We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro Cornwall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Surprisingly perfect”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Exceptional attention to detail, thorough cleaning, excellent full English breakfast, helpful hosts, well located, free parking & wifi - I always expect wheels to fall off but Marlin's excelled in all elements ! We stayed in their uppermost room which had a private bathroom across the hallway which was ideal. Sorry to leave !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick0demus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    100
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
150
354
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've just stayed at Marlins for 4 days while on a working holiday, couldn't wait to leave a review !

Marlins is so easy to find if you don't know Bournemouth very well, a tall Victorian residence on the corner of West Cliff Road with ample private car parking outside. I was welcomed by Neil who was very helpful with maps and good places to eat and drink.

I had the infamous 'Room 11' at the very top, as others have written on here, it is small and compact but more than enough room even with the double bed and wash hand basin, coffee and tea making facilities were welcome, more so the mug (so much better than those small cups you get in hotels), nice quality biscuits too ! Opposite on the landing is your own private bathroom with toweling dressing gown, ample white towels and a lovely deep bath.

Breakfast is a real treat ! Cooked by Michael, I couldn't fault it. There's homemade muesli and a full cooked English, plenty of toast and a very good coffee served in a cafetiere.

Marlins is well deserving of its 4 Stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlinsOwner, Owner at The Chocolate Box Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Iain,

Thank you for your a-maz-ing review, we are pleased you appreciated room 11 and its quirky character. Its not everybodies cup of tea, but often when guests have tried it they book it on their next visit. I think having the bathroom opposite is a bit like Marmite, you either love it or you hate it, depends I guess whether you are enjoy a bath and don't mind going a couple of steps across the landing to your own private bathroom.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltdean, Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed there for a week, last week in August. Very friendly and well run establishment. Very clean and tidy all over. Great location for beach, restaurants and shops. Good sized rooms and lovely interior decor. Only small criticism for me would be the breakfast room, which for me is a little too small and meant you are sat right next to other guests which I felt meant me and my partner could not have a private conversation over our lovely breakfast. Otherwise a great place to stay. Was very peaceful which helped for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for the weekend ! What a lovely place rooms spotless , breakfast to die for ! The owners are very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome ! The location is very good ! Will certainly be going back next year ! Thank you Marlins !
Anne and Gary Twose

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our first experience of Marlins and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Neil and Michael made us feel really welcome and felt we left after the week as friends rather than guests. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was really comfortable always biscuits each day - which doesn't always happen in some places. We enjoyed the breakfasts and there was always plenty to eat. Very convenient for beach and town with buses nearby. Will definitely stay again when down this way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just come back from another visit and have booked again for next year. We are made to feel genuinely welcome and it is a great place to relax, it somehow feels tranquil here. It is very convenient for both beach and town and if you want to travel elsewhere the bus stops close by. Car parking is provided free of charge and there is always a spot to park in provided that you do not have more than 1 car. This is a big plus because parking in Bournmouth is not cheap or easy to find, especially in the summer. As usual the place was spotless and the breakfast up to the usual high standard; they really are very good. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Spent the weekend at Marlins - was well looked after by Neil and Michael, even having my suitcase taken to my room for me!!! Lovely room, nice and quiet at the back. Comfortable bed (markdown for sleep quality is just me, I don't sleep well generally). Especially liked having a mug for tea - much better than piddly little cup and saucer you usually get!! Great location - very central. Superb breakfast - piping hot. Especially enjoyed the perfect poached eggs.
Only one thing could make it better - could you possibly get rid of the hills in Bournemouth please?!!

Room Tip: Back may be quieter generally as front is quite close to the road/pavement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing