We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good comfortable visit, room nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Montague Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A good comfortable visit, room nice and clean”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff were excellent/ Hotel in excellent decorative order. Room very comfortable.

A good comfortable visit, room nice and clean. Pity that we did not have a bath in our room and also a box of tissues would have been nice.

Breakfast good, but would like to have had the option of kippers for breakfast as we had in other BW hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you Peter&Alison for your lovely review. Next time you visit us please call us prior to arrival and we will do everything we can to ensure you have a relaxing stay and a nice big bath. Our staff are always so pleased to have great feedback regarding their customer service as they work extremely hard to ensure each guest is comfortable and enjoying their choice of hotel in Bournemouth.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    200
    97
    40
    18
See reviews for
77
212
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Montague Hotel for 2 nights with a large group of ladies taking part in the Bournemouth Running Festival. The hotel exceeded our expectations, in a great location (10 minute walk to the pier) and all the staff were excellent.

The cooked breakfast set me up for the day and the staff were very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the front was very nice, if a tad noisy on a Saturday night as revellers return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Wigggle - we would all like to thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to be your base for your two night stay and we cannot ask for a better comment than we exceeded your expectations. We will keep a look out for the next Bournemouth Marathon so hopefully we will see you and all the other lovely ladies again.
We will continue to make improvements to exceed your expectations.
Best wishes always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the Montague this weekend and enjoyed fantastic service with nothing being too much trouble. Special mention to Charlotte who met us on arrival, the night porter for letting us have breakfast extra early (cooking us boiled eggs) and the manageress who was friendly. Our room (no 4) was very clean and quiet. One bonus was the size of the bath towels which were definitely more generous in size than I have experienced in other hotels. Great location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much nesswilliams for your fantastic review. Thank you for a special mention to Charlotte and Michael. Our bath towels are extremely generous definitely larger than average. We know its the little things that are important and feedback is always appreciated.
From all of us at the hotel - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

A large group of us (24) stayed here for the Marathon festival all of us running either the marathon or half marathon. The staff were really helpful in all aspects while we were there. We needed breakfast at 6 and expected just bread, cereal and tea/coffee but someone got up and cooked bacon and boiled eggs too. The young girl behind the desk (sorry didn't get your name) was always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Bathroom was a bit small in our room. A fair amount of traffic and after pub noise but just not used to that. Overall a positive experience and would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Fifizzz I have passed on your kinds words to the team that we have here - we are very lucky as they love looking after all our guests, which I am happy that you were able to experience especially Michael who said it was a pleasure to assist you with your pre-run breakfast at 6am.
We hope you had a safe journey home
Good luck for any future marathons
Best wishes from everyone at the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Would very much recommend this hotel to all. It's location is in good reach of the facilities; beaches, shops & entertainment. The hotel is very clean, well maintained and has good size rooms. The staff are extremely attentive & are very friendly. Cannot fault anything about my recent stay. 10/10

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey-Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Tracey-Jane S - Please do recommend us to all. Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was a faultless one. Staff feedback is very important to us as our team members strive to give all our guests a high level of service. We are offering some great deals for return guests so please do not leave it to long until you return to see us all.
We wish you all the very best and once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A large group of us stayed in this hotel for the Bournemouth Marathon Festival. The hotel was in a great location and very clean but our visit was really made by the staff. They all bent over backwards to help us going above and beyond what we could have expected. Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfish201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you goldfish201 for staying with us during your trip to Bournemouth. We are glad that our hotel met your expectations and that we could be a memorable and enjoyable part of your trip. It is lovely to hear that our staff were able to assist you every step of the way.

Thank you so much, we appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just back from the Bournemouth Marathon Festival. Stayed at the Montague Hotel. Staff were wonderful from our arrival. There were 20+ of us staying from our running group and the staff made us feel very welcome, even keeping a secret surprise from one of our group. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The morning of the race, the staff member in the kitchen was extremely helpful and had very kindly provided everything for us for breakfast at 6am! Would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bournemouth and would definitely stay here again should I travel up this way whether for racing or just a family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Firstly 66Frenchie we hope you enjoyed the marathon and we were delighted to be your base. It was a pleasure from start to finish. Your group booker ensured we had a rooming list ready to ensure a smooth check in and you were all a delight. We always ensure we go the extra mile to meet each individual guests needs and an early breakfast was no trouble at all for us. Whether you return for the marathon again or for another occasion please give us a call or email and we will offer you a great return rate.

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated by all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Montague Hotel

Property: Best Western Montague Hotel
Address: Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing