We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we`ll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we`ll be back.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just had a long weekend at the Marlins Hotel and found it to be very good value. Neil the owner met us on arrival and was very helpful with local places to eat and visit whilst there.
The room we stayed in was well equipped and very clean and tidy. we are planning another stay later on in the year and will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    105
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
153
372
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by family. There were 9 of us in Bournemouth for a Family wedding, and the hotel did not disappoint in any way.
The breakfast is excellent, the rooms are very clean and the service is superb. The owners could not do enough for us and it is literally a few minutes walk from the town centre, the beach and some fabulous restaurants. Would highly recommend and will definitely be stopping here again when in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel slightly noiser due to amount of traffic on main road, but rear rooms much q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish161267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My friend and I just came back from a few days in Bournemouth and we stayed at the Marlins hotel. Location is fantastic, a walk distance from the city center and all the main attractions, Service is great we could not fault it at all, the owners couldn't be any more helpful, extremely dedicated to make you feel at home.
You can smell how clean the hotel is from the moment you open the front door..
Great value for the money you paying and exceed expectations... I will def go back to the Hotel and recommend it to anyone that is planning in traveling to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Short review but wanted to write it nevertheless! This b&b was a fantastic place to stay. We had the family room (two adults, and one 7 year old) and our stay was very comfortable. Breakfast, as others have mentioned, was perfect. No complaints! Would stay there again this year if they weren't already booked up for the weekend we wanted to stay... Now with our new addition to our family.. a baby! Keep up the good work lads! See you again soon! :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Clean and comfortable room with excellent facilities. Friendly staff who could not do enough for us and all for a very reasonabkle price. Best value for money ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie_beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redhill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

What ever your reason to visit the lovely town of Bournemouth, you must stay at The Marlins. We go a couple of times a year and usually try different hotels, but we've now well and truely settled on this. Everything you want and more, clean, comfortable, good parking, great breakfast, but above all very very freindly, a real home from home.
Thank you guys, we couldnt have wanted for more, see you again next year if not before.
Andy and Mikey

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjjames72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We did not have the best of journeys down to Bournemouth but the warm greeting, beautifully refurbished room and especially the chilled cava on ice more than made up for it.
We have enjoyed all our visits to Marlins, the owners cannot do enough for you to enjoy your stay. We were also very fortunate to pick up two spare tickets from Neil (no charge) to a wonderful concert at the pavillion theatre. We had mentioned at breakfast one morning that we were hoping to experience some live classical music and 24hrs later, hey presto!

But that in essence somes up why we will always go back to Marlins. Its those touches that make the difference between a pleasant stay and a memorable stay.

Thanks to Neil, Michael and all the helpful staff. See you soon.

Room Tip: Room three has been recently refurbished. Great decor and very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing