We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, comfortable and clean”
Review of The Rosscourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rosscourt
Ranked #6 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Very welcoming, very clean room and en suite. Fluffy, soft towels and good quality bedding.
Good breakfast selection and well cooked substantial start to the day. During our three days stay we spent two quiet nights (adult only guest house). Convenient for Boscombe beach and shops with plenty of local restaurants and take-aways. Rosscourt was ideal for our purposes which was to visit family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gog186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Debbie and Peter were very welcoming and informative about the local area. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning. Our room was beautifully clean spacious and well equiped.. Debbie and Peter couldn' t do more in helping us to have a very happy week in Boscombe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The Rosscourt hotel itself was way above and beyond my expectations for a guest house. We had a double room with beautiful ensuite complete with shower gel etc if you wanted it, towels, hairdryer (in the drawer) tv with loads of channels, kettle, cups, tea, coffee and biscuits replenished daily. Debbie and Peter are wonderful warm and welcoming and Debbie makes a lovely breakfast cooked to order in the mornings complete with orange, apple juice tea or coffee. Toaster and bread in the dining area to make yourself and cereal!
However I would never ever return here simply because of the location. I travel to and work etc in London all the time and I feel one million times safer there and have never witnessed such disturbing and scary events in London as to what we were subject to in Boscombe - we walked to the town and back the first evening which is about a 15 minute walk - so in the space of 30 minutes we were approached half a dozen times by people clearly completely off their heads, slurring with blood shot eyes, stinking of alcohol and begging for money from us saying they were homeless, I lost count of the number of blatant prostitutes and homeless. During the day it doesn't notice so badly and there are some decent shops in Boscombe. On our second evening we went down to the beach which is about a 30 minute walk and had dinner in the Harvester down there - was very cold, wet and windy and we had to wait a long time to be served but was a much better evening - we only saw one prostitute and no one hassled us for money on the way there or the way back - but maybe it was because it was so cold, rainy and windy that evening, they were probably huddled in the less exposed area of Boscombe town centre???
Sorry Debbie and Peter - you two were absolutely fantastic and your hotel has got to be the very best I've ever stayed in, in England and rivals some 4*'s I've stayed in abroad, but unfortunately I will never willing return because of the location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnorkellingHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just spent a lovely weekend in Boscombe, and the Rosscourt Hotel was the perfect base. Debbie and Peter are extremely friendly and helpful - in terms of booking restaurants, taxis and generally making sure we made the most of our weekend in Boscombe/Bournemouth. We stayed in the junior suite room - lovely to have a bit of extra space and a comfy chair to relax in. The breakfast is second to none too.
Defintely recommend the Rosscourt for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenb103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed for 2 nights for complete rest. The B & B is spotless, quiet, calm and Debbie friendly and very personable. The delicious breakfast is considerable, served on hot plates, with a smile. Other guests at the time were also very friendly and chatty, the whole place was relaxing and nicely but simply decorated. Free Parking on the forecourt for around 6 cars was a bonus. Quietly situated within walking distance of Boscome beach, this was an ideal location for my needs. Thank you for a most enjotable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The happiness was because of the love I found in Bournmouth, but the hotel did help - I stayed in a large, nice room, and the management was more than flexible when my friend joined me.
The room was clean, a large bed, multi channelled big screen TV, a large closet and tea and coffee in the room every day.
The bath was small, and the location - though not that problematic - could have been better.
The couple running the place - Debby and Peter - were very nice, and made me feel very much at home.
The next time I'm in Bournmouth, they'll definitly be my second choice - the first being my girlfriend's place... :-)

Moshe Yahav,
Israel

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yehovav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Rosscourt feels less like a hotel, and more like staying at someone's house. We never really felt at home though, we felt as though any little sound would disturb the other guests.
The room was clean and basic, the bathroom was tiny at best, but clean. Debbie, the host, was helpful and friendly. Did not have breakfast as we wanted an early start, but heard that it was good from other guests. Parking is definitely a problem if there are a few guests with cars. The spaces are unrealistic.
All in all, an okay stay, but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldexploreruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
927 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#5 of 134 in Bournemouth
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 134 in Bournemouth
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosscourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosscourt

Address: 6 St. Johns Road, Bournemouth BH5 1EL, England (Formerly Rosscourt Bed and breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rosscourt 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, to ensure a peaceful break and a time to relax. Flexible breakfast options, room only, continental or full English only pay for what you want. Free parking Free wi fi and Freeview T.V. 200 Yards from shops, gardens and restaurants. 500 Yards from the fantastic Boscombe, Bournemouth beach front. Ideal location for exploration or rest and relaxation. Debbie and Peter will ensure you have a pleasant stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rosscourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing