We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast in Bournemouth”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I first stayed at Marlins two years ago with my husband and daughter whilst she was attending an Open Day at Bournemouth University. I chose Marlins from the excellent. Trip Advisor Reviews. Since then we have stayed about four times, during out trips to move our daughter to and from University.
Our stay is always welcoming and local information forthcoming
The rooms are ensuite, clean and comfortable with lovely big towels. Room 1 is especially quiet being at the back of the Hotel.
The English breakfast is just right, not greasy and ample portions.
Bonuses are the free car parking, as the beach is 2 minutes walk away and town centre 5 minutes away, with shopping and restaurants.
We made the mistake of staying somewhere else in January as Marlins was booked or closed for a few weeks, never again, I would change my arrangements to fit in Marlins availability.
Oh lastly, don't forget the very reasonable price !

Room Tip: ask Neil the owner for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesholidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    100
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
150
354
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Having stayed here before we decided to book a five day deal and were certainly not disappointed. The room was excellent and well proportioned with a good size en-suite and walk in shower. The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Certainly a place to stay again and again. Excellent!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tiffer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Marlins.
We had a fantastic welcome and were able to check in early with free parking.
The room was absolutely spotless, the breakfast was wonderful and Neil was very helpful in assisting and advising us on local amenities/restaurants.
The hotel was well located for the beach - 2mins and town 4-5mins walk.
Everything was on the doorstep...with some lovely restaurants around the corner.
Seriously...if you don't try Marlins I think you may be heading for disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed only one night during a short break to Bournemouth. We stayed in the family room with two single beds for the kids and a double for the parents. The room was very clean, we had a good night's sleep and had a wonderful breakfast in the dining room the following morning. We would most definitely visit again and maybe longer next time!

Room Tip: Great location for the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We received a very warm welcome. This is a very well run small hotel on the West Cliff in Bournemouth. The rooms were very clean,modern yet comfortable. The breakfast was freshly prepared and the food of good quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again when we are next in Bournemouth.

We have recommended this hotel to friends. It offers good quality but at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWhitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed at the Marlins for 3 nights and had a fantastic stay from start to finish. We had a very friendly welcome by the manager who was kind enough to give us a free upgrade to a four poster room which was lovely. He also made sure we knew how to get to the beach and town centre, and suggested some nice restaurants to try. This, along with the information in the lobby supplied us with comprehensive information about Bournemouth and the surrounding area.
The breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of juices and cereals/yoghurts/warm croissants or you could also have any variation on a full English cooked while you wait - delicious! The coffee which was served was the real thing and from a cafetière, which along with the high quality sausages shows the attention to detail which made our stay at the Marlins so enjoyable.
Our room was homely and very comfortable with a large flat screen tv with freeview. The ensuite bathroom was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the room and hotel.
To sum up, the attention to detail and the willingness to go the extra mile ensured that our stay was extremely comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakewell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Booked a weekend break for our anniversary after reading reviews, was welcomed before we got through the door and i must say it is exactly as described, extremely clean and excellent value for money. My only moan would be the size of our room, we were given the garden room which was very pleasant but a little on the crowded size as there were two armchairs in there, I personally would have preferred a dressing table and chair but it was not a problem. Good shower and lovely fluffy towels, as for the breakfast well i can honestly say it is the best i have ever had in a hotel, everything was freshly cooked and nice and hot absoluteley excellent. A very enjoyable weekend break and i will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfur7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing