We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, shame about our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Montague Hotel
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid week for my girlfriends birthday. Its positioned in a great location within walking distance from both the beach and town. The hotel is clean, affordable and the staff are very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family however would advise on booking to demand not to stay in room 9. This room is next to the reception and immediately above the kitchen. We therefore could hear everything from people falling over in the reception area to the kitchen staff blasting out radio 1 breakfast at 06:45. This is no exaggeration.....you can hear everything!
The kitchen staff kept the radio down the following morning after complaining. However you are still woken by the general labour which goes on within a kitchen. But this wasnt so much the issue the second night in that we had what sounded to be kids running around in the room above us from 06:00. Once we managed to get back to sleep we then had drilling in a neighboring room from 08:40.
After the 2 nights we were quite exhausted. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifestyle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Lifestyle 18,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for any convenience the noise from the kitchen and room above caused you. At the Montague, we strive to provide a superior experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you again for your helpful feedback and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Montague Hotel and provide you with a much happier experience. We will ensure you are allocated a quiet room.
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Montague Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed only 1 night, unfortunately, in a 3 person room for bed and breakfast on 9/11/13. Welcome was lovely and friendly as were all the staff throughout our brief stay. Room was large enough for 3 adults to move about easily. Breakfast was excellent; all freshly cooked to order. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for any of the staff. We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Richard W, thank you very much for your review. We were really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team made you feel so welcome. We find it very rewarding to receive such great feedback and i can assure you your comments have been read by all our staff.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed one night at the Montague hotel before our daughters graduation. Rooms comfortable, clean and spacious. Plenty of hanging space for clothes. Nice bar area. Breakfast was lovely and service was excellent. All hotel staff friendly and polite. Good location not far from the sea front.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear lori555,
What a lovely title of a review - comfortable and affordable is what we strive to achieve.
We hope your Daughter had a great graduation and are pleased you picked us as your base. We are ideally located for the BIC.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other potential travelers it sounds like we got everything right for you.
It would be lovely to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed one night in November. Check in was warm, friendly and efficient, they actually seemed to be interested in their guests and what they were doing (nice touch). The room was clean and warm and there was plenty of hot water for a bath. If there is one small criticism it is the floor boards, you can hear the people walking about in the rooms either side, and we did worry if our sleep would be disturbed, it was not. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals, juices,toast etc. And the cooked breakfast was freshly prepared with a good choice, all served up by friendly and efficient staff. Charlotte at check out was friendly and again seemed genuinely interested if we had enjoyed our stay(we even chatted about those floor boards). Would we stay here again if we were in Bournemouth YES.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Michael B,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. You have hit the nail on the head we are genuinely interested in every guest who walks through our doors. We are looking to incorporate the creaky floorboards into our next refurbishment programme, but am glad they did not disturb your sleep. Thank you for your kind comments regarding Charlotte, each member of staff are extremely happy when they get a personal mention.
Next time you are looking to book please call us so we can arrange the perfect room for you.

Once again thank you for all you comments it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Montague hotel in Bournemouth for our anniversary in October. They made us very welcome, we asked them to source a bottle of champagne for the room on our arrival a few weeks before our stay, and to our suprise they went out of their way to buy Lanson champagne (We were expecting house champagne!) This made us feel very special. The room was lovely and just the right size for the two of us. It was all very clean. We ordered a bar meal and decided to eat in our room. When the waiter brought it up to us, the meal was piping hot and very delicious all at a good price aswell. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff, they were very helpful. We will definitely be staying again in the near future and would recommend our family and friends to stay there too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Jeannie S,
We remember your stay well. It was lovely to accommodate you again and help you celebrate your anniversary. We only source the very best for our guests so let us know when you are returning to Bournemouth and we will get the Champers on ice.
We hope you have a lovely Christmas and New Year and look forward to your next visit.
For reference the room you had this time was room 15

Thank you again from everyone here at the Montague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 67 in Bournemouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Montague Hotel

Address: Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing