We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned - would go back again”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned from an enjoyable weekend at the Suncliff with my mum and 13 year old daughter. We had a family room on the first floor overlooking the sea with a large communal balcony. The room was dated but large and most importantly very clean. It was extremely hot in the room but we decided this was due mainly down to the sudden favourable change in the weather. We ate in the hotel both nights, the first in the restaurant, the second room service delivered to the room. Both occassions the food was excellent and presented well. We really enjoyed the spa - yes its true the showers etc could be upgraded but the pool area itself we really loved. The thing that stood out for us was the outstanding staff - from room maids to reception staff, waiting staff etc they were without exception fantastic and really add to the whole traditional hotel experience - we loved it. Both nights we were awake at 3am by noisy parties returning to their rooms - but this wasn't a problem - the hotel caters for all ages and I would not hesitate to book again - fantastic location with first class staff - well done Oceania at the Suncliff. Happy customers x

Room Tip: Sea view stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armywife43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,356 - 1,362 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from Monday (10-03-14) to Friday which meant I got a free taxi from the station which was lovely. When I arrived there was a little problem as I wasn't aware I had to pay on arrival and had only confirmed my room weeks ago but reception were very helpful and sorted this out for me (was paid on someone else's card so they called them to confirm) I booked a penthouse with balcony we were given penthouse Beatrice which was absolutely gorgeous great size, good size TV and very comfy big bed, very clean and the views were amazing, only fault was that one of the handles on balcony door came of but it was stuck on with chewing gum so last people to stay on there probably didn't tel the hotel so I'm assuming they didn't know about it, it didn't bother us as we had the doors open whenever we were in there. The shower was nice and hot.
The breakfast was lovely and lots of choice we didn't have dinner in the hotel so can't comment on that.
We used the pool table which costs £1 could have been in a better place but it was a bonus it was there, we also used the indoor swimming pool which was lovely and hot only thing I personally would have wanted was cubicles in the changing rooms but there were clean and free lockers which was good.
The hotel it self is very popular with the older generation but everyone was very friendly and didn't bother us at all (we are 22yo and 21yo)
Overall was a lovely stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel, in its heyday, must have been of the highest class. Unfortunately the years have taken their toll and the decor and bedrooms are looking weary. My Brother-in-Law stayed in the recently refurbished part of the hotel and his room was clean, comfortable and had usual facilities. Our room was in the older part of the hotel and had a window that looked out to a brick wall which made the room feel dark and uninviting. However, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a sign in the bathroom saying 'Due to the year this hotel was built and the location of this room guests may have to run the tap for several minutes before getting any hot water' this was a slight understatement as I ran the shower for 20 mins and still didn't get any hot water. The 'Spa' is really in need of refurbishment. Out of 3 showers in the men's changing rooms only 1 worked and water was so slow you had to run around to get wet! The ladies changing room had a similar problem. The 'heated indoor pool' was around 30 degrees with steam rising, so if you wanted to have a long swim it wouldn't really be possible as you would pass out with heat exhaustion! The staff on the other hand were by far the friendliest, most professional and helpful that I have ever encountered and the breakfast was fresh, good quality and good value. These two factors alone made the overall experience well worthwhile and for those of you out there that miss how hotel service used to be I would recommend a short stay here. For all it's faults, I would return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

On arrival, I was really impressed with reception staff. They helped me out with a problem as I needed to get onto my emails. We didn't have time to go out for supper so we had something from the bar. I think it was over priced as the quality of the burger was that of a hot dog van, still not a problem. Bar staff friendly and polite. My mother and myself went to our concert. We were on quite a high as we had really enjoyed ourselves. We had a drink and thought how nice it was to see the hotel packed with 3 generations all enjoying themselves. We discussed the hotel and I said I would write a review and say how impressed I was, I had booked with lastminute.com and had got a good deal. We went to bed at midnight. It was then I felt that I had booked with an 18 - 30's holiday. The noise was terrible until 3 o'clock in the morning. We were on the ground floor. I had asked for this because of stair access for my mother.
Just a tip for the 18-30 year olds - yes people can hear you when you talk and giggle in the hall way of a hotel. To the parents of toddlers - when you keep your children up till 2 in the morning they will probably still be over active and over tired when they go to bed, so expect them to be up at 3 then every hour on the hour.
Breakfast was lovely. Got up at 8 then made a hasty retreat. I wanted to take a look round Bournemouth but because I had a 3 hour drive and was exhausted I went early. I really wanted to give this hotel 5, but because of your patrons it is only a 3 which is a shame. sorry.

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the top are less noisy as we were in a large family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiffi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed for one night for business. I enjoyed the pool and steam room facilities!
Only complaint is that the heating in my room was on constantly so it became very hot.
Great breakfast, loads to choose from. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmtp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

had a great couple of days at the suncliffe ,staff were friendly and helpful at all times .the room we had was large with a sea view on the second floor it was clean an tidy if a little shabby . my partner found the bed to be to firm for her liking .also the car parking is fairly limited , we had to park on the road outside . breakfast was ok .the biggest plus for the hotel has to be the sunday carvery which was excellent , some of the so called big chains could learn a thing or to here .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wistowsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for one night and would recommend it . Staff were excellent. Our room had a lovely sea view,very clean and comfortable. Food and service good and excellent evening entertainment. Great pity more people did not get up and dance! There was another large family party staying there but everyone just got along and it was quiet at night. Yes the hotel does look 'tired' but that did not detract from our stay and it is lovely walk into Bournemouth and very handy for visiting Poole, Studland, Swanage etc. We would return for another short break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maggieb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £34 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing