We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel in every respect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Neil and michael run an excellent hotel. They catered for all 20 of us impeccably with friendly, considerate and professional service. They often left beer out for us all in the front room where we often ended up talking upon an eve. Breakfast was tasty and punctual and the rooms were clean and homely. This is my second time staying here and it shan't be the last. Thank you for a brilliant week, Marlins.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Chocolate Box Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent 2 nights at Marlins in Bournemouth and were very happy with our stay. Neil and Michael were very friendly and welcoming and Neil was very helpful in suggesting places to go, restaurants etc. Michael opened up the bar for us in the evening which was really nice of him and contacted us immediately after departing as we had left some items of clothing in the room! The veggie breakfasts were delicious too and there was a wide choice of options available for breakfast. The hotel itself was very clean and well kept and the room was spotless with a comfortable bed. The location is great too, with the beach a 5 minute walk away. We would definitely stay at Marlins again if we returned to Bournemouth.

Room Tip: We travelled with a 1-year-old - would recommend the deluxe double rooms as they are large and easil...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just spent another amazing week at Marlins with 19 other family members. Neil and Michael are faultless in their attention to detail in the hotel and there is always a very relaxed atmosphere. With five young children in our party, all making themselves very much at home in the lounge, this facility made it a home from home experience. Breakfast by Michael is pure delight, and will always set you up for a day on the beach.
The hotel is in a great location for the beach, seafront, shops and local attractions. Both Neil and Michael have a wealth of knowledge and recommendations for the area, which I suggest you use.
Many, many thanks again for a lovely week. I look forward to seeing you both soon! Can’t recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a four poster bedroom. The bed is lovely and comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is the second time i have stayed at the hotel and as before neil and michael never fail to impress. The room was very clean on arival and keeped that way throughout the week as was the hole hotel. A stones throw from the beach makes it the prefect get away place. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was the latest of our many stays at Marlins and will not be the last. We brought about 20 of our family for a half term holiday and had a marvellous stay as usual. Neil and Michael go out of their way to accommodate their guests and even left the turn-around of one of our family rooms until last to enable one of our grandchildren to stay in bed as long as possible when she was feeling unwell. The rooms are spotless, the welcome warm, the breakfast delicious and the hosts very helpful in providing advice and recommendations on local attractions and amenities. The location is perfect for the beach, the shops and all of the theatre venues, particularly the BIC. We love this small hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We have often had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the road but have never been disturbe...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterSh1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Marlins Hotel for 2 nights and stayed in the small double with a private bathroom. We found the room to be very clean and tidy and perfect for a weekend break. The hotel was only a 5 min walk from town and beach and we found the owners to be very friendly. Although close to town we heard no noise at night and was very peaceful. We would without a doubt stay here again if we stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Excellent B&B, very good location, short walk to cliff top path to beach & not far from town centre. Some noise from place over the road on Saturday night but all was quiet from 11.30 onwards, no noise at all in room at back of B&B. Neil & Michael are great hosts, when they found out my parents were celebrating their 63rd wedding anniversary, they opened a bottle of cava for us in the elegant guest lounge, so kind. Rooms were spotlessly clean, our family room was very spacious, modern decor, couldn't fault it. Hot full English breakfast was served promptly with a cheery smile from Neil. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 8 family room is spacious but some noise on Sat night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#9 of 67 in Bournemouth
652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing