We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and not a bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Montague Hotel
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great location and not a bad choice”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Thankfully the English weather is back so decided to stay down in Bournemouth for an extra night and pleased with the Montague. Checkin was friendly and efficient. Allocated room on the second floor which faced the garden and the road. Keycard had breakfast times and wifi details (free and good service) and happy hour times (2 till 7 each day £2.70) Noise was not a problem as the hotel is set back from the roundabout.

Room was average size for a resort hotel. Modern flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities and the bed was not too bad. No fridge unfortunately. Bathroom was good, slightly more modern than other hotels in the area I guess (water pressure in the shower & tub was fine) Soap dispensers on the wall and soft towels so all set. Even a shaver point.

Breakfast was okay, lots of cereal and fruit choices. Full English was cooked to order but was slightly overdone. Egg was not runny but firm and bacon a bit hard but presented well and hot (7/10) Toast and pastries if you wanted something lighter and great selection of fruit and herb teas.

Great location near all the restaurants and the town center. Free parking in the hotel which was a godsend. Checkout the photo of the hotel from yesteryear in the lobby toilet. Only downside was the thinness of the curtains so it was quite bright in the room at 6.45 a.m. Would definitely return when next down if there was availability.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you UncleDom for writing your "great location" review - we are glad the weather was so nice for your stay. Thank you for pointing out the positive aspects of the hotel we are delighted to be able to offer our guests free on-site parking and complimentary WI-FI with the added bonus of happy hour. Your comments are much appreciated by one and all. We hope to be of service again soon where we will ensure the scrambled egg is cooked to perfection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    197
    94
    40
    18
See reviews for
76
209
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here for a night with my boyfriend for my birthday. On walking in we were greeted by Emily, she was very welcoming and bubbly. The reception area was very clean and welcoming. We then went to our room which had the most comfortable bed I've ever laid on!! It was quite a small room but I prefer to use the word 'cosy'. I work in a hotel myself as a cleaner and I must say the cleanliness was spot on. The shower wasn't a weak dribble like some of the reviews on here say, it was more than adequate. Before getting ready to go out we decided to have a few drinks from the bar and sit in the garden. The young man that served us was just as lovely as Emily but I didn't get his name. The garden was nice and relaxing, closed in by bushes so very private away from the main road. The next day we were very tempted to stay on another night but I had plans with family for more birthday celebrations back home. My next stay will most definitely be for more than one night as I felt so comfortable and relaxed staying here. Well done to u all, I was a very happy guest indeed!!' :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodicmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Melodicmel,
What a lovely review you have posted and thank you for your mention of Emily and the bar man who was on duty. Our staff have natural customer service skills. We are glad you could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. What a shame you could not of extended your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are visiting again and we will ensure your are allocated a bigger 'cosy' room.

Thank you again for all your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed for just one night, on a room only basis, with a couple of fishing buddies. Staff on reception and in the bar / lounge area were really friendly and accommodating. Great rooms, recently refurbished ( I guess. ) which were very clean and comfortable. Had to leave very early the next morning to get to Poole harbour so can't comment on breakfast. Overall, excellent value for money and wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Paul H,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We remember the three of you well as you had some very early wake up calls. We hope your fishing experience was as successful as your hotel stay was. Next time we will send you off with some bacon butties - so book breakfast its only £1 extra and will be well worth it.
Best wishes to you and your fellow travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Montague, it's very well located, a short walk to the beach, the BIC, shops and restaurants and a bus stop virtually outside which can take you in or out of town. An excellent staff, welcoming and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble.

Clean and pleasant room/ bathroom; good breakfast taken in the light and airy breakfast room. There’s a comfortable bar which also serves a good range of bar meals between 6 and 9 p.m.

Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Voleta,
A lovely review to read. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us. You are right we are centrally located and are lucky to be located so close to the bus routes around Bournemouth and destinations such as Swanage and Corfe Castle. I hope you got to take advantage of the open top bus and hope you were able to enjoy happy hour on your return.
If you are visiting again we will ensure you have another great stay with us at the Best Western Montague.
Thank you again for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights Sat/Sunday. We had a very pleasant room clean and bright, the bathroom was very clean and had a walk in shower. Unfortunately there seemed to be a problem with the water pressure and you had to dance around to get wet. We had breakfast on both mornings which was cooked to order also cereals, yogurts, fruits and pastries were on offer.
The hotel offers free wi-fi which we found very useful. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room together with trouser press and hair dryer unfortunately there was no dressing table mirror. Our biggest complaint is that the walls in this hotel seem to be made from paper, and we had two sleepless nights due to next doors TV beginning on all night at a very unacceptable level. This was made worse by the fact the TV'S are mounted on the wall behind our bed which in the dead of night made the noise worse so we had no sleep. For this reason we would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone. This is a shame because everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
HKGHOL,
I am sorry to see that your stay was perfect for every aspect except that a neighbouring guests TV disturbed you. We try to limit any noise that may disrupt guests however many circumstances are beyond our control.
I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused you and hope you may re-consider another stay with us.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed here for 1 night, £50 B/B and pleased to say the hotel is worthy of the good reviews on this site. Priced at the lower end of the scale, I had some reservations but for my needs it was perfect - a friendly welcome even at 11pm, a very comfortable, clean room, lift, tea/coffee, large TV and a full cooked breakfast. Yes it has creaky floors but didn't bother me... I wouldn't hesitate to come back..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runthatbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for choosing us to be your hotel provider for your one night stay in Bournemouth. We promise a friendly check in regardless of the arrival time. Please do not hesitate to come back. For the same great rates please contact us directly at the hotel.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed 2 nights. Nicely decorated, clean room and bathroom. Wonderful thick curtains! Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. 5 mins walk from the cliff top and steps to beach. A nice, individual, small hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank F776HR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
F776HRO,
Such a nice to the point review. You hit it on the head - we are an individual, small hotel with a central location and friendly staff.
Please come back and see us again soon.
Your comments are very much appreciated

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#53 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Montague Hotel

Property: Best Western Montague Hotel
Address: Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing