We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with caring staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I requested a quiet room with a sea view and room 417 was just wonderful. I was expecting a smallish room after reading reviews but the size was more than adequate with room for a table and two chairs. The hospitality tray was well stocked and bottled water appeared each day. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Just one negative point was that it was so cold. The corridor was much warmer and we were uncomfortably cold. We should have gone to reception as when i mentioned this on leaving the receptionist said that we could have requested a heater.
Breakfast was delicious overseen by the many times mentioned, Charles. Yes, he really does add a touch of class and is very professional. We had a lunch at the hotel and the service was quick, pleasant and the food very enjoyable.
As stated so many times before the location of the hotel is second to none. Wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a twin room. The beds are together anyway and I think this gives a bigger room. A room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxreisexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here a few times in the past. Excellent location. Went to a concert at the BIC which is directly opposite. Lovely sea views. Recently had a face lift. Lovely clean comfortable rooms. Lovely helpful friendly staff and an excellent full English breakfast. Will stay here again for sure. And totally recommend it. :)

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. It,s worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed from the 14th Feb until the 16th. We had booked a double room with a sea view. On arrival the hotel looked decent and fairly clean, but with the weather we had had that week maybe it was a bit more dishevelled than normal. On being allocated our room we got into the lift which can not accommodate more than 2 people without getting to close. The room had a sea view and could see the pier however water was leaking thro the window onto the floor where towels had been place to soak up said water. After being shown several other rooms of lesser standard or offered our money back to try another hotel we stuck it out, with more towels in case.
The rooms are basic and in need of updating but were (apart from window, which was down to severe weather conditions), clean and comfortable.
The food that was served we ate in the bar was nice and have no complaints and Juan the barman looked after us very well. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, buffet style and was acceptable the first morning we had almost finished our breakfast before tea and toast arrived.
Overall a clean hotel in excellent position right by the sea front and would be worth putting on your short list for a stay in Bournemouth. Would we stay there again, only possibly but that is more to do with the amount of hotels to chose from in that area and change is good as.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing away from the town or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taking35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed for the weekend as this was where our company Xmas party was being held. Although it was very busy the food came out all in good time, hot & very enjoyable. The room was of a good size and the Bathroom was very large. With the beech only a few mins walk away we had a lovely morning walk along the sea front. Also easy access to the town centre. Free wifi in the room was very useful. My other colleagues also commented on how they enjoyed their stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Last weekend we stayed here - our friends (who we were meeting there) had informed us that they too had enjoyed this Hotel over a number of years, hence, we found out for ourselves this was a true statement.
Our room was 211 which had a view out to the Pier and the Park. Plenty of staff in the Hotel which were very helpful and friendly towards the guests. Charles the Restaurant Manager had the dining room under his gentle control (vast experience - he should write a book!!) lovely food, fresh vegetables. The only one criticism was the Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup that was served on the Saturday evening, it tasted very bland as though it came from a tin or was it powder soup??
This Hotel has a charm and is very well situated across from the beach, town centre and numerous walking places, including the Museum - and either way to Poole or Boscombe. Looking forward to staying here next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelAngelo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Seeing a show at the BIC and staying just over the road at this hotel was ideal. The sea view was
must as the hotel is so well situated for a 2 mins walk to the beach.Although not one of the most up to date hotels, what it lacks in modern gyms etc it makes up for in charm and service . The breakfast was very good and over all a good stay . A definite for any one going to a show at the BIC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A planned break for Valentine's weekend. Stayed in superior room with sea view. Room clean and spacious. Ideal location - 5 minute walk to beach. 5 - 10 minute walk to town centre (shops). Toilets very clean. Reception and hotel staff very friendly. Breakfast was very good. Help yourself to continental and English breakfast selections. Room service excellent value at £2! Would stay at this hotel in the future and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemiscomplicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £78 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing