We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We got married here in April and we can't fault the staff for all there help for us to have such a successful day even to the extent that my dad was booked in to next door and we were able to all have breakfast together without any problems!!
I would recommend anyone getting married to look into booking here great place

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Pat-Russ

What a lovely review, I am so glad we could help make your day so special and you and your family had such a great time. I do hope you will visit us again soon and my sincere best wishes for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    660
    318
    146
    97
See reviews for
409
834
88
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from short break. Although hotel in need of refurbishment it was very clean and very comfortable. The staff are excellent, polite and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Anne J

Thank you for your review, we are continually updating our product and investing in the upkeep and redecoration of bedrooms so I hope you will see this on your next visit. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff and service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed as a couple for one night in August 14. We paid £137 for a standard double room and were disappointed with the whole experience. The room we were given looked tired and worn out as well as obviously being furnished as cheaply as possible (20 years ago!). The walls were covered in scuff marks and the paint on the skirting boards was full of chips. The bathroom floor was covered in cheap horrible lino and the cheap electric shower fitted gave so little pressure you were left incapable of having a proper wash. The swimming pool in the hotel was not particularly clean and had numerous lights that didn't work as well as bits of the ceiling missing.

Overall with the Suncliff, you get the impression that the owners are squeezing as much profit out of the hotel as possible (by over-pricing rooms to the limit) while spending the bare minimum on maintenance and decor. One of the barman at the hotel when we asked him about what he thought of the rooms and hotel said it would get 1 star in his country of origin not the 3 stars it has in the UK.

Positive about the hotel was that the staff were friendly. However for the price charged this hotel is not worth it. It was a relief to be leaving!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

(((((WOW)))) I Have Stayed in,All The 3 Sister Hotels This Is the Best By Far Fantastic Food Such a Choice The best, Great Food Great Staff , A Fantastic Room Will Be Back Next Year,The Staff At All 3 Hotels Work So Hard Too give You The Best Holiday Ever i Would give you A 10/10.

Room Tip: Sheer Brilliance Would Come Back every Year for a Great Holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank janeL4880VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
janeL4880VH

OMG what a uplifting and positive review, Thank you for your support and kind comments! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently returned from the Suncliff Hotel The room was large with two windows (corner room on third floor) very clean and towel change daily. The restaurant is very pleasant and comfortable serving a full English or Continental breakfast with loads of choice. We booked Bed and Breakfast but on second night decided to dine in. The food, menu choice, friendly staff very efficient Restaurant Manager all helped to make us decide to take evening meal for the rest of our stay.We would definitely recommend this hotel and we hope to go again in 2015.

Mrs S. Tomlinson
Staffordshire

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Sheila T

Thank you for the short yet very positive review, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and once again great comments on the food and service. I know the room you stayed in and yes not a bad size with great views.
I hope to see you again soon and please always try to request the room you had last time and we will do our best to allocate if we can.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend at the suncliff hotel. We had a superior double room which was adequate but not as luxurious as id hoped, smallest double bed I've ever seen but the balcony was huge; a roof terrace really with table and chairs., room 102. Had breakfast and one evening meal in hotel, breakfast was superb, great choice and cooked well. Evening meal was well presented and tasty. The restaurant manager is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry9112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
geryry9112014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay at the Suncliff.

I am happy to see that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. Our rooms do vary in size and shape and we are always happy to show alternatives if available. But the first floor rooms do have lovely spacious balconies and amazing views over ocean. Our food and service is an asset to the hotel and the company and one commented on very often. The restaurant manager is indeed a character and loved by many!

I hope you will come back in the near future , best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have recently spent a couple of days at The Suncliffe, what a lovely break. Weather was excellent, we had a nice room overlooking the sea. Staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming. We booked for dinner on both nights and were not disappointed. The restaurant was very busy, but Miguel the restaurant manager was so friendly and professional and quickly a table was laid and we were escorted to our seats. The food was excellent with plenty of choice to suit most people. On the following evening Miguel recognised us and we were taken immediately to our table, the service was excellent. Every member of the staff in the restaurant worked hard and efficiently to make sure meals were delivered promptly to each table.

The walk to Bournemouth is very pleasant, the zig-zag path is great, but there is a lift to take you down to beach level if needed.. Once at the bottom there is a wide expanse of beach to cater for everyone. Once away from the pier area the beach is empty. Lovely long walk along to Sandbanks if you are keen, or find a seat and 'people watch' especially when the sun is out.

Another good point, bus stop right outside the hotel if needed, which takes you directly into Bournemouth town and a multitude of shops to browse.

Really enjoyed the hotel and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Jacqueline O

Thank you for taking the time to post your views online.

The restaurant team work extremely hard and I am happy to see you enjoyed your meals with us.
The location is great if you want to get to town or the beach. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing