We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend - Great hotel, lovely staff, good food. All we needed for a lovely weekend away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend - Great hotel, lovely staff, good food. All we needed for a lovely weekend away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Came to Bournemouth to see Jeff Waynes War of the Worlds. The Hermitage is just across the road from the BIC so a perfect location. There was a Christmas party in the hotel on both Friday and Saturday evening but on the 4th floor we did not hear a sound. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. All the chamber maids we met on the way down to breakfast spoke to us and were genuinely happy to say good morning. Breakfast staff were welcoming and the food was really good. We had a seaview room that even in winter was a great sight to see in the morning. The room was very clean and the size was good. The price was realistic and worth it. The location is great to access all of Bournemouth sights. A great hotel we will come back again.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    328
    113
    34
    17
See reviews for
256
507
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GOSPORT
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was a great weekend as the hotel was convenient for the B. I. C. The staff where very helpful and friendly. the room was very comfortable with a great sea view. The only down side was the hot water in the shower and wash basin was only luke warm. The breakfast was first class and the maitre'd was a credit to the hotel along with his team. I will be staying here again if i am in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Had work Christmas do in this hotel & stayed overnight. The hotel is well maintained & spotlessly clean. Room was a little worn but warm & comfy. I was most impressed with the food and catering staff, all to a very high standard- wouldn't hesitate to eat here again if I'm in the area. The only down point was that parking is an issue. The car park is very limited so we ended up parking in a public car park about 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed for a visit to BIC ('War of the Worlds' - brilliant!) so this hotel was ideally located. The room was ok with good facilities but thin walls meant that we could hear the bathroom fan in the next door room which disturbed our sleep. Decent breakfast, good service with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Overall a bit mixed. The location is excellent for both the town seafront and the BIC but the room quality is a bit mixed.

We had a superior room and I have experienced much better bathrooms at this price level, mediocre shower and no worktops or anywhere to put your own bathroom stuff. Because of the bend of the floor dip the bed was far from level (could easily have been fixed withsome blocks under the feet). The room size was very good but the wardrobes and other storage a bit short of space.

On the plus side the food was excellent both in quality and very much in price with attentive service (even during one evening when there was a large party ongoing). Further I found everybody very helpful and friendly. The room was about right for temperature and reasonably quiet so sleep was not a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engineer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have stayed at this good hotel many times over the last ten years.sometimes for a week or sometimes just for a weekend. It always delivers good value.

The rooms, we have had a varying selection over the last ten years, have always been very clean and comfortable.

The food excellent.

All the staff go out of their way to accommodate your requests.

Overall a very good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Good hotel. Very good location. Reasonable bar and meal prices. Car parking on site. Staff polite and helpful. First stay had standard room, good. Second stay had very small pokey room, ok for overnight but would not be acceptable for longer stay. This time paid for superior room. Very comfortable bed. Quiet even with party on in hotel. Slightly over priced for amenities but paying for location. My wife disagrees on the pricing comment for her the extra space and layout of the superior room more than justified the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SymesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing