We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definetly recomend, warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definetly recomend, warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

The staff were friendly and helpful, seemed interested in their guests and although busy with large parties, also noticed us on our own and made us welcome. It felt cosy and comfortable. Accomodation was comfortable and clean. I have to take gluten free food with me and the restaurant staff happily toasted my own bread for me without making me feel odd. I really appreciated that. Food and quantity at breakfast and carvery - excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthNordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Hello happy customer, many thanks for your review,
Im most pleased that your stay was a comfortable one and we met your requirements. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.
It is very good to hear such feedback especially regarding the staffs attention to guests, we pride ourselves on ensuring all customers recieve some feel of personal service when coming through our doors. Its fabulous to see in your review that this has been delivered.
I hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    659
    317
    146
    97
See reviews for
409
831
88
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We were delighted to receive a free upgrade to wonderful rooms. The leisure facilities and breakfast were fantastic. Was a lovely stay for my first mini break with my new baby! Would love to come and stay again soon!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctoemaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Assitant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to place your thoughts on our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your comments will aid others greatly when deciding to book with us.

We have spent a great deal of time, effort and money on bettering our product in the past few months and we truly believe that we have a fantastically warm friendly hotel that has a lot to offer guests of all ages and travel styles.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Suncliff very soon.

Andrew Potter
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and immediately upgraded to more spacious room.The room was very comfortable and clean and we had fresh towels on both days.
The breakfasts were excellent in quality and quantity and the staff very efficient and friendly.
I would use this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Dear Happy Customer
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I have to say you have summed up what we are all about at the Suncliff. I am glad good customer service was delivered and that you recieved a free upgrade. I will pass on your comments to the restaurant and reception team. Thank you again and hope to see you return

Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We called into the Suncliff last Sunday for a roast dinner. We'd seen it advertised in the local paper for £5.95 and thought we'd give it a go after a Christmas shopping expedition. Boy, we were pleasantly surprised. The meat was really well cooked and all the veg were superb. We will definitely be going back some Sunday soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bug863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your carvery experience with us and hope to see you return. From this Sunday we will be re-launching our carvery with a brand new state of the art Carvery unit which will ensure an even better delivery of our already fantastic food. We are certainly getting closer and closer in getting the message out to locals and as per our radio ad that we are PROBABLY DORSETS BEST CARVERY.

Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

very nice stay. 3rd visit. will be back again. All staff friendly and helpful upgraded to balcony room which was lovely; waking up to sea view.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Dear reviewer many thanks for posting your comments.
Im glad you again enjoyed The Suncliff. Your repeat visits leads usto believe we are on the right track in delivering excellent customer service and facilities. I look forward to seeing you again.
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I have just taken 65 people from Scraptoft Village Wine Circle, on a mystery weekend, on arrival at the hotel there was a welcome cup/coffee waiting for us while our cases were taken to our rooms. You could not get better food in a high class restaureant, high prise for the restauretant manager and the staff they all looked after our party very well.our party can highly recommend this hotel.
John and Yvonne Poulton

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Dear Yvonne and John
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. Im glad along with your group you enjoyed the Hotel and its facilities. I will pass your kind words of praise to the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef. Aknowledgement of our hard working staff such as yours is what strives them to all work to the best of their abilities and deliver excellent customer service at all times.
I hope and look forward to welcoming you back to the Suncliff in the future. Thank You
Best Regrads

Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We spent three very enjoyable nights at the Suncliff. The biggest asset of the hotel were the staff - friendly, helpful and understanding at all times even when put under uncalled for pressure by fellow guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Assistant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderfull review. You may be able to read in other review and responses that at the Suncliff we are very proud of our staff and your kind words will be read by them all.

Thank you again and I hope to be welcoming you back to the Suncliff Hotel very soon.

Andrew Potter
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing