We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit marred by costly damage to our car while parked at the hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visit marred by costly damage to our car while parked at the hotel.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Bournemouth overnight in March for the first time since our son started at Bournemouth University. Our room was fine, a decent size and with a newly updated bathroom. We had an evening meal in the hotel and that was good too. Breakfast was nothing special and service at breakfast seemed chaotic.The real problem came when we were leaving the hotel and the duty manager came out to show us that our car had been damaged by a wheelie bin during the night. In fact the wing mirror had been completely destroyed. We were told that the hotel would not accept liability, we took some pictures and left as we were already late for our lunch out with our son. When we got home I looked into liability rules and contacted the hotel as the cost of the damage was much higher than expected and legal forums suggested that the hotel may accept liability. The hotel were extremely slow at responding to emails. The hotel refused to accept liability ( if they had parked the car for us then liability would have been theirs), the cost was such that it didn't make sense financially to claim on insurance, nor to pursue damages through the small claims court. Eventually the hotel offered to pay 50% of the cost as a good will gesture, which we accepted. Unfortunately by the time the hotel accountants got to it 50% became 42%, which is what we have been paid. We had seen signs about the car park being covered by CCTV and been reassured by them ( our car was in an area NOT covered by CCTV though). Apparently there are signs about 'Parking at owners risk' but we did not see them.The shame is that the hotel had been good up to the point of showing us the damage and had they honoured their goodwill offer in full we may have returned. Needless to say we will not be going back as we no longer trust them. It's a shame.

Room Tip: If you are going to park you car at the hotel, get them to park it for you so that it would be cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazzerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helimad3, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
To explain, you parked your car in our complimentary car park and unfortunately this was damaged, there was no evidence, or indication of how this happened.

As a gesture of good will, we offered to pay towards the cost, through fear of a negative review suggestion.

Your garage invoice identified additional works; fluid top up, engine oil top up ,replacement break light bulb, wash and vacuum, Tyre pressure settings, to name but a few - all supposedly FOC.

Our goodwill payment represented more than 50% of the actual damage caused.

We do not believe that we acted unfairly and have been penalised with your negative comments, when in fact the damage was not caused by anyone or anything associated with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    330
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
258
512
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sorry, this place is REALLY convenient for the BIC and the staff are LOVELY but the hotel is tatty, tired, too warm and not worth its 4 stars. The corridors are narrow and cramped, the lift is dirty and tiny and the rooms are basic to say the least. The breakfast was ok but to be honest, this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Bournemouth itself doesn't help. Its filthy and decaying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely weekend at The Hermitage. Staff are really friendly and the location is perfect for the Pavilion Theatre and the beach. Room was comfortable and nice touch with the free rubber duck. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location of the hotel is right opposite the bic which is why we came to this hotel as they did a package room &tickets to see James blunt in the bic.the seat we had was some of the best seats there right in the middle.the hotel itself is a lovely hotel spotlessly clean everywhere we went.from when we arrived we were made to be welcomed all the staff were friendly and helpful.the breakfast was buffet style and was really good.the only problem was the room was cold on arrival.it a shame that they can't make more use with the glass building on the end off the hotel.it would make a fantastic gym overlooking the sea.would I stay here again.yes yes no problem and the car park is free which is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard201460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been visiting The Hermitage Hotel (or Hermy which our family have affectionately nick named it) for a number of years now. We have had girly weekends, family holidays and Silver Wedding Anniversary celebrations here ... and to top it off, my partner proposed to me last night during dinner in the fantastic restaurant run by the very attentive Charles!

We cannot fault this hotel. The superior rooms have fabulous sea views and mega comfy beds. The food is the best we've tasted anywhere and the staff are just so nice and cant do enough for you. We were served a glass of complimentary champagne each and an extra special effort was made with our desserts after the proposal and clapping had come to an end!

We will be visiting for many more years to come :-)

Room Tip: Superior rooms are well worth the extra money - all have brilliant sea views, dressing gowns, slippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SootyMama12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The quality and size of the room exceeded expectations. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The restaurant was good value for money for the very high quality and had a good vegetarian option. The waiting staff were especially friendly and helpful; the service combined with the high quality food makes this probably the best restaurant I have been to. I would recommend to friends and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were warned the double room was one of the smaller ones, yet it was very spacious and bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just stayed for Saturday and Sunday and could not have found better, Perfectly situated across the road from BIC and about 150 yards from the pier. A bit like the forth bridge, this place has permanent decorators on site keeping the place pristine. The bedrooms are warm and cozy with decent bathrooms and they are cleaned to a good standard. The bar, lounges and dining room have a nice comfortable feel about them. Charles is the legendary maitre'd who makes sure you want for nothing whilst dining. The breakfast consists of everything you usually get in a 4* hotel. There is even fresh crusty bread for you to make doorstep bacon butties if you want. The dinner menu changes daily and is priced at £5.50 for starters and desserts and £12.50 for mains. Good food at sensible prices, served efficiently.
All in all a good place to stay and I would return with pleasure.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing