We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly ,helpful and a lovely feel to the Hotel Ideal Wedding Venue”
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yenton
Ranked #16 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed for our sons wedding so we booked 4 nights .Matthew and Thom were extremely helpful , I hadnt finished the wedding cake so they out an extra table in the room for me to work on ,reccommended a suitable resturant for a large family group to eat at , when another wedding guest had trouble with their shower it was attended to straight away . Matthew and Thom put so much of themselves , with their helpers , into running the hotel and seemed very relaxed organising the wedding which went off without a hitch . The Wedding Breakfast for about 70 people was delicious and hot on hot plates . Breakfast would suit most tastes . One or two very small things that could be improved on if you are very fussy . Very convienient for Bournemouth shops and cliff top , quiet situation .I run a B&B and saw all the blood seat and tears the boys put into the Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for one of the latger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelsCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

we left behind perfect blue skies and 80 degree tempertures,but at least we had a fabulous time..Yenton is lovely,and the staff,particularly the owners,are wonderful..breakfast was delicious and plentiful,the gardens are beautiful and the beds were a wonderful change from sleeping in my student daughter's "ready for the knacker's yard" mattress,in which i'd spent the night before!!....i would heartily recommend the Yenton..my only regret is not getting chance to say goodbye to the three charming gentlemen we met there,Samuel,Max and Etienne,but as we hope to be back soon,it isn't too much of a problem......cheers to the owners Matt and Thom

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloominforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

You cannot beat the Yenton for friendliness, great breakfast, and lovely English gardens. The decor is fun and retro. The hosts are interesting. Has a bar and free parking. Close to everything. I highly recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The owners, Thom and Matt, went out of their way to accommodate us in this picture perfect hotel. From the English garden to the vintage books, you will find something interesting around every corner. Although we intended to stay 2 days, we extended our visit to 5 days because of the wonderful feeling this place gave us. We were able to walk to the beach, shopping, and local points of interest. There is a bar and they serve a lovely breakfast. The Yenton owners go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. Free parking too. We have stayed at many places in the UK and the Yenton is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candiceeaston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Arrived to a lovely welcome, and we felt straight at home. Breakfast was great, rooms were comfortable and the setting was just fabulous. It is so nice to stay in a B & B with such high standards.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liza311220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The wedding went very well in the beautiful garden and the rain held off for the ceremony.Then it was photos inbetween showers.The hotel is comfortable with reasonable lounge accommadation.The staff were very helpful and we very much appreciated our room being ready early.It was a very comfortable bed and everything was spotless.Thr carpet had several stains but there is a limit to how often carpet cleaning can be done.The water was hot and toiletries were provided.It was wonderful to have heavy curtains that fitted properly so we could keep out the light as daybreak is so early.
Breakfast was excellent with Dorset sausages and English bacon.There was a slight problem with staffing levels for breakfast as there was only 2 poor m en trying to cope with lots of people..
The wedding was well organised with excellent food that was well served.
The bride had organised everything beautifully and the hotel carried out all her instructions.Discos are not our scene but it seemed to go well.
All in all an excellent weekend enjoyed by everyone with all credit to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Yenton is a real find in a sea of below-par, drab, miserable b&bs that seem to abound in the budget end of the market in Bournemouth. I wish I hadn't taken so long to getting round to staying in this establishment as it really is an oasis of calm being positioned in a quiet, pine-clad side street in the East Cliff area. The location is handy for beaches, town, bus routes and is within easy striking distance of the railway. My twin room (for sole occupancy, offered as a free upgrade) was extremely quiet and pleasant with views over the well-stocked mature gardens, my bathroom was more of a room in its own right it was so large! The addition of Kit Kat chocolate wafers on the in-room drinks tray made a nice change from the lazy shortbread/caramelised Lotus biscuit norm of other b&bs. From what I could see the communal areas seemed to be well-kept and clean with a range of seating provided both inside and out. Although I didn't try the food myself I did overhear a guest commenting on the good quality of the food offered, so I will definitely be sampling some next time! The owners Mathew and Thom have a very easy manner and are especially helpful, this also makes a nice change from many budget b&bs! Overall I believe this hotel offers excellent value for money along with peace and quiet if you want a sound sleep and i wouldn't hesitate in recommending it. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachersbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yenton 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Thom welcome you Set in an acre of beautiful award winning gardens on Bournemouth’s East cliff, close to the cliff top, beaches and town centre. The Yenton sits on Bournemouth's East Cliff, a five minute walk from the cliff top and zigzag paths to sandy beaches. A short 15 minute walk along the cliff top past the pier and through Bournemouth gardens will bring you to the town centre. Our car park is free for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing