We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quiet stay”
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yenton
Ranked #11 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here, in the Garden Room, for 2 nights in September. The room was spacious, beautifully appointed and it was lovely opening the patio door onto a small sitting area in the garden. We enjoyed sitting out there with a cuppa.
Breakfast was good, in fact the vegetarian cooked was excellent, even my meat eating husband was attracted by it.
It was a 10-15 minute walk to the seafront and also to places to eat, although we walked a bit further to an excellent Mexican recommended by the Yenton.
All in all a perfect location for us as we prefer quiet.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheetah333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    91
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
82
168
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We had had a Groupon afternoon tea at a premier Bournemouth hotel earlier in the Summer but the Yenton surpassed this with ease.

Friendly, attentive and efficient staff serving chamopagne followed by a large afternoon tea was a good basis. Added to this, though, was the overall quality - excellent home made cakes, pats not packs of butter, clotted not pretend cream, tasty not anaemic ingredients including sweet strawberries (even in October), linen tablecloths... it could hardly have been better value.

Whether or not the actual hotel can maintain such standards with its rooms etc we could not tell (we were told that some rooms are being upgraded during the coming winter) but the staff certainly seemed to care about the well-being of patrons so that is one essential ingredient in place. As others have noted, it is also close to the sea, the town centre and the main station / bus station.

Next stop, their winter afternoon tea, which sounds very appetising.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Observer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

it has taken me sometime to write this review, but my memories of our wedding day in July 2011 at the Yenton will stay with us forever. Couldn't fault a thing, from the couple who own it, to the food, the garden, the rooms, the hospitality..nothing was too much and they catered so well for our whole wedding party. The garden is amazing, I have always wanted to get married outside and we had the most perfect weather for it, even ended up staying in the garden the while day after as well! Felt like we were in the country not the middle of town! The food was delicious, all prepared fresh, the cheeseboard we had as an alternative for buffet was a massive hit and we really enjoyed getting to know the owners thru our visits running up to the big day. Amazing place, only thing I'm sorry for is not visiting after to say thankyou and how much we enjoyed it. Must do that soon :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsey0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our wedding day 29th September 2012

Held in the grounds of the hotel in the most beautiful gardens that you could wish for. The position of the sun shining through the trees made it even more picturesque, a photographers paradise . The organisation, accommodation and food were of top quality. There was anything we would change or nothing we would add it was all so perfect. A massive thank you to Matthew and his team for making our day so special. We would highly recommend this venue and team to anybody looking for somewhere really special to hold their big day. A massive thank you to Mathew well done Rob and Sharon Boyd xx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazann_kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Had a lovely two night break at the Yenton. Didn't find it necessary to be picky & downgrade it's rating because of minor points like some other reviewers. We found Matt very friendly and helpful and were enchanted by his animals (especially the 2day old cavies) and the beautifully tended garden which added to our enjoyment immensely. Must mention the breakfast too which was excellent as it was cooked to order and not mauled about as at a buffet style.
All in all it was like going to a friend's house to stay, and we will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The two ground floor rooms in the annexe have lovely views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hookedonhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Like a previous reviewer, I hesitated to give the Yenton a 5 as it really does need a bit of an update, especially our bathroom. The water out of the shower went almost every which way but down. Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable, but the beds were very squeaky to the point of keeping my friend and I awake. Our next room neighbours were particularly noisy for a prolonged period on Saturday night; but I don't blame management for that but perhaps something could be put in the hotels folder about late night noise levels if not there already. And I really think that the cost per night doesn't represent very good value when breakfast is another 9pounds on top (for a full English).

On the plus side, most of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. A special mention must be made about Paul, who was serving in the dining room. When we missed breakfast, instead of turning us away, he offered us tea and toast. He was genuinely friendly and helpful, and was the same on Sunday at breakfast time.

The hotel has the most loveliest gardens which can be viewed from the conservatory-type dining room and this really gives your hotel a stand-out attraction from other places I have stayed in. The hotel is also an easy walk to the beach, station and town. I would probably stay again when the place has been updated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

booked NOT through a groupon (GBP 100/night!) we got a comfortable king size bed room (number 5) overlooking the lovely garden. breakfasts were tasty (wonderful dorset sausages but no mint tea!) and hotel was very comfortable. Did not get a chance to have afternoon tea as the person responsible was away (hubbie v.disappointed). Location is goods enough to walk to the beach and even take the cliff lift. area is peaceful and quiet at night. few homeless in the close proximity but did not do us any harm.
Staff could be more friendly, their serious faces and lack of smile made me feel weird. Ensuit bathrom was TINY, had cardboard walls (haering your man in the loo ain't fun no matter how much you love them!!!) and mould on the wall. Embarassing enough, there was no toilet brush but seems to be common in English B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Property: The Yenton
Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yenton 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing