We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Good: staff, breakfast, proximity to BIC and seafront, free parking

Bad: Some tired fixtures, bit noisy (thin walls), poor value, no health club, proximity to BIC (you can hear the bands play although they don't go on late).

It's OK but 4 star might be pushing it. Fine for a business trip but I'd find somewhere smarter if I was paying for myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    332
    116
    36
    17
See reviews for
261
519
84
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

All the staff in this hotel made you feel very welcome and were always pleasant and helpful. From teh hotel maids, reception staff, waitresses to the night proter who had a pleasant word when I went out for a morning run all the staff made teh effort to make eye contact, greet you and check ebverything was OK. That helped make my stay more enjoyable.

The room was fine - the bathroom was fairly narrow but there was just enough space to get by and it was equipped fine and very clean. Everything else in the room was excellent.

The breakfast buffet was of good quality with plenty to chose from, and set me up well for the day.

The location is great right on the seafront by the pier, excellent for beach, conference centre, walk into town etc. Some good restaurants very nearby - we went in La Stada Italian which was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just had another short break at the Hermitage. Staff and food continue to be great. Although we had a lovely superior room, there were a few niggles with it. However the speedy, understanding and generous response of the general manager gives us full confidence that problems experienced are taken seriously and are sorted out. The family that own this hotel are proud of it and rightly so. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JofNinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Faultless hotel and friendly and welcoming service. Couldn't ask for more. The woman on reception was really welcoming and friendly in a genuine way, not the plastic way you often get in hotels. That's it really. Surely I've done 200 characters by now. I've got other things to be doing!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

An amazing stay a great room, brilliant staff and fantastic food what more can anyone ask for. I would recommend it to anyone it's in a great location for anything you want to do in Bournemouth. Will be back in a couple of weeks when we're at the BIC.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We could not have been happier with our charity weekend away. The staff were friendly and could not have done more to accomodate our every need. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are wonderful and the food is excellent. Will be back next year for more of the same!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but the sea view can not be faulted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlkinduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Pretty much exactly what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel - very good quality all round. The rooms were spacious and of a high standard, the decor through out the hotel were both modern and period and the staff were perfect.

We stayed for two nights in November in a large group and breakfast and dinner was included in our deal.

The breakfast was easily the best I've had in a hotel with fruit, cereals, pastries, hams and everything you'd want for a fried breakfast. Tea and coffee and toast were there for you at the table and a selection of fruit juices topped it all off. The evening meals were of a high standard and heard of no complaints throughout our large group. From looking at the menus the prices seemed reasonable too.

As for bad points they are pretty few and far between and I'll have to be petty to raise them. Our room had no fridge/mini bar but that wasn't needed anyway so it was of no concern to us. And we did find it a bit warm when sleeping and there was no heating on but an open window sorted that out so no issue there.

Location wise is spot on. Literally a minutes walk to the beach, pier, BIC, Pavilion Theatre and the high street.

The hotel has a car park which has about 60 or 70 spaces which isn't quite enough for the hotel at full capacity but you car double park and the hotel takes your number plate in case they need to contact you. I heard of no disputes about spaces. But for to it's location it has good parking.

But really this was a lovely hotel with lovely staff and the only flaws encountered were minor and easily forgiven.

Room Tip: The room we had was a standard room and it was very spacious with lots of storage so unless you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jiim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing