We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Yenton
Ranked #12 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I would recommend staying here as you are a very distance from town yet away from the hussle and bussle. I found the staff to be very attentative and would be willing to go the extra mile. We found are room to be very clean and comfortable with the added bonus of free wifi. The Gardens were well tendered and the lager was cold. I do recommend there Dorset breakfast as it is nice to taste quality ingriedients that haven't been through a fryer. I will be going back there again very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddio32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    90
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
79
163
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a wedding group. It gives the impression of a hotel on the website but it's just a b&b. We brought an 11 month old baby with us and found out on arrival that there wasn't any rooms on the ground floor and no lift to the upper floors. This made it difficult getting a pram upstairs. The rooms had either a bath or a shower. We had a bath which made it a pain to get ready. We ended using the shower of a friends room.
The Yenton has a lovely garden and is in a good location, not far from the beach. After our initial complaints the staff were helpful enough.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BongsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyenton, Owner at The Yenton, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am sorry that you found our website misleading- we try to make it as clear as possible that we offer Bed and Breakfast and afternoon tea as well as catering for functions and weddings- its a difficult lie to draw between being a B&B and a small hotel.

We do have ground floor rooms but on this ocasion they were already taken when you arrived- had we known you were bringing a child with you in advance we could have arranged things differently.

I am glad to hear that you thought we were helpful though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

stayed here for the weekend, very nice room with good facilities. gorgeous garden and good location. Rooms are well appointed and hotel is very clean with excellent staff. really enjoyed the weekend and we used most the hotel facilites including the bar which is reasonably priced and staff attentive

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sslickmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Staying at The Yenton always feels a bit like staying with a favourite dowager Aunt - with a comfortable, welcoming and reliable atmosphere. Thom and Matt are efficient and charming and the young staff are helpful, too. Rooms are more than adequate and excellent value for money - everything looks and smells clean and fresh and there are some obvious improvements underway which adds a more contemporary touch in a beautiful traditional building. The gardens are lovely and relaxing and it's a short walk to the clifftop and town centre - breakfast is definitely worth getting up for although the beds are so comfortable and the area so peaceful, I settled for a late coffee in the garden on the second day !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The garden, the food and the service weighs up for the room who sadly needed some refurbishment (smelled funky but you got used to it). This will probably change in the future since one of the hosts told me they refurbish the rooms they can afford, when they can afford to. The shower didn't work in our room, so we got a key for another room with a functional shower, so it was really no problem. The hosts are very friendly and their cats are wonderful and cuddly, you can't help yourself falling in love with them, and really - if you have a problem with cats, you have to question yourself if you really are human;p

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susamedusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London N3, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed one night, Sunday July 31st. The owner was very helpful, e.g. made a good recommendation for an evening meal in Old Christchurch Rd. The garden was a delight and obviously the pride and joy of the owner. We stayed in Rooms 102 and 107; they were shabby and in need of updating.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

ive stayed here many times and will always return it central based and a great set base.. matt and thom are so very friendly and will help in any way they can.. rooms are a nice and very clean with good deco .. breakfast is cooked to order so you might have to wait a little but well worth it when you get it..it has a bar with a nice seating area inside or outside in the beautiful gardens .it also has plenty of car parking spaces ..if you are going to bournemouth for a much needed break, than this hotel wont disappoint you as i have said ,i will always return to this hotel which is run by a wonderful couple matt and thom thanks guys once again for making me feel very welcome

Room Tip: the rooms are very clean well equipped and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Property: The Yenton
Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yenton 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing