We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glen is a legend.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Safari Bistro Hotel
Ranked #118 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went for a stag do and was a great location and covered all our needs. Breakfast was good and the staff could not of helped us more than they did. Always friendly and accompanying to all requests. Ensuite rooms were good as well. Shower was great to use.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gav198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Safari Bistro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

i was with a stag do this weeked on th 5th april 2014 and was origanily booked into the mint hotel witch was part of a package deal for stag do's. ,But we found out apon our arrival the hotel had issues with water and could not bed us so they had arrange with owner of the safari hotel up the road that she had room for 15 blokes at short notice , the lady owner of safari has only taken over the hotel in november 2013 and is curentley decorating the hotel. all we can say was the lady wasnt set up for a loud medium bunch of blokes on a stag do ,but sorted all our rooms quickly and even went out and filled her bar with alcohol so we could have could few drinks before hitting the town that sat night . she even bought extra food for breakfast so we could have lovley breakfast before we headed home and made the breakfast a later time too so we could sleep it off abit longer . just want to say lovley lady, lovely hotel and was more than enough for us lads thanks again . and would recomend this hotel to anyone ......

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was in bournemouth for the marathon festival, the safari is just 2 minutes walk from the finish line so was a fantastic find, with a nice warm shower waiting for me after running 26.2 miles. A friendly welcome was given on arrival and a very relaxed, quite atmosphere was apparent. which was marvelous as i had a big wkend. a fantastic warm comfortable bed help me get a really good nights sleep. In the morning i tried 1 of the many breakfasts on offer, from all over the world. the swiss was amazing 10 out of 10 for the chef Vincent. would definitely recommend for any future stays in bournemouth as the hotels location cannot be beaten. thank you for a amazing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xdancer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We are staying at the Safari bistro Hotel for a week and first impressions are very good. The room (number 8) is large, the water is very hot from the shower and the internet is a little weak but acceptable. The choice of breakfast is good and so far the hotel has been quiet. There is parking although you may be asked to move as you have to double park. The room is worn, but the towels are clean. So far we have been pleasantly impressed with the room and the price was excellent. As other reviewers have commented, it is close to the beach and a short walk to the centre of town. I would have no hesitation in coming back or recommending this hotel to others, as it has what we need, internet, tv, breakfast and so far quiet. I will post an update at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Room 8 is good
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExPatBrit964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Pleasant welcome from the owner and a spacious room, but very basic. The bathroom was very tatty and as other reviewers have said, there was no hot water. The breakfast was better than expected, nice coffee and the hotels location to the beach and BIC (which is why we were in Bournemouth) was ideal, as was the parking. It was cheap, I wasn't expecting any more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a night on our weekend away.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the female owner but thats about as good as it gets.
There was no hot water throughout our stay. The water came out brown and the bathroom floor crumbled and stuck to my partners foot. The bed was uncomfy as i could feel the springs digging into my back so I was to tired to get up for breakfast. My partner went to make a complaint in the morning but the male manager just got his back up and came up with lots of excuses.
We wont be staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxmrmthxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends for a weekend and had a nice experience. The hotel has a lot of character and is a lovely building and the rooms were spacious and well kept.

I would say that the lack of hot water throughout our ENTIRE stay was disappointing; none of us could have have showers before we went out and the next morning it was still lukewarm at absolute best. The towels were also dirty and at least 5 years old - when we went down to reception to ask for new ones & complain about the water, the lady (I think the wife of the hotelier) explained that they don't buy new towels because they are too expensive. Erm... Ok.

But at the end of the day it was good value for only, the breakfasts looked good with a lot of choice (although we never made it down) and the rooms made a nice change from travelodges! The location was also fantastic for our needs - about a 5-10 minute walk to local bars.

Room Tip: Bring your own towel and prepare for a cold shower!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,961 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Bistro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Bistro Hotel

Address: 91 St. Michaels Road | Westcliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Safari Hotel is a small luxury family run Hotel close to the beach and town center. All rooms are refurbished and modernized in 2008. The Savanna Cafe is a themed breakfast and lunch cafe that offers different kinds of international breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Bournemouth
Safari Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing