We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - We are already planning our next visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We would thoroughly recommend this small, friendly hotel. It is our second visit. The 1st one was about 5 years ago. We were extremely pleased with the accommodation the 1st time but if anything, it has improved since then. We stayed in one of the family rooms which consisted of a double bed (extremely comfortable with warm duvet and pure white linen) and two single beds. The single beds are part of the main bedroom but partly sectioned off by a wall. Both parts of the room have a television so the children feel like they are in their own room! The hotel as a whole is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is delicious (consisting of choice of cereal or yoghurt followed by a gorgeous freshly prepared fry-up cooked to order). Michael and Neil are both extremely friendly and helpful. The reception area is fully equipped with leaflets about surrounding attractions as well as an excellent book showing local places to eat. There is also all information you could possibly want on a visit including taxi numbers etc. In summary a very enjoyable stay. We can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Chocolate Box Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights. The room was nice and the bed fairly comfortable. Staff were friendly. The breakfast we felt was a massive let down - especially since it is made out to be so fantastic on their website!

The thing that let them down most was the bathroom facilities. Firstly, being a seaside resort I would have hoped they would have a shower in order to wash the sand from the beach off! They had a shower head attached to the bath but no way of attaching it to be a functional shower so I resorted to rinsing the sand off and then having a bath.

Washing the sand off alone was a NIGHTMARE. There was no pressure to the shower whatsoever so trying to get yourself partially clean was a waste of time. I then tried to fill the bath. This was an even worse experience. The water was cold even out of the hot tap, and the pressure was terrible. The bath hadn't even filled 1/4 of the way after 20minutes! I had to resort to getting in the bath with the water still running at which point I realised the plug leaked. The whole thing was a bit of a nightmare to be honest!

Because of that experience alone I would definitely not stay here again which is a shame as the rest of the experience (except the breakfast) was quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlins08, Owner at The Chocolate Box Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

If you read this review and then read the one from Jimlad2006 on 21st August you would hardly believe these guests were staying in the same B&B, let alone the same room!!

This is our only room without a shower, and has the bathroom opposite the room not ensuite. We make this clear in the room description ( we also charge less for it than our ensuite doubles) and to make extra sure, when we receive a reservation for this room we send an email to make sure guests are aware its just a bath, no shower. These guests responded to that email confirming they had read the room description and were happy, I am therefore baffled as to why they should write a review which mentions their shock at the lack of a shower!

The other issues with the lack of hot water remain a mystery, we saw these guest several times each day and were not told of any problems. On check out when asked if everything had been OK with their stay we were told, ' yes thank you, its been lovely'. Give me a break, we can sort out most problems but only if we know about them, if the plug leaks it wouldn't have been a massive job for me to replace it!! We take comments like this so seriously I've just been and filled the bath with HOT water, it took less than 10 minutes to fill and its a big bath!!
The rather unkind comments about breakfast seem a little harsh and at odds with most of our other reviewers who have enjoyed it.
Of course we're not perfect, occasionally things go wrong but when they do most people come and tell us, we sort it out it, everybodys happy and it avoids the need to write reviews like this which we do find very disheartening when we work so hard to try and make sure everybody has a nice time when they stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We managed to get a last minute booking with Marlins, as a result we probably got the smallest room in the hotel. But it was so cosy and quiet we actually preferred it to many other larger B&B rooms we'd stayed elsewhere. It was also clean, with good quality bed linen and decent pillows with a good amount of stuffing in them! The managers/owners were friendly and helpful throughout, and the breakfast was a cut above the fare I've had elsewhere for the equivalent price of the stay. Good quality bacon and bangers, plus good strength filtered coffee and granary bread. Overall, one way of summing it all up was "attention to detail", from the finer touches in the rooms to the first name greeting I received when I came downstairs in the morning. We will certainly try to stay at Marlins again next time we get down to Bournemouth ... that is, if we can get a room as it's usually full with other happy travellers!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Friendly welcome with parking. Very clean and up to date decor. The bed was very wide if a little too hard for my liking, but my husband loved it. The hotel is 2 minutes from beach. The breakfast is excellent, we would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for ten days and really enjoyed the experience. Being able to leave the car in the hotel car park and use the frequent bus sevices was a great benefit. The Marlins is well located near the West Cliff and town centre. The hotel itself was an example of good quality and service which is hard to find these days. The room (4 poster bed) was scrupulously clean and the bed very comfortable, the room was supplied with all the usual equipment required for a comfortabl stay, including Wi fi. We enjoyed a full English breakfast every day cooked to a high standard and served by Niel, who was always cheerful, and proved to be very informative about eating places and other local amenaties. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Central to Bournemouth and the BIC this is a spotlessly clean hotel, very comfortable and welcoming staff. Cannot fault it. Stayed in many bigger and more expensive hotels, but this is a gem and the breakfast is first class.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachman002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just had a long weekend at the Marlins Hotel and found it to be very good value. Neil the owner met us on arrival and was very helpful with local places to eat and visit whilst there.
The room we stayed in was well equipped and very clean and tidy. we are planning another stay later on in the year and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#9 of 67 in Bournemouth
653 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing