We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“left disappointed..”
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yenton
Ranked #12 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were greeted on first day by "Hello, what surname is it", with no introductions whatsoever and swiftly told room number and brief instruction as to how to locate it. Not the best welcomes we have ever received.
Although room appeared generally 'tidy', we weren't too pleased with the dust covered lamps and also dust on bed side tables. Pine drawer front panels coming off their dowels as we tried to open them(!!) and the bed was not the most comfortable.
This seemed to be the first hotel we have stayed in which failed to provide change of sheets/ bedding - the duvet having ink(?) stain. Kindly provided with hand/ shower wash but no complimentary shampoo; biscuits after the first night stay not replenished either (which may not seem significant but this again is a first for a hotel we've stayed in).
Telephone in room did not work and although advised one of the gentleman of this at reception who reassured it would be looked into, nothing was followed up.
I'm sure the management team will have their reasons/ excuses, but these seem very basic issues for a hotel.
On the positives, we felt the service provided at breakfast (particularly by the female member of staff on the first day) was exceptional and the food was well cooked, but again, on the second morning we had to change drink glasses as two were dirty around the rim.
I hope this review is taken on board with good spirit as clearly the hotel has many positives in respect to location, the building and the garden but, for us anyway, was let down by the reasons stated above..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newbiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had our most recent family gathering at the Yenton Hotel, afternoon tea for fifty for my daughters and my niece and nephews First Holy Communion. It was fantastic. Matt was as always the most gracious and considerate host and Thom provided a feast of incredibly fresh sandwiches, light fluffy scones , scrumptious cup cakes and the worlds most incredible chocolate cake. The teapots were promptly refilled when empty and my friends and family all felt well and truly spoilt. The Yenton Hotel is a great venue with a lovely function room opening on to an enchanted garden, it is amazing, a riot of colour and a true delight to be in. Matt and Tom have again provided an excellent service, my husband and I had our wedding reception at the Yenton, we've had two funeral teas, a 70th birthday and now a communion party every event has been perfect and stress free. Thank you so much guys, the kids and I always walk away with yet more fabulous memories to treasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I got married at the hotel on the 26.04.13 and right from the first meeting we felt so welcome. The gardens were perfect for the ceremony, the conservatory was so light and spacious for the wedding breakfast and the whole hotel just felt warm and welcoming. The staff could not do enough for us and Matt and Thom were amazing. The food was perfect - all of it. I was very impressed with the breakfast - the vegi choices, faultless. Everything was taken care of throughout the day - I had nothing to worry about with Matt on hand. The Honeymoon suite was amazing - so much room to get ready in, and overlooking the garden so I could see the guests arriving. We have also been for the afternoon tea - and I am looking forward to trying them again this year - the homemade cakes are really very special.
My husband and I are looking forward to an excuse to have another event at the hotel - I can not recommend them enough!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights to attend a wedding. We had a double room in the main building. The room was comfortable and the bathroom fairly modern and clean. We arrived late and thirsty, so went down to the bar. There was quite a good selection, but no single malts! Breakfast was very good, with a great veggie choice. The staff were very friendly and Matt spent some time making sure that we knew the way to walk down to the church for the wedding the next day. The reception was at the Yenton and it was perfect. The hotel even organised some perfect weather! The garden is lovely and ideal for spending time in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My friend and I have just completed our third stay at the Yenton and as usual it was the perfect place to stay in Bournemouth.

The location is ideal for both the beach and town centre. Matt is a warm and friendly host. The rooms are clean and tidy. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a super room which overlooked a beautiful garden, lovely to see guinea pigs on the lawn!
The service was excellent and Matt was on hand to offer advice on where to eat out, there are restaurants to suit every taste within 10 minutes walking distance. Breakfast was great and local suppliers had been used. The scones for afternoon tea looked wonderful!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel ( a surprise present from our son and daughter.) We had a great time in this friendly hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel and very comfortable and warm. Tea and coffee facilities were excellent and you wanted for nothing. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The hotel had a lovely garden (shame the weather wasn't better.). Matt Thom and the team went out of their way to make you feel very welcome. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be using it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £42 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yenton 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Thom welcome you Set in an acre of beautiful award winning gardens on Bournemouth’s East cliff, close to the cliff top, beaches and town centre. The Yenton sits on Bournemouth's East Cliff, a five minute walk from the cliff top and zigzag paths to sandy beaches. A short 15 minute walk along the cliff top past the pier and through Bournemouth gardens will bring you to the town centre. Our car park is free for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing