We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you for a lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“thank you for a lovely weekend”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

my partner and I have just spent a lovely weekend at the hermitage hotel.

all of the staff were attentive and courteous,

Charles, the restaurant manger and his team were lovely, very polite. the food was excellent and the lounge area was a nice place to sit and have a drink - nice atmosphere.

we were in a room with a sea view which was fab - the room was very clean lovely bed linen, towels and bath robes.

the whole feel of the hotel was relaxing and nothing was too much trouble.

Can't wait to back!


Debbie P

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    330
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
259
512
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had our works Christmas party there which included a lovely room and breakfast as a package. It's good value so it's not the first time we have had our party there. The party was well organised, the food was great and the staff were polite and courteous. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the seafront, we had a great view of the pier from our room. The town centre is a short walk away through the park right next to the hotel. If you are considering staying there or having an event there I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Lovely hotel and enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff looked after us really well from the moment we arrived and we got a great room with sea views. Loved waking up in the morning and opening the curtains to such a great view. Good bed and bed linens and bathroom had good water pressure and plenty of natural light. The food we ate at the hotel was of a good quality and served by professional staff. Location is convenient for Bournemouth town centre and if you have a car the parking is complimentary. We would recommend this hotel to any age group visiting Bournemouth.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I had my 50th birthday party there in December and it was brilliant. Every single one of us absolutely loved it. The food was first class considering how incredibly busy they were. The restaurant manager was very curtious and ran that restaurant brilliantly. He made sure we were catered for, every step of the way so a credit to him. And although the dance floor was on the small side we still enjoyed dancing as it was a good choice of music with a music video. Some of my friends including ourselves stayed there that evening and the room was lovely and clean and the bed was really comfortable. And the view was amazing. The next day I had a few texts saying it was one of the best parties they have experienced in a while so that says it all. So I would just like to say a HUGE THANKYOU to all the staff involved at the Hermitage and making my birthday a very special and memorable one. We are all looking to booking again this year. Xxxx

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Hermitage for 2 nights and are so impressed with the quality of service, the convenient location and excellent staff. The rooms were spotless and spacious. There was ample parking. The best part for me was the fact that in order to get to the beach you didnt have to cross any streets. We loved it so much that we will be back in the Summer. Well Done!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Hermitage for the New Year celebration. The first impression was that it was very well located, close to the Pier - and it had it's own car part (free!). We always look for a hotel with a large and comfortable lounge, and the Hermitage did not disappoint. The Bar lounge was warm - very welcome bearing in mind that it was extremely cold, wet and windy outside. We paid a supplement for a sea view room and were glad we did - the view was wonderful. The room was "compact" but very clean and the beds comfortable. It is fair to say that this is an older hotel and does not have the spacious rooms which we probably expect in more modern hotels but it made up for this by the level of service we received. The bathroom was well provided with extras, including a bath duck - a humorous touch.
We had the distinct impression that the hotel was very well managed. The duty manager, the restaurant manager and the bar manger were very visible throughout our stay and really ensured that the guests had excellent, friendly service.
The hot water system developed a fault whilst we were there but the maintenance team worked tirelessly to rectify the situation - not easy on New Year's day when suppliers of spare parts were not open for business. We put this down to bad luck and would not criticise the hotel for the problem.
After these positive comments, why then not a five star rating? Well, it was the Bar that let the hotel down. No J2Os, no pineapple juice (which meant that the ladies' favourite Malibu and pineapple was not available) and no cocktails. Despite being served with mulled wine on arrival, the Bar could not produce this at any other time when it would have been appreciated after a walk in the gale which prevailed most the time we were there.
The meals were outstanding, very well presented and served efficiently by friendly waiting staff. We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We loved the large picture window in our sea view room. If you like a splendid view, opt for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We try to visit Bournemouth for a short stay once per year and tend to visit when the Hermitage can accommodate us. We find the Hermitage the perfect place to say for location , parking , exceptional staff , atmosphere, food and rooms. Would love to see a larger outside seating area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing