We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better and better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My sister and I have just returned from our third holiday at the Hermitage Hotel, and I can positively state that this will always be our hotel of choice when visiting Bournemouth in the future. The standard of service and cleanliness was excellent,and the staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. Our room commanded a perfect view of the sea, and was comfortable and spacious. The situation is so very convenient for accessing beach, gardens and shops. One of the highlights of the holiday was the high standard of the food, which never failed to delight the eye and appetite. Thankyou for a great break.
Shirley Bott

Room Tip: Always specify your exact requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    328
    113
    34
    17
See reviews for
256
507
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel in early July 2012, which has a superb location just two minutes walk from the beach. When we initially arrived we were allocated a twin room on the third floor which was exceptionally small and stiflingly hot, even though the weather was inclement.. We complained to Reception and were told there were no alternative rooms available until the next day. We hardly slept at all the first night, even though we left the window open and kept the portable fan running continuously. For the price we paid, this room was very poor value.

The next day we were transferred into a family room, which was much larger and exceedingly more spacious, having a smaller single bedroom off the main area. Had we been allocated this room when we first arrived we feel we would have no complaints at all, except the lack of air conditioning.

The breakfast was fabulous with a variety of foods to cater for all tastes. The bar menu was very varied and we ate at the hotel on two occasions because we experienced much rain during the course of our stay. The hotel staff were very pleasant, polite and helpful. All in all, we had a most enjoyable holiday but, on reflection, we think we would choose a hotel with air conditioning when we next visit Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilinebusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Exterior, location is very good.
Standard room small. Breakfast poor.
There was false alarm 3-4 times late at night (((((

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We found the Hermitage to be fully worthy of its rating and enjoyed the general ambiance. The food was superb and the venue ideally suited our requirements for a (relatively) small group booking in April/May 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at the hermitage and I have to say it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were very very pleasant !the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Although the weather was very wet , the welcome and the homely feel of the hotel more than made up for it. The quality of the food especially breakfast was superb. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to every one.
Michael & Lorraine

Room Tip: When making a reservation if possible book the superior room,you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We regularly visit the hotel when in Bournemouth for lunch or coffee. It is very reasonably priced (£2.20 for a caffetiere of coffee with biscuits) and has a lovely atmosphere. It is nice to park at Boscombe and walk along the beach to Bournemouth, go shopping and have lunch here before the nice walk back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were made comfortable and well looked after, by pleasant and willing staff. The food at dinner was first-rate by Bournemouth standards, and breakfast was more than adequate. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends. I would just advise them when booking to inquire about room size; we were rather squashed in ours, though I understand most of the rooms are quite spacious. I would have liked to see some better hand-grips for shower-in-bath users.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burblage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing