We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel yet. Homely, very friendly and very welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge
2 reviews
“The best hotel yet. Homely, very friendly and very welcoming.”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

When we arrived at Marlins, we were greated well by the joint owner - a very friendly chap. The room was very clean and the service when needed was fantastic. Its the first hotel thats been cosy enough to be called 'home' for the duration of the stay. The management were always their giving the stay a more personal touch. In summary, Marlins high standards coupled with the lovely breakfast, helpful staff and personal interesting history of the building, makes this the ideal stay for Bournemouth. Ill definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Syed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    102
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
151
358
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2009

I stayed at Marlins just for one night but highly recommend it. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and most importantly the entire place was clean, warm and very well maintained. The room was a single en suite with all facilities expected at a fair price - parking is included and the location is also excellent. There are several restaurants within a minute or two walk, as well as a convenience store and bars. My visit was for a concert at the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), which was no more than five minutes walk, and the beach and pier are also located within a similar distance. Having stayed in plenty of B&B's of varying standards over the years, I thoroughly recommend Marlins - you can't really ask more from a B&B and I would definitely stay there again. P.F., Brighton.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PF_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Absoluely spotlessly clean. Very comfortable room (we chose the 4 poster!). Warm, friendly and excellent service. Everyone was very helpful indeed. The best full English breakfast I've had anywhere, even Gluten free wasn't a problem for my partner - When we go back to Bounemouth it will be to Marlins. Thank you for an enjoyabe stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Had a very pleasent weekend stay .the Hotel is wonderful and clean ,great hosts
Michael and Neil who made our stay very welcome .We will be back in 2110 and will highly recommd this Hotel to all my friends

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanburyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Once you walk in the entrance you are made very welcome, Management and staff were so very helpful to anything you may need. The hotel is very clean and tidy. Breakfast is one of the best we have had in our travels.The location to main shopping centre is ideal, we stayed one night for concert at BIC which was a 5 minute walk away. So nice to have a free car parking space too. As arnie said " I'll be back "

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitehorsePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Marlins is a haven of comfort in the heart of Bournemouth, where you can park in the hotel's own car park (something you don't take for granted in this bustling city!) before heading inside for the warmest of welcomes.
Located within easy walking distance of the town centre and the beach you feel 'at home' as soon as you arrive. Our room was spacious, spotless, tastefully decorated and well equipped, and the breakfasts would satisfy the most demanding of appetites.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMMEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Very friendly and attentive staff at the hotel, who were more than happy to give advice on the best ways to get around Bournemouth, where the good nightlife was, and the recommendations on places to eat. All of which were superb and very good quality.

They made our group feel very welcome, relaxed, comfortable and at ease.

The room i stayed in had a 4-poster bed and felt divine to sleep in and the room had beautiful furnishings making the experience very relaxing.

The Best thing would be the rooms, staff, and the delicious and tasty breakfasts.

The only thing that would have made it better was if the hotel was a little closer to the city centre, but there is only a very minor thing, as even the cab fare was around a fiver.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richjworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing