We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I stayed at the Suncliff hotel at the start of December and i was very pleased with the accomodation. The location is ideal, overlooking the beaches and a 10 minute walk into town. On arrival, i was dealt with very efficiently by the receptionist and I was upgraded from a single to a double room. The room was of a good size and quite nice, I had a few minor gripes about the room, the wallpaper was ripped in quite a number of places and could do with a bit of redecorating. The bath had mixer taps and a shower attachment with a holder at tap level, which meant you had to hold the shower attachment while showering. It would be a lot easier if there was a bracket fitted to the wall. The last minor gripe was the TV, it wasn't the best reception in the world and only showed 4 channels. That said, it did not detract from my stay, the staff were very efficient and really friendly, they couldn't do enough to make you stay as good as it could be. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. I cant comment on the evening entertainment as i only caught a few moments as i returned to the hotel in the evening, although all the residents seem to be enjoying it. I cant see how anybody can complain about the cleanliness of the hotel, it seemed spotless to me and i passed a lady on the stairs each morning who was dusting the skirting and handrails. I managed to find a parking spot each evening, but it was a quieter time of year, but i can imagine it being harder in the summer. All in all, i had a very pleasurable stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again if i was in the area

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

Dear Happy Customer, I thank you for writing such a fair and detailed review about our hotel. Whilst you have pointed out some points regarding your bedroom, Im glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the Hotel and its staff. I see you also recieved a free upgrade on arrival which is very pleasing to see. Our front office team are doing an excellent Job and are always ensuring the guests stay is as good as can be. It is not always about getting more money for our premium rooms it is about delivering excellent customer service and ensuring guests leave happy. We have recently employed 2 onsite decorators in the Hotel to aid us in our ongoing room refurbishment project in 2011 and can assure your room observations have been noted and adressed. Constructive feedback from our guests seems to be working well with the maintenance forms we place in the bedrooms. it allows us to identify problems a lot quicker and put them right.
I will also pass on your kind comments to Housekeeping, it is wonderful to see their hard work is being ackowledged.
Thank you and have a Happy New Year
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,876 - 1,882 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

Only stayed one night as going to the BIC to see a show. The staff on arival were very welcoming and immediately upgraded us to a room with a sea view. Comfortable room temperature and clean throughout. In particular, the night porter/staff member on 14/12 was extremely helpful in finding us some extra tea bags and milk, even though it was quite late. Don't know your name but thanks for being so helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertSteptoe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

Dear Albert steptoe

Many thanks for your review on our Hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recieved a free upgrade, We will always upgrade with no extra charge if we are in a position to do so and feel this is a great service we provide to ensure guests leave happy and with good thoughts about our product, It is wonderful to see how this has been reflected in your review. Just to let you know the gentlemen which assisted you in providing additional tea and coffee products was JULIAN our night porter who sends his thanks for your kind comments.
I hope to see you return to our Hotel again.

Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

The staff were friendly and helpful, seemed interested in their guests and although busy with large parties, also noticed us on our own and made us welcome. It felt cosy and comfortable. Accomodation was comfortable and clean. I have to take gluten free food with me and the restaurant staff happily toasted my own bread for me without making me feel odd. I really appreciated that. Food and quantity at breakfast and carvery - excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthNordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Hello happy customer, many thanks for your review,
Im most pleased that your stay was a comfortable one and we met your requirements. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.
It is very good to hear such feedback especially regarding the staffs attention to guests, we pride ourselves on ensuring all customers recieve some feel of personal service when coming through our doors. Its fabulous to see in your review that this has been delivered.
I hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We were delighted to receive a free upgrade to wonderful rooms. The leisure facilities and breakfast were fantastic. Was a lovely stay for my first mini break with my new baby! Would love to come and stay again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctoemaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcarley, Assitant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to place your thoughts on our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your comments will aid others greatly when deciding to book with us.

We have spent a great deal of time, effort and money on bettering our product in the past few months and we truly believe that we have a fantastically warm friendly hotel that has a lot to offer guests of all ages and travel styles.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Suncliff very soon.

Andrew Potter
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and immediately upgraded to more spacious room.The room was very comfortable and clean and we had fresh towels on both days.
The breakfasts were excellent in quality and quantity and the staff very efficient and friendly.
I would use this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Dear Happy Customer
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I have to say you have summed up what we are all about at the Suncliff. I am glad good customer service was delivered and that you recieved a free upgrade. I will pass on your comments to the restaurant and reception team. Thank you again and hope to see you return

Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We called into the Suncliff last Sunday for a roast dinner. We'd seen it advertised in the local paper for £5.95 and thought we'd give it a go after a Christmas shopping expedition. Boy, we were pleasantly surprised. The meat was really well cooked and all the veg were superb. We will definitely be going back some Sunday soon!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bug863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your carvery experience with us and hope to see you return. From this Sunday we will be re-launching our carvery with a brand new state of the art Carvery unit which will ensure an even better delivery of our already fantastic food. We are certainly getting closer and closer in getting the message out to locals and as per our radio ad that we are PROBABLY DORSETS BEST CARVERY.

Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

very nice stay. 3rd visit. will be back again. All staff friendly and helpful upgraded to balcony room which was lovely; waking up to sea view.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BournemouthSuncliff, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Dear reviewer many thanks for posting your comments.
Im glad you again enjoyed The Suncliff. Your repeat visits leads usto believe we are on the right track in delivering excellent customer service and facilities. I look forward to seeing you again.
Daniel Jordan
Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £38 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing