We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night away”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely night away”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the sun cliff on Saturday the 15th of February and I booked the room as a break away for my partner and I as a valentines gift.
The room was nice and clean although a bit dated but had every thing we needed.
We went to use the pool in the afternoon and unfortunately it was quite cold which was a bit if a shock and the changing rooms could do with a but if work.
In the evening we headed down to the lounge bar and ordered some food which was lovely and then the entertainment started which was also really good.
In the morning we had breakfast and this was really good, there was a selection of cereals, toast, juices, tea and coffee and the English breakfast was a buffet.
I would recommend this hotel but it could do with a bit if an update in some areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    671
    329
    150
    97
See reviews for
415
847
90
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The sun cliff is a really lovely hotel staffed by people who make your holiday special. The manager was excellent by going above and beyond even booking us into the restaurant of another hotel when we wanted something different. The bar staff were fantastic serving with a smile polite respectful. The room was good lovely hot eater with lots of it. Great pool sauna etc

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just back from 4 day valentine break & as always food &staff wonderful even though a lot of familiar faces were missing but replacements had clearly bought into the ethos of this hotel &nothing was too much trouble.Had a penthouse room which was to say the least interesting in the big storms we had.Full marks to the Burnley fans who came down to watch the Bournemouth Burnley game how well behaved they were unlike some of the "free bar coach trippers" although by Saturday they had calmed down enough & allowed us to enjoy the new entertainer HEIDI who I would describe as nothing short of brilliant & a superb range of voice & songs& would hope to see her on X factor one day.
We also did Christmas /New Year package which was incredible & a belated special thanks to Zoltan & all his team in the kitchen & to all the other staff who make our stays so special.

Room Tip: Sea views from 2nd & 3rd floor are good but penthouse rooms on 4th floor would compare favourabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

There was a real lack of parking, had to park on the road over night each night I stayed there, to help the situation there was 2 homeless people in the bus shelter opposite for the duration of the stay which really helped build confidence leaving the car on the road over night. On the last night it looked like some damage was done to some other guests cars on the road. The pool area needed tidying and the changing rooms were pretty dirty. The room we stayed in was pretty clean and the view out to sea was good, apart from the homeless people directly in front of the room. Location was fairly good, about 20min walk from town and in the middle of the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Most relaxing hotel room we have stayed in, plenty of room, lovely sea views and a long bath to relax in. Good area for walking. Very friendly staff and good service in restaurant. A very good winter break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSpencer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent hotel for our group of 45 Berkshire County Indoor Bowling Tourists, food great, staff friendly and helpful.
Plenty of space to lounge about, good entertainment. I would recomend to any other similar groups.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSnook2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Assistant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, I’m glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future.

Kind regards,
Tom Pinn, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Nice staff , pool area could with a tidy up, food was good . Bar prices about what you expect in a hotel . We had a room next to a lift and I thought we would have a few problems but all was okay through the night. Breakfast was good all the waiters were good . Sunday carvery was very good value . About a 15 mins walk in the town. When the hotel is full I should think car parking is a problem.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 24roberto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing