We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Green House(Bournemouth)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Elstead Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
682
116
21
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
116
21
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfree chocolatechocolate themechocolate pancakesfull englishtown centregarden roomtrufflebreakfast was excellentsmall hotelperfect locationwest cliffcar parkboutique hotelvisiting bournemouthcomfortable bedbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We only stayed one night but could not have got better or friendlier service anywhere.
I would definately stay here again.
Only thing we felt that breakfast could finish at 9.30/9.45am instead of 9.15am

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceramicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Visited Bournemouth several times before but never been lucky enough to find a hotel I would re-visit. booked this hotel at the last minute on the internet getting the last available room . From the moment we walked in the door the service was friendly & informative nothing was to much trouble , the room was immaculate & the breakfast was amazing ! the only minor downside was the parking. Next time I plan a return visit I will be booking at marlins

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlins08, Owner at The Chocolate Box Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2009

Thank you Paul for your very kind comments. I would just like to clarify that we do have a car park and we guarantee all guests will be able to park, but this does at busy times mean parking is tight. We may ask you to double park and leave the keys with us so that we can move the car if anybody is blocked in. Its not ideal but the parking is free and we make it work so that nobody is inconvenienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Having spent hours on the internet looking for a hotel in Bournemouth, i kept coming back to Marlins, and i am pleased that i took the initiative and booked.I had a great room with tea/coffee making facilities, nice size tv, and comfy bed.Breakfast was more than adequate and service was very attentive. All the staff did a brilliant job and the owners always had time to chat.
This hotel doesnt accept stag/hen parties which was one reason i booked, and the reviews are consistant . I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsakingHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This smart and stylish hotel is in a prime central location: just a short walk from Bournemouth sea front and handy for the town and its amenities.
The staff are friendly and helpful - and the cooked breakfasts well above expectations. The sausage even came with added leek flavouring. Nice touch!
The whole place is spotless and you get the feeling that they take a pride in keeping the highest standards.
The hotel wi-fi worked a treat. I was able to catch up with Glastonbury on BBC iPlayer.
My room was the smallest but beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
One gripe: the hand basin was quite the smallest imaginable - like something in a junior school loo! I found this a little odd because the en suite bathroom wasn't cramped.
I found the Marlins experience very pleasurable and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at Marlins and found the whole experience excellent.Accomodation spotless,home from home.Friendly and very helpful Owners/Staff.First class food which sets you up for the day.If you are to stay in Bournemouth try and book this place ,you will not be disappointed.Not wanting to go over the top,but my Wife and i have never experienced such a clean and imaculate Hotel.My complements to all concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwalesbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews