We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest quality B&B in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
blackburn
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highest quality B&B in Bournemouth”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I booked a one week stay at Marlins following the hundreds of excellent reviews on the Trip Advisor website.After our stay,i have to say thank you,you all were right! Marlins is a top quality B&B expertly run by Neil and Michael.We have not had a long break in Bournemouth for 17 years,due to taking foreign holidays,and would not want to stay anywhere else in the resort following our thoroughly enjoyable stay.Our room was spotless and very comfortable,as was the rest of the building.Breakfast was an experience to look forward to,every morning,with absolute consistent quality.We did not require any lunch,following the tasty,enjoyable and plentiful choice available.A very big thank you to Neil and Michael for making our stay so enjoyable,and all the information you gave us regarding the local area and events that were on,We look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.Best wishes from Elaine and Alan.

Room Tip: We had room 9,a twin bedded room,cosey and very comfortable.We would have had a double,but Marlins i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunburnkid09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    102
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
152
361
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at Marlins for a week, excellent location very close to the shops and seafront.
When you arrive at Marlins you know that this is a guest house that the owners take absolute pride in all that they do.
Our room was spotless and the guest house was spotless and being someone who looks for faults I could not find any.
Breakfasts was to a very high standard and simply delicious.
Thank you guys for taking pride in all that you do it was a pleasure to stay at Marlins.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Marlins for 3 nights and had a relaxed couple of days. The hotel is in an ideal location for town, the beaches and good food. The room was a good size and even with a cot we did not feel squashed. The room was clean, tidy and fresh, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and very tasty. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it as a lovely Bournemouth hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Myself & my partner had a 3 day stay here from the 5th august.we arrived late that evening & were greeted with a warm welcome from Neil.
neil helped with our bags & where shown to our room on the first floor.
the room a little on the small side,but very clean & tidy with a good bathroom & shower.
breakfast was very good & freshly cooked.
A lovely house With a great Host that loves to make your stay enjoyable & Could not offer Enough advice on the local area.
will be the first place I look too book when I next stay in Bournemouth.
Big Thanks Julian & caroline

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Excellent hotel central for shops, beach, sea, B I C wonderful real ale pub just up the road .
Hotel was very clean we had a ground floor room at the back of hotel overlooking garden very quite we had bath and shower full size television good internet breakfast was exactly what you wanted great selection nothing was to much bother. Guys you are doing a great job we will be back to see you again we would not dream of staying anywhere else Perfect. Will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 1 ground floor back hotel garden view very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aflatt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The best hotel / B&B in Bournemouth. We arrived at this little gem to find we had been upgraded to a four poster which was a lovely surprise. The room was well furnished and utterly spotless. It's a great, if not pretty, practical location as it's just 5 minutes from both the town and the seafront. It looks good from the outside and we noticed its won lots of 'in bloom' awards for the flowers outside. It really stands out from the drab hotels near to it. The breakfast was amazing which good quality ingredients, cooked to order - no buffet rubbish. On sunny days we had the option of sitting outside, which even though it was near a road didn't stop it from being pleasant. Very good customer service, just cracking. Not a single complaint or improvement to suggest. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent accommodation, good food and plenty of it, most of all great hosts. Short walk to the beach and the BIC (Bournemouth International Centre). Nothing is too much for them, jovial and friendly atmosphere, we will definitely return and recommend "Marlins" to all our friends and relations. Penny and David "The water babes from room 4" (private joke with Neil).

Room Tip: Our group occupied 3 rooms and they were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing