We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South West UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed 29 May 2009

There is really nothing negative that I can say about my stay at Marlins. The hotel is spotless, the room was exactly as described on the website and on the phone when I booked, and the owners were helpful and pleasant without ever being intrusive - quite charming. The price I paid was a excellent for the room, off-road parking and breakfast; I have already suggested to a couple of friends that they would like to stay here. Upon my next residential stay in Bournemouth, I will try to book in here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    100
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
150
353
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnborough
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Made very welcome right from the start.Room was spotless and very comfortable.Well situated for town centre and beach.Very good choice for breakfast,the full english sets you up for the day.The hotel recommended a few restaurants,we tried the Italian across the road which was well worth the money.The next time we go to Bournemouth we will definately check out MARLINS HOTEL for vacancies.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

What a friendly hotel, you are made to feel welcome not only when you arrive but throughout your stay. The rooms are varied, lovely, clean and fresh. We had a really nice,comfortable and modern room. The breakfast was really good , not a buffet with food that has been lying out for ages, in the restaurant that is clean, well appointed, bright and airy. What a location! just minutes from the beach, the town and the BIC. With free wi-fi and car parking. If you want a hotel in Bournemouth this is it. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends. It is the type of hotel that once you have found it you will keep coming back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
166 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Fantastic hotel, in a really good location for walking in Bournemouth. 5 mins from the beach, town etc. Room was really comfortable, breakfast was excellent. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesMilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Myself, cousin and mum spent one night at Marlins, which we booked mainly as a result of comments on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. We wanted somewhere close to the BIC where we were seeing a show and the location was perfect, albeit down a rather steep hill. We were greeted immediately on our arrival by Neil, who was very attentive and even helped mum up to her room with her bags. We were immediately impressed by the overall cleanliness, and our rooms were lovely, decorated tastefully and catering for all of our needs. The breakfast was great, piping hot and cooked to order, it was so nice to be greeted as we entered the breakfast area and a real treat to be served at our table as opposed to having to queue for a buffet. There was no shortage of tea and freshly brewed coffee. We genuinely felt that the owners wanted us to enjoy our stay and went out of their way to make sure that we did. We would not hesitate to recommend Marlins to friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenGirls20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2009

If you are visiting Bournemouth look no further than the Marlins Hotel for excellent accommodation and service. Cleanliness was our top priority and our room and bathroom were spotless, as was the rest of the building. The bright breakfast room was inviting and a delicious breakfast was served.
The location is excellent, within walking distance to the town and beach. The bus stop is just metres from the front door and we took the local bus to the town of Swanage for the day. Excellent restaurants within a block of the hotel provided our evening meals.
The kindness and friendliness shown to us by Neil and Michael made our stay memorable. Highly recommended. Mike and Merle Gillatt Canada

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Everything you need and nothing that you you don't . . best english breakfast I have ever eaten . .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara0969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing