We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a coach tour. A welcome cup of tea awaited us after a long trip from Yorkshire. Our disabled room (27) was quite adequate for our needs, enough room for my mobility scooter with twin beds, 2 chairs, dressing table, television, hair drier and 2 bedside cabinets, the bathroom was a bit smaller with a small wetroom type shower area. Cleanliness of the room was not 5 star but not at all bad enough to complain about, clean towels were provided every day. The food, again not 5 star but quite palatable and plentiful. the dining room staff were very attentive and helpful, clearing dirty plates etc as soon as they were finished with. Over all a good hotel and would certainly stay there again, I will recommend this hotel but not if you are looking for 5 star or are like Mrs Bucket. That is MY honest opinion

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights recently. The staff were friendly and helpful especially those in the bar. Everywhere seemed clean and tidy.
Our room was quite a good size. The beds were fairly comfortable.
Our only criticism was with the bathroom which was desperately in need of a refurb. There was a piece of bare plywood screwed to the front of the cupboard under the sink, which seemed pretty odd, and the flooring was torn in places. I have to say I don't think that was acceptable and it slightly spoilt what was otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

In May end Bank Holidays, we wanted to have some break and thus booked this hotel in advance We reached Bournemouth by train from London on 23th May 2014 and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.
We took a left turn from the station and followed the direction for City Centre. Buses are available. In addition, you can have taxi from opposite to station, near ASDA for going to the hotel. However we took the walking option and followed the direction towards sea beach. It took 20 mins to reach to the hotel. Since the car racing for Wheel Festival was going on that time, we took the road at the back side and reached the Hotel.
We checked in but were told to come back at 2pm as the room was not ready. Check in time was 2 pm and thus we kept our luggage in Hotel luggage store room and enjoyed Wheel Festival outside.
At evening when we came back, we were given room no 227, which is in fact, in the adjacent building but connected with the main building. That was the reasons we had to go few steps up and down in the 2nd floor corridor, to reach the room which was a long way from the lift.
The room was ok, with 1 double and one single bed for 3 of us. Room size was also moderate, the window was on the back side and the room was quite.
The toilet was large in size and even we could glimpse the sea from the toilet window.
There was a cabinet for keeping cloths and a tea maker and lots of tea bags, coffee packs, milk provided every day. The free Wi fi speed was ok.
The location of the hotel was on the sea side on a cliff. For going to sea beach you have to get down about 100ft either by stairs or by ramp. There is also a funicular at a distant location from the hotel .The City Centre zone, high street is about 10-15 mins walk, where you can have many restaurants. We took our dinner from a Banladeshi Restaurant, however there are many other restaurants and fast food shops available.
The breakfast was really good and provided many options. We had hash brown, bread, eggs, cereal, fruits, tea, coffee, fried Bread etc in the options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We had our daughters wedding at the suncliff on the 14th june 2014 and I must say the hotel and staff were faultless, they went out of their way to make my daughters day run smoothly . The food was excellent and plentiful. I would like to say a big thankyou to Brian Robins and all the stuff at the suncliff for making my daughter and son in laws wedding such a special day

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived after a long drive to a pleasant welcome from staff at reception. We took the lift to our room we stayed on the fourth floor. Went into room no flowers where there which was requested 2 weeks prior to arrival.
Room lacked the "Wow" Factor but it was fine and the bed was really comfortable. Block out light blinds in the bathroom and bedroom came in handy for the morning :) Bath had a nice power shower but no plug for the bath. Very clean room :) Random picture of Marilyn Monroe on the wall? Had breakfast both mornings no complaints just do not arrive between 7:30 - 8 it is just to rammed. Used the Sauna and indoor swimming pool both nice just need a face lift ie more than one shower in the ladies changing room and a new door for the toilet it is very stiff. Used the pool table twice had lots of fun. The lift is very temperamental sometimes it arrives quickly other times you have to wait for ages. Lounge in the Sun cliff needs a makeover new paint and decor. If you are fussy do not stay here I enjoyed myself and the room did the job it was meant for Bournemouth has plenty to see and do

Room Tip: Do not ask for a quiet room. Yes this does sound strange but the view is better in the "noisy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 383Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at The Suncliff Hotel, having stayed here for 4 nights 2 years ago. Still a above average hotel, with great facilities. Heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, Gym, table tennis, squash, pool table, 2 bars, 2 restaurants. Staff were polite and helpful. Room was clean and adequate with a beautiful ocean view (from the side!)
Will return next year. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshtonSeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this to celebrate our anniversary as a quiet break. The hotel website shows lively outside pools at the Cumberland next door and these were very nice.
Staff very friendly and efficient. Great location.
However. .. This hotel allows stag groups and unfortunately for us a group of 22 were staying at the same time. On the Friday afternoon around the pool we were subjected to shouting, inebriated older men, swearing and full frontal nudity. In front of families I might add. I wouldn't write this review if I hadn't given the manager.at the time to compensate my for this but.other than an apology and "you could have gone to the other pool"... nothing.
Be warned.
The hotel is relatively tidy apart from the indoor pool which is very grubby and in need of refurbishment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank morgue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £30 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing