We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed for the weekend as this was where our company Xmas party was being held. Although it was very busy the food came out all in good time, hot & very enjoyable. The room was of a good size and the Bathroom was very large. With the beech only a few mins walk away we had a lovely morning walk along the sea front. Also easy access to the town centre. Free wifi in the room was very useful. My other colleagues also commented on how they enjoyed their stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Last weekend we stayed here - our friends (who we were meeting there) had informed us that they too had enjoyed this Hotel over a number of years, hence, we found out for ourselves this was a true statement.
Our room was 211 which had a view out to the Pier and the Park. Plenty of staff in the Hotel which were very helpful and friendly towards the guests. Charles the Restaurant Manager had the dining room under his gentle control (vast experience - he should write a book!!) lovely food, fresh vegetables. The only one criticism was the Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup that was served on the Saturday evening, it tasted very bland as though it came from a tin or was it powder soup??
This Hotel has a charm and is very well situated across from the beach, town centre and numerous walking places, including the Museum - and either way to Poole or Boscombe. Looking forward to staying here next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelAngelo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Seeing a show at the BIC and staying just over the road at this hotel was ideal. The sea view was
must as the hotel is so well situated for a 2 mins walk to the beach.Although not one of the most up to date hotels, what it lacks in modern gyms etc it makes up for in charm and service . The breakfast was very good and over all a good stay . A definite for any one going to a show at the BIC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A planned break for Valentine's weekend. Stayed in superior room with sea view. Room clean and spacious. Ideal location - 5 minute walk to beach. 5 - 10 minute walk to town centre (shops). Toilets very clean. Reception and hotel staff very friendly. Breakfast was very good. Help yourself to continental and English breakfast selections. Room service excellent value at £2! Would stay at this hotel in the future and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemiscomplicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel this weekend and it was a lovely, clean hotel in a fantastic location; right near the beach front and a short walk to the town centre.

Our room had a sea view, was lovely and clean but was quite small and also VERY hot (we had to have the window open 80% of the time there as we would have roasted to death, lol). We were also in a room opposite the "talking" lift which was a bit of a nightmare whilst trying to get to sleep. Also, one other small downpour is that the hotel only has single glazed windows and at night you could hear the thumping beat from a local pub/club, laughter when they got kicked out at 3am and all the passing road traffic. If you need silence to get to sleep (like me) then take war plugs and ask for a room away from the lift.

That said, the hotel was very lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The amazing location beat all of the small negatives. We would defo stay there again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulineNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed Valentine weekend, room was bit outdated & small, bed was very small & rock hard! Breakfast was lovely, even though scrambled egg was very runny looking! The only thing that drove us crazy was squeaky floor boards!!! Smelt of strong paint in corridor! Would stay again though, but would want a bigger room with a bigger bed, specially with it being a 4*.staff were pleasent. Overall good first time experience in this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark198423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for the weekend attending a function. We stayed in one of the suites. It was an immense size and had everything we required. The areas of the hotel that we experienced were spotlessly clean and many areas appeared to have been recently decorated. Public areas were well furnished and so was our bedroom.Service was attentive and courteous. The food served was of very good quality. Lounge areas were plentiful and comfortable. Reception was friendly and efficient and despite arriving early we were shown to our room which was already prepared for us. Adequate car parking space though this might not have been the case if the hotel had have been fuller.If I was to criticise anything it was the temperature. Wherever we went it was hot, sometimes a little uncomfortably. A minor criticism but that is all I can criticise. A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirebred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £94 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing