We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed for a two nights and it is always the same. you could just love to stay longer.as the staff - food -and the hotel just get better.Look forward to the next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the best rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12481249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    328
    113
    34
    17
See reviews for
256
507
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Risborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

As regular visitors to Bournemouth we have stopped at the Hermitage many times and over the years have tried other "Rated Hotels " however, this hotel is by far the best in our opinion. I we cannot praise highly enough, the staff, quality of the rooms, food, cleanliness,and service, basically the hotel in general is excellent. As mentioned by other reviewers it is ideally located just minutes from the sea and a short walk through the gardens to the town. When arranging a trip to Bournemouth the Hermitage website is the first point of call every time. There is always continous improvement at the hotel and we always notice additonal nice touches that add to the overall experience.

Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Inland rooms are excellent and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very nice up market hotel right on the edge of the park, lovely staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

It was our third stay at the hermitage, we were going to see Sally Morgan, the restaurant was very helpful with timings so we got to the show on time. Fab hotel, will only stay there for any trip to Bournemouth. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We have just returned from our third short break at the Hermitage. We again enjoyed a superior room - roomy and very comfortable, and the lovely food which seems to improve year on year. Everyone was very helpful and worked hard to ensure that guests were well catered for. This hotel is in the best position for sea, gardens, shops, theatres etc. in the whole of Bournemouth. We look forward to another visit next year.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have lovely sea views and are spacious. Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JofNinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Second year we have stayed at the Hermitage for nearly a week. Food and service good and room and location very good. Everything going well until one of our party asked for a little extra creamed potato with her dinner. Head waiter announced we would be charged £1.50 extra. I thought he was joking as we were spending £1000+ in the hotel. No joking implied - that was the charge. Really, really disappointing reaction and left a bad taste (pardon the pun) on what should have been a 5* review. May be looking to go elsewhere next year and all this bad feeling for £1.50. Was it just a coincidence that next day we wewre moved from our seaview table to a table with no view? Just so petty.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

It was our first time at the Hermitage and it certainly won't be our last!! Charles made our time in the dining room really special the food was superb as was the service. The only moan I have is that our towels were not folded up when the room was made up, I don't mind not having fresh ones each day but I think to tidy them up would be good, and to put fresh water glasses, ours were not even emptied. However I really did enjoy my stay and all the staff were so helpful and freindly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nchlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing