We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
682
116
21
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
116
21
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfree chocolatechocolate themechocolate pancakesfull englishtown centregarden roomtrufflebreakfast was excellentsmall hotelperfect locationwest cliffcar parkboutique hotelvisiting bournemouthcomfortable bedbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for the weekend ! What a lovely place rooms spotless , breakfast to die for ! The owners are very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome ! The location is very good ! Will certainly be going back next year ! Thank you Marlins !
Anne and Gary Twose

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our first experience of Marlins and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Neil and Michael made us feel really welcome and felt we left after the week as friends rather than guests. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was really comfortable always biscuits each day - which doesn't always happen in some places. We enjoyed the breakfasts and there was always plenty to eat. Very convenient for beach and town with buses nearby. Will definitely stay again when down this way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just come back from another visit and have booked again for next year. We are made to feel genuinely welcome and it is a great place to relax, it somehow feels tranquil here. It is very convenient for both beach and town and if you want to travel elsewhere the bus stops close by. Car parking is provided free of charge and there is always a spot to park in provided that you do not have more than 1 car. This is a big plus because parking in Bournmouth is not cheap or easy to find, especially in the summer. As usual the place was spotless and the breakfast up to the usual high standard; they really are very good. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Spent the weekend at Marlins - was well looked after by Neil and Michael, even having my suitcase taken to my room for me!!! Lovely room, nice and quiet at the back. Comfortable bed (markdown for sleep quality is just me, I don't sleep well generally). Especially liked having a mug for tea - much better than piddly little cup and saucer you usually get!! Great location - very central. Superb breakfast - piping hot. Especially enjoyed the perfect poached eggs.
Only one thing could make it better - could you possibly get rid of the hills in Bournemouth please?!!

Room Tip: Back may be quieter generally as front is quite close to the road/pavement.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

There isn't anywhere I'd rather stay when I visit Bournemouth. We've stayed here several times and have enjoyed each stay immensely. The warm, genuine greeting from the wonderful hosts Neil and Michael,the gorgeous rooms and the fabulous breakfasts. The service given by Neil and Michael is quite unique - completely genuine and unaffected, nothing is too much trouble and they are happy to recommend places to eat/visit in the area if you're unsure what to do.There is a peace and tranquility which leaves you feeling fully refreshed after your break.
Location is excellent - close to beach, town and BIC. Bus stop close by which takes you to Poole or Swanage - great day out on the open top bus on a sunny day!
As you will see from other reviews people come back time and time again which speaks for itself.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise in rooms by the road, if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews