We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, expensive and noisy”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Run down, expensive and noisy”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

How is this hotel 3*? The decor is out of the 60's and the size and quality of the rooms is frankly dreadful. As a value for money location it must be the worst I have experienced in a long time.
That said, the food was good and the staff friendly. It did not make up for my dissapointment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarboroughDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2010
Dear customer thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is most displeasing that your stay with us was not to your expectations. Your review however is limited and therefore difficult to investigate but regarding your points concerning your bedroom I can only apologise that it was not to your satisfaction.
All of our bedrooms are of a 3 star quality standard and that this was most recently approved with a 74% AA rating which is renewed at a maximum of every 12 months to ensure consistency from the Hotel, furthermore we are never made aware of there intention to visit and do an inspection. We have an on site maintenance man and decorator who are constantly upgrading the Hotel on a daily basis with room snagging and refurbishments and are constantly putting funds into the Hotel to keep it fresh and modernised.
On a more positive note I am pleased you enjoyed your dining experiences and that you were pleased with the staff, it is always nice to hear good compliments such as this and lets us know we are on the right track in delivering excellent customer service and tasty food. Thank You
Regards
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    694
    339
    151
    102
See reviews for
431
880
94
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

32 of us had a hen weekend at the Suncliff from 18-20 June and we had a fab time!
The arrangements worked perfectly, the food was yummy and the staff were wonderful. Whether we wanted a projector to show 'Mr and Mrs' on the Friday night to helping us find lost keys nothing was too much trouble,
Special mentions to James and Alan who were great barmen on both evenings, and the ladyy whose name we did not know! again nothing too much trouble, put themselves out, really friendly. They helped make a good weeken great!
Thank you! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2010

From the moment we walked in the staff welcomed us with a warm reception. The hotel was very welcoming itself with its warming homely feel.

The room was spacious and well looked after, if a little dated (the rooms were scheduled to be refurbished soon so cant wait to go back and stay). Also, the view was great.

The staff were always on hand to answer any questions about the local area and had a vast knowledge of local attractions.

For the food we had a lovely waiter come and take our order. Its a fairly large restaurant but really quick service. The food itself was delicious. I would have been more than happy to eat there for the whole duration of my stay - breakfast, lunch, dinner.

Summary
Very well organised staff who were always on hand to help. Great rooms. Great food.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidstoneBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel with friends. We had such a lovely time. The view is fantastic, staff are friendly and we all had a great time. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making it a wonderful stay. Brilliant!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at the Suncliff for a group celebration (14 of us). The hotel location is ideal, a short walk onto the beach and 10 mins into the City centre. Hotel staff attentive. As other people have commented on, the rooms we stayed in were in need of updating (very 1970s - flower fairy pictures on wall!), but were spotlessly clean. Once the renovating has been completed it would be great to return and see the difference . Staff were great and check in was a breeze considering we were a big group. Breakfast was good too. Great that you can use sister hotel facilities too. All in all good value for money with great service. A perfect weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoorah4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2010
I would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We are continuing with the updating of our bedrooms and make improvements every week. I hope you return to us in the future and send my best wishes for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

2nd visit, grabbed a sea view room with a huge balcony. be realistic, you get what you pay for here. this is a good standard, user friendly hotel. manager and reception staff in tune with guests. bar and food available 24/7 and good value. entertainment weekends, we had a bit of a wonky Liza or is it Lisa Minelli tribute friday and a good retro disco saturday night . 2 mins from the beach and 10 min walk to town centre. going again? oh yes! give it a go. p.s No wifi

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beacowarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Great location for the beach and town. Staff friendly and helpful. Kids menu only had 4 things to choose from so if staying a week they may get bored. Not exactly a healthy menu as they were not given a choice of veg or salad. We stayed Thurs and Fri night and ordered morning papers. We didn't get our Sat one because we failed to ask for a weekend paper! Yes the Hotel could do with updating but we had real value for money doing DBB option. I always take ear plugs when staying in hotels. The next door hotel ha music playing until midnight and our room was close to it so if super sound sensative ask for a room away from the hotels and from the lift. Great to be able to use pools in Cumberland and Cliffslide plus this hotels in door one. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Deputy Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and their friendliness, we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and recieving such positive feedback gives us great satisfaction.
I would like to thank you for raising your points concerning the childrens menu we are always looking to improve in all areas and we take all points raised by our guests with great attention. We will be certainly looking into increasing the chioce available, and to include vegetables and/or salad with the childrens menu. Our side rooms may experience sound from functions in our sister hotels but do have a strict policy that all music is off at midnight sun-thurs and reduced by 25% at midnight fri-sat and off completely at 1am, additionally we supply complimentary ear plugs to our guests if they are lighter sleepers. We are very proud to have 3 excellent hotels prominantly placed next to one another in such a fabulous location so it makes sense to allow our guests the full use of all our facilities and dining services across the three hotels so again thank ou for your comments.
We hope to see you again soon
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,860 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing