We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bournemouth Sands Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great value break!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Whilst the hotel bedrooms may need a bit of 'updating' the staff were really on the ball and helped to make our holiday.
I do agree with another of your reviewers - the lift is way too small for the demands made on it; I used the stairs anyway, but many of the guests had mobility issues and were regularly in long queues for the lift.
The food was tasty and plentiful; the coach trips were well planned.
The single room I had was adequate - since it WAS a single room, the single supplement charged seemed a bit of a cheek. Had it been a double room then the surcharge would have been justified.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    283
    61
    15
    11
See reviews for
96
340
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned with my group of 117 seniors from a great 5 days break staying at the Bournemouth Sands hotel, we actuaally took over the whole hotel and couldnt fault anything.
All of the staff were lovely people which made our stay even more enjoyable, particularly Maggie and John who did their upmost to make certain that everyone was happy and settled in their rooms, there were a couple of people that asked to be moved and this was soon taken care of.
The only problem with the Sands is it only has one small lift which when you get 3 coachfuls of people does cause a delay in getting all the cases to the appropiate rooms, but everyone had their luggage well in time for our 6 30 dinner which was served swiftly by the pleasant waiting staff.
The choices and quality of the food is very good and generous portions.
The hotel is clean and also the bedding, most rooms have been refurbished but still a few to go, comfortable lounges and no nasty smells in the bathroom.
This was followed by a quiz and a game of Bingo with big money prizes, the entertainment on all nights was very good
. The drinks are also reasonably priced unlike some hotels, the optional coach trips were also good value and the surrounding areas of Bournemouth are within easy reach, lovely sandy beaches but the shopping areas are quite hilly.
This was our 3rd Daishs holiday and 2015 is already booked or my group, this hotel as everything except a swimming pool and is one that I would recommend for groups, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 220 is a nice large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel was lovely, but much more suited to those over 60 rather than other. My parents would have liked it, everything was clean, but dated, the food was OK but breakfast was a bit greasy. Staff were perfect

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Returned today with my party of 40 for the 6 day break - not one complaint, only praise for organising this. I had to admit it was not me but Daish's organisation that made it. This is our 2nd time to Bournemouth Sands and our 5th holiday with Daish's and I think you will find they are difficult to beat with their welcoming, friendly, professional, well run FAMILY business. The rooms are clean and tidy (every day), the food just like home but more, great entertainment, out of the five nights it is difficult to choose a favourite but last nights comedian was extremely good - as was Elvis, something for everyone. A group of us were made very welcome when a visit to the new hotel in Weymouth was arranged to take a look for next year. Nothing is too much trouble for any one of them from Mother, sister, son, brother, cousin - now very confused as to who is where and managing what? Please put out a family tree Daish's so we know who is who - this might help us seniors! but they are all equally friendly with a warm hug and a great smile which also generates onto the staff.
Of course one cannot forget The 'J' Team with their help in organising the holiday and our driver Duncan who was professional and friendly, managing to please the whole coach with their wants.
Thanks again Daish's - What a Team

Room Tip: If at the rear of the hotel overlooking the garden close the curtains and open the windows before th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggierennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just come back from Bournemouth Sands Hotel today, and really enjoyed myself there. The room clean/tidy, staff were friendly, also the entertainment was good. Will visit in the near future. Sarah Armitage, and Mum Barbara Armitage :)

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from 6 days at Bournemouth Sands Hotel, had a very good stay, with very friendly staff, especially Marcus, our waiter, who is a credit to the Daish company. Room was very big and airy,and could not fault it . Will continue to use Daish's as they are certainly good value for money.

Room Tip: we had 109 , no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Knew we'd drawn the short straw when we realised our room was next to the lift. The room was a reasonable size but with a blown double glazed window, only a saniflow loo & cubbyhole as a wardrobe then noise from evening entertainment we asked to be moved. Our new room was perfect No.320.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bournvillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Sands Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Sands Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, only two minutes from the West Cliff with its fine lawns and panoramic views over the bay. An ideal setting, yet within leisurely walking distance of the beach, all the major shops, the beautiful award-winning central pleasure gardens, with bandstand concerts, theatres and the Bournemouth International Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing