X factor one day.
We also did Christmas /New Year package which was incredible & a belated special thanks to Zoltan & all his team in the kitchen & to all the other staff who make our stays so special.

Room Tip: Sea views from 2nd & 3rd floor are good but penthouse rooms on 4th floor would compare favourabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

There was a real lack of parking, had to park on the road over night each night I stayed there, to help the situation there was 2 homeless people in the bus shelter opposite for the duration of the stay which really helped build confidence leaving the car on the road over night. On the last night it looked like some damage was done to some other guests cars on the road. The pool area needed tidying and the changing rooms were pretty dirty. The room we stayed in was pretty clean and the view out to sea was good, apart from the homeless people directly in front of the room. Location was fairly good, about 20min walk from town and in the middle of the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Most relaxing hotel room we have stayed in, plenty of room, lovely sea views and a long bath to relax in. Good area for walking. Very friendly staff and good service in restaurant. A very good winter break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSpencer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent hotel for our group of 45 Berkshire County Indoor Bowling Tourists, food great, staff friendly and helpful.
Plenty of space to lounge about, good entertainment. I would recomend to any other similar groups.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSnook2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Assistant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, I’m glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future.

Kind regards,
Tom Pinn, Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nice staff , pool area could with a tidy up, food was good . Bar prices about what you expect in a hotel . We had a room next to a lift and I thought we would have a few problems but all was okay through the night. Breakfast was good all the waiters were good . Sunday carvery was very good value . About a 15 mins walk in the town. When the hotel is full I should think car parking is a problem.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 24roberto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Suncliff Hotel East CLiff Bournemouth looking over the East Cliff in Bournemouth the food here for a Sunday Lunch is Good and a fair price you need to cheak it out its great vaule for money the hotel is good too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £30 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing