We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty run down and noisey”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty run down and noisey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst attending a family wedding. The room we stayed in was in dire need of some TLC to say the least. The furniture was tatty and knocked about, you could feel the bed springs poking through and the floor in the bathroom was lifting. Whilst the room was clean it was these other things that actually made it look dirty. The towels were old with cotton hanging off , there were brown water stains around the edge of the tiling, cupboard doors not fitting properly and so on. On top of all this it was extremely noisy with people returning to their rooms at all hours laughing and shouting. We could hear the residents above us walking up and down and even the gentleman next door snoring ! sound proofing is no existent. Needless to say we had very little sleep that night and had a four hour drive home the following day. Whilst the location was great, right on the sea front, I think it is well worth staying slightly further out of town to get a better standard of accommodation that would offer greater value for money. This hotel was £110 per night so not cheap by any means.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pud6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Thank you for your comments raised I am sorry your expectations were not met on this occasion.
Indeed some of our rooms are in the process of being upgraded and at times we rely on feedback from our guests so these issues are bought to our attention in order to fix them. We are a very small group of hotels who unlike many are constantly pouring money back into our product to provide the best standard/service possible. I think your comment regarding bed springs has been over exaggerated as I’m sure if this was the case and springs were poking through your mattress you would have alerted someone or it would have been brought to our attention with previous guests. We would have happily moved you to a different bedroom in the unlikely event of this happening. We received no call or complaint from you for the duration of your stay. All of our linen is of a very high standard and by no means old! Our Head Housekeeper who has resided in the Hotel for the last 30 years would certainly not ignore this when checking every bedroom in the Hotel, which she does religiously before new guests arrive. If a few threads of cotton were protruding from your towels and it caused offense to you these would have been instantly replaced for you. The Hotel cannot be held responsible for other human behaviour, we do however have someone on the premises 24 hours a day as stated in your room compendium, and should you have experienced a disruption caused by others staying in the Hotel the Night Porter could address this for you, but unless notified he would be unaware of any disruption! I would not say the Hotel is soundproofed but to be able to hear snoring in the next room is certainly a complaint we have not had before. In the event of being a light sleeper we do supply ear plugs if requested. We do offer excellent value for money and based on the feedback we receive all year round we feel our rates are extremely competitive.
Regards
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    659
    317
    146
    97
See reviews for
409
831
88
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a family party in Bournemouth. On arrival we were dissapointed not to be able to park the car easily. After checking with reception we were told we could use the car-parks of either hotel next door (these were full too) or pay for parking on street opposite & wait for a space! Anyway, eventually we did find a spot but we did witness a couple of 'car-parking space' rage incidents!! LoL!
The room we stayed in was looking a bit tired to be honest, it was clean, but the furniture & decor could really do with updating. The bathroom was a bit shabby too. The view we had was not great either - overlooking the back car-park!
You have use of the swimmming pool, jacuzzi & sauna - all very nice. You can also get towels from reception.
The breakfast was good too - help yourself to cereal etc & then you are served at your table.
As we were visiting family we basically used the hotel as a place to eat sleep & get changed. We paid through the nose on reflection, even though it was a last minute booking. If you can get a good deal - I would say go for it - but otherwise save your cash!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMaccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
I would first like to thank you for your comments regarding the Suncliff Hotel, all comments are passed to our managers and Heads of departments so we can improve on our product. Parking in Bournemouth is a nightmare at the best of times we are lucky enough to have the three car parks to use and the seafront that is very reasonable at £3 for 24 hours or free between 10pm and 8am, I’m glad you found a space in the end, we even ban all staff members from parking to allow as many spaces for guests as possible.
Unfortunately we cannot have sea views in all our rooms but we are constantly upgrading our bedrooms and I’m sure you can appreciate with nearly 100 rooms this can take time. We have just completed our forth floor balcony rooms to a very high standard and plan to carry on with another 30 rooms. I’m glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities, after spending over £15,000 they are a great facility to unwind in. I apologise you feel you were over charged but I know we are very competitive with the rest of Bournemouth and always have special offers running on bedroom rates. I wish you a fantastic summer and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

My partner and I stayed at Suncliff over the May Day Bank Holiday. We had picked up a two for one offer on a DBB basis for £89 per room per night (and a slice of cake and a pot of tea on arrival!). I contacted the hotel the day before to request a sea facing room, which they accommodated for an upgrade fee of £10 per person per night. There was a big wedding reception going on when we arrived so we had to park in the Cumberland which is the sister hotel next door, which was not a problem for us. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and greeted us with nice big smiles. Our room 208 was located on the second floor, and being a corner room was full of light with windows to the front (sea facing) and the side. OK - the decor is a bit tired, but the room was spotlessly clean and at the price, I was delighted. We had a four poster bed which was very comfortable.

The hotel is in a nice location for those who want to be close enough to the town but not so close that you are in the middle of it all. We enjoyed the walk into town and back, which we both hoped burned off some of the extra calories we had consumed during our stay. We didn't make it for dinner on the first night because we had "popped" into town on the afternoon of our arrival and found a nice tapas bar where we ate so much we didn't have room for dinner! However we did have breakfast and an early dinner the following day. Breakfast was well cooked and the service was fine. Dinner was a Sunday roast carvery which we both enjoyed. The Sunday carvery is open to the public so local diners joined residents in the restaurant and it appeared to be very popular. I am not sure what vegetarians would make of it (I guess load up on the roast veg?). Anyhow being residents on the DBB package, we automatically had a table allocated/reserved for us (this was the same for breakfast).

In summary, we had a wonderful time on a package which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2010
Dear Happy Customer,
I would like to thank you for your kind remarks and taking the time and effort to post your review. We are open to all comments positive or constructive and they are passed onto our Management team to improve our product. The all day cavery is a new idea but seems to be working well so I am happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. It really sounds like you enjoyed your mini break in Bournemouth and I am so glad we could play a part in making it happen! I hope you will use us should you visit the south coast again.
My best wishes
Russell Carley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redhillsurrey.u.k.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

I arranged this family & friends gathering for 63, and didn't we get this right ! Superb Hotel in a lovely position, staff very accomodating and helpful from the outset, they supplied everything we asked for and more. The rooms were all excellent and well maintained, the table service was exemplary and the management should be proud of all the staff employed. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickmole10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham,kent,
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

we stayed at the suncliff hotel for three nights in april on dbb basis, the hotel is not fantastic but does not pretend to be, all the staff are very friendly and helpfull, rooms are very basic but clean and are ok for a short break, leisure centre centre could do with cleaning a little bit more often, overall we had a lovely stay and would return for a cheap weekend break. if you enjoy the beach and walking this hotel will suit you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at the Suncliff again over Easter. Its fantastic location overlooks the sea and is within walking distance of the shops. All of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The restaurant prepared food for us as we wished, without fuss. We have booked to return again. A special thank you to Daniel Jordan who – after discovering a problem with our room one night (as all hotels will have from time to time) – went out of his way to sort it out quickly and without fuss. He was also very helpful when arranging the next visit. I would recommend the Suncliff to anyone wishing to stay in Bournemouth to guarantee being looked after by very pleasant staff and management.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onholiday321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at the Suncliff with my teenage daughter & her friend. They loved the leisure complex (pool/jacuzzi/pool table, etc, leaving us to relax in the sun lounge.
A taxi into town only costs a fiver, worth it as it's too far to walk into the town centre (ideally situated for the beach & pier though). On our return after a night out, entertainment was laid on in the Ballroom. The family bedroom was massive.
We would return to the Suncliff again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilncrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing