We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chocolate Box Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at Marlins and found the whole experience excellent.Accomodation spotless,home from home.Friendly and very helpful Owners/Staff.First class food which sets you up for the day.If you are to stay in Bournemouth try and book this place ,you will not be disappointed.Not wanting to go over the top,but my Wife and i have never experienced such a clean and imaculate Hotel.My complements to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southwalesbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    92
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
144
338
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed for just one night in one of their smaller, but quiet rooms at the back of the hotel. It was very comfortable and the shower in the en-suite had plenty of pressure. Coffee and tea were provided in the room along with good quality biscuits. Small tubs of milk were also provided, but we were told that we were welcome to fresh milk if we preferred. Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals, yoghurt or cooked. The English breakfast consisted of good, high quality ingredients and was freshly prepared to order. More coffee and tea were readily offered and nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly and helpful staff and plenty of parking. Also in very good location very close to the sea and town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlegeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We were made most welcome by the hosts Michael and Neil who could not do enough for us. We had the 4 poster room which is on the ground floor, opposite reception, and although spotlessly clean it was a little on the 'bijou' side! The breakfast was hot and plentiful. However we found 2 negative points. (1) It is really a Bed & Breakfast rather than a Hotel, having no entertainment, leisure facilities or bar, although we did notice optics on the dining room wall. (2) It is on a busy main road and noisy revellers pass directly alongside the road-facing rooms, luckily we were at the back and had a restful sleep. However we would recommend it for its friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to Bournemouth's beaches and entertainment venues.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredRevellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlins08, Owner at The Chocolate Box Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2009
We are pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay with us and found Marlins clean, comfortable and friendly, this is what we try to offer.
We do however think that it is important for anybody reading our reviews also to look at our website. We have been very fortunate to receive lots of complimentary comments but unfortunately, very occasionally, guests make reservations without doing further research to know exactly what sort of accommodation they are booking. We are small, we only have 12 bedrooms, we don't have leisure facilities or evening entertainment but then our website doesn't suggest that we do and our rates are lower than those charged by hotels that do have these facilities.
We do have an alcohol licence and serve drinks in our lounge, but only until 10pm we don't run a late bar.
If you are looking for quiet, comfortable, clean accommodation in a central location then we think you will find us a great place to stay. If you want a large hotel with pool and late bar then we are probably not what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

Read the reviews on here and stayed here recently for 1 night. Whilst it's more of a large bed and breakfast than an out and out hotel (no pool or any of the leisure facilities you might associate with a hotel) the place was in a very good location, with parking, and spotless. Very comfy beds and a nicely cooked breakfast in a very nice dining room.

Only minor point was that there was no offer of help made for help up the stairs with 2 very obviously heavy bags - despite walking / struggling right past the guy in reception.

Would stay here again, but next time might look for somewhere with a pool etc if staying for a bit longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Great place, really good breakfast! Excellent value for money and very close to the beach. Also don't let stag/hen parties in which is a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

There is really nothing negative that I can say about my stay at Marlins. The hotel is spotless, the room was exactly as described on the website and on the phone when I booked, and the owners were helpful and pleasant without ever being intrusive - quite charming. The price I paid was a excellent for the room, off-road parking and breakfast; I have already suggested to a couple of friends that they would like to stay here. Upon my next residential stay in Bournemouth, I will try to book in here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnborough
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Made very welcome right from the start.Room was spotless and very comfortable.Well situated for town centre and beach.Very good choice for breakfast,the full english sets you up for the day.The hotel recommended a few restaurants,we tried the Italian across the road which was well worth the money.The next time we go to Bournemouth we will definately check out MARLINS HOTEL for vacancies.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing