We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

What ever your reason to visit the lovely town of Bournemouth, you must stay at The Marlins. We go a couple of times a year and usually try different hotels, but we've now well and truely settled on this. Everything you want and more, clean, comfortable, good parking, great breakfast, but above all very very freindly, a real home from home.
Thank you guys, we couldnt have wanted for more, see you again next year if not before.
Andy and Mikey

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjjames72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Chocolate Box Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We did not have the best of journeys down to Bournemouth but the warm greeting, beautifully refurbished room and especially the chilled cava on ice more than made up for it.
We have enjoyed all our visits to Marlins, the owners cannot do enough for you to enjoy your stay. We were also very fortunate to pick up two spare tickets from Neil (no charge) to a wonderful concert at the pavillion theatre. We had mentioned at breakfast one morning that we were hoping to experience some live classical music and 24hrs later, hey presto!

But that in essence somes up why we will always go back to Marlins. Its those touches that make the difference between a pleasant stay and a memorable stay.

Thanks to Neil, Michael and all the helpful staff. See you soon.

Room Tip: Room three has been recently refurbished. Great decor and very relaxing.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed for five nights and was more than happy with having chosen Marlins for accommodation. Tastefully decorated, bathroom was fastidiously clean, breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were charming, courteous, engaging and friendly. The Marlins team have an excellent establishment and their reputation as rated in Tripadvisor is well deserved. I would heartily endorse this hotel and would more than happily stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StirlingComets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This was our 2nd visit and, yes, it was because we were back at Conference at the BIC which it is incredibly handy for but would you go back to somewhere that was poor? No.
Yes, it's an older type property & some of the fixtures & fittings are also of the older type but so what? Super modern can be totally featureless & it is those slightly quirky things that make a stay enjoyable.
Marlins was Winner of the small business Bournemouth in Bloom 2010 and are going for a 3rd year, co-owner Michael was finishing the tubs and displays and very happy to talk about his favourite begonia. Late one evening it was discovered the wrong trousers had been packed for a formal dinner, co-owner Neil was instantly on the case and remembered to ask the next day if it had all been sorted and how the evening had gone. Little things maybe but it shows that personal touch which makes a hotel stay stick in the mind.
As everyone has commented the hotel is as clean as clean and they provide A FREE INTERNET CONNECTION!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malsville36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We felt this b&b was good, but not much more. It was spotlessly clean, as many other reviewers have observed and the owner was helpful. However, our room (12) although large, had a miniscule shower room and loo. We were warned beforehand that the shower didnt work very well (not a great start when you've paid £75 for a room) as we were at the top of the house but we had great difficulty getting it to work in the morning and when we did - only produced very hot water which we couldnt control to a lower temperature without the whole shower stopping again! Very frustrating. The breakfast was average - certainly we've had better. So if you are visiting the BIC, it is ideal as it's less than 10 minutes walking distance but avoid room 12 if you like a decent size bathroom and a shower that works.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlins08, Owner at The Chocolate Box Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

We are sorry these guests weren't completely satisfied with their stay with us. To be fair our ensuites are not large but it seems a bit harsh to call them miniscule and as this reviewer says they are spotlessly clean which in our view is the main thing. We certainly would not sell a room knowing that the shower didn't work. With this room, on arrival we always explain how the shower works because it is slightly unusual and can confuse some people (as it seems to have done in this case.) As a result of this review we've checked it and its working fine, so as we were not told at the time of a problem we are unable to explain it, but do of course regret that anybody who stays with us would be less than 100% satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We have just returned from a weekend stay at marlins hotel in Bournemouth and can honestly say it was perfect. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the owners could not have been more helpful and accomodating. The location was superb. We will definitly be returning to his hotel in the future, we cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippsysechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Marlins is superbly located just off the seafront it appear in Bournemouth. At first, I was slightly suspicious of the great price of just £32 but after reading such positive reviews I saw that the single room is advertised very openly as being small. The hotel itself is absolutely immaculate and "yes" the hotel room is a small but it is brilliantly appointed with good facilities and everything you need for an overnight stay. Added to which, parking is complimentary on-site which in itself, in Bournemouth, would be quite expensive. I was warmly welcomed by the owner, Michael was extremely accommodating and happy to make any restaurant reservations etc that I needed. I would have no hesitation in recommending marlins to any future travellers and the small room for the bargain price is room number 6. I will definitely be back and won't be letting any of my immediate work colleagues be aware of this little treasure. Breakfast didn't disappoint and was a huge freshly cooked traditional English one with copious amounts of cereal, juice & freshly prepared cafetere coffee. The following day I checked out but had further meetings in Bournemouth and Michael very kindly allowed me to leave my car there saving me further money. My trip to Bournemouth was very successful and all at an amazing price-don't tell too many people about this treasure! I hope you find this précis useful and make sure that you write one similar if you have a similar experience. Best of luck :)

Room Tip: Aruba for drinks / Westbeach Cafe for coffee
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambino145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#9 of 67 in Bournemouth
653 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing